We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Clean but no Frills”
Review of Patrick Henry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Patrick Henry Inn
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and Clean but no Frills”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I stayed here because my kids were participating in a competition and I couldn't afford the suite hotel where they were staying. It's convenient to Colonial Williamsburg, on the main drag. Rooms were clean, but dark. Bed was very comfortable (didn't expect that!). No WiFi in the room, just $6.95/24 hrs down in the lobby. Breakfast was sparse; just bagels/muffins, some fruit, coffee, tea, juice. Walls were a bit thin (heard all noise!), and bathrooms need updating but were clean. I would stay here again if I was doing the budget thing. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypso19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    24
    23
    25
See reviews for
46
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Churchville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Sure this is an old hotel and things WILL NOT be perfect...but if you can overlook some minor details this is a fantastic place to stay if the colonial area is the focus of your stay in Williamsburg. The colonial area is just a short walk away. When we visited for the Grand Illumination this alone was worth its weight in gold. The staff is super friendly and always helpful. I have seen other reviews complaining about the outdated decor...hate to break it to you folks but this is representative of what the hotels in Williamsburg were all like a few short years ago. The beds are clean, the water is hot, and the TV's work...what more do you want?

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midnighthauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We booked this through Priceline for name your own price. After reading the reviews we were nervous. It was average with no major issues. Location excellent for walking to Colonial Williamsburg. Room was decor was outdated but clean. We liked having an extra sink/mirror outside of the bathroom. Staff was pleasant. Breakfast was minimal. Railway situated directly behind building created excessive noise. Interior corridors which didn't lock at night to the outside.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaylaAnn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coleegeville pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Housekeeping exremely slow, room not cleaned up till abfer 4:00.
Housekeeping cart sat for hours with out a maid. Hotel staff could care less when you complained at desk.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryson706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaultman
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Lobby, lounge, and guest services all top class. Complimentary breakfast just OK - no cereal or waffle-maker, etc. Old hotel rooms - patched up, dingy bathrooms, etc. Kinda noisy.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vaultman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2010

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Patrick Henry Inn for 4 days from March 27th, to April 1st. It was for a fun family getaway vacation. First of all I found the staff to be not only very friendly but very professional in trying to help you in what ever you needed help with. Also I can only say that our room was very nice and comfortable, and we all got a good nite's rest every nite. The breakfast was nice, bagels, warm bakery goods, fruit, plus your usual coffee and juices. I would definitely stay there again and I would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravel175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenandoah valley VA
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I stayed at the patrick henry inn on March 27, 2010 and it was the worst ever The lobby had a gas and musty smell, the couch in the lobby was sagging and the desk clerk was unable to acknowledge me for about five minutes. We got into room and there were nasty finger stains all on the bottom of the dingy yellowed curtain. The headboard had prints of who knows what on it and the worst was the dried dripping feces down the side of the old mattress. This is a health hazzard and I feel I should have been compensated. I got "upgraded" to another room which was better, but how can you have a decent stay after seeing that. If I had booked directly through the hotel, I would have immediately left and reported this to the health department. Since, I booked through Hotwire, I was stuck.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polkaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection
0.7 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#53 of 73 in Williamsburg
497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
#16 of 73 in Williamsburg
728 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
3.2 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 73 in Williamsburg
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patrick Henry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patrick Henry Inn

Property: Patrick Henry Inn
Address: 315 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4516
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patrick Henry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Patrick Henry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patrick Henry Williamsburg
Best Western Patrick Henry Inn
Patrick Henry Hotel Williamsburg
Patrick Henry Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing