We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, no frills, but clean”
Review of Bassett Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bassett Motel
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed November 4, 2012

For the money, I don't think you can beat the Basset Motel. The rooms are fairly small, and definitely old (I'm guessing early 60's), but they've been well maintained. The gentleman at the front desk is friendly, and met every request I had (extra towels, etc). You should be advised that the motel is right across the street from a railroad track. It didn't bother me, but my wife didn't care for it much. It may matter to some - didn't bother me at all.

For what it's worth, the beds were exceptionally comfortable.

I wanted to spend my money on this trip to Williamsburg on the attractions, not accommodations. If you just want a clean, no-frills place to stay, look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Bassett Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 58 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

It was good for the price, but we happened to come at the time where they were replacing their water heater. They did replace it, but still no hot water in the shower. I could have asked maybe for a discount because of that, but they were so nice, I didn't do it. The walls were very thin and we heard the guy next door in the bathroom. He must have not had hot water either. Otherwise, very nice at the desk and a spacious, clean room.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank lsst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

THis is a very small motel, less than 1 mile from the Historic Area of Williamsburg. An easy walk. It's also a 10 minute drive to Busch Gardens. Although the room was outdated, including the pink bathroom, this motel was clean and affordable, it you just want a place to sleep. We had a fridge and a microwave, so we took our own Breakfast foods and had a place to stash some beer and wine for after the long day at the attractions. While we were there, there was a mechanical problem with the hot water. There was plumbers on site and it was fixed by the time we got back from touring. The front desk apologized for any inconvenience. There is a small convenience store a short walk away, as well as a Harris Teeter (grocery store) about a mile away. There was a steak and seafood house a block away and also a pancake house a short walk away. We did not go to any of those, so we don't know how they are. Overall a good place to stay if you don't want to spend a fortune.

Room Tip: I was told at check in that all the rooms had fridge and microwave. If you are with more that 2 peo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toplessTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose this motel based on previous reviews. This motel had better reviews than a well known franchise, Days Inn. We were glad that we went with the motel. We were pleasantly surprised to see how clean the rooms were and spacious. We checked all the beds and towels looking for something to be dirty and nothing was. Also, the beds and towels had a fresh smell to them. We stayed two nights and housekeeping cleaned both days which we were not expecting since we only paid $50. The motel is definitely older and everything about it is older but it was a great price and the location was less than 5 minutes away from Bush Gardens. We spent a fortune at Bush Gardens so the price of the motel was perfect. There were reviews about the noise of the train but our rooms backed up to a development behind us so we did not hear the train when we were in our rooms. Also, we liked the fact that we were able to park in front of our rooms. We had two rooms for two families that included three teenage girls and the girls did not seem to mind the rooms. Their initial thought when we drove up was that they did not think they were going to like it at all because they have been accustomed to staying at 4 star hotels. However, immediately they were all very comfortable in the rooms and we did not hear any complaints from them after arriving. If you are looking for pretty with amenities this motel is NOT it. If you are looking for a clean, spacious, and affordable room you will enjoy this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lmr37love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Basset Motel was nothing fancy , fairly thin wall, but was the least expensive around. We stayed there 3 nights extending night after night. Not a high end place, no coffee or bkfst, but a 5 min walk or drive to all. It's and older one story, park in front but the room was clean in all aspects with comfortable beds. Could hear the neighbors occasionally but overall we were satisfied. If it's economy you want, here it is. There were some name brand hotels around for about $30 more, but $30 is $30. Better in my pocket.

Room Tip: A train goes by at around 11pm, so you may want to ask for a further away room, we like the sound o...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good value. All we wanted was clean room and hot shower and that's what we got. If you want bells and whistles don't go here. It was easy to find and handy to the sites to be seen at Williamsburg . Another good point is out front of your room parking which is free.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you just need a clean and comfortable place to sleep near the Williamsburg attractions, and you want a very economical price, the Bassett Motel is the place for you. The place looks very simple, but the rooms are just fine. They have refrigerators and microwaves. If you are looking for amenities like a swimming pool or a free breakfast, then the Bassett is NOT for you. But the Bassett is a short and easy drive to historic Williamsburg or to Busch Gardens theme park. The management is very efficient. I should tell you that there is a train track across the street from the Bassett, in case train noise bothers you. I personally like the sound of trains going by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SupermanRoSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#46 of 73 in Williamsburg
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#47 of 73 in Williamsburg
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.1 mi away
Fort Magruder Hotel
Fort Magruder Hotel
#63 of 73 in Williamsburg
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quarterpath Inn & Suites
Quarterpath Inn & Suites
#55 of 73 in Williamsburg
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassett Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett Motel

Address: 800 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4747
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $50 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bassett Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bassett motel is currently located among Virginia's most desirable attractions. History, theme parks (Busch gardens & Water country USA), College of William and Mary, Prime outlet mall and golf course are all only minute away from your first choice of motels. This motel is ideally located just one block (walking distance) from historical colonial Williamsburg and 1.5 miles from Busch gardens & Water country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bassett Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bassett Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing