We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and southern hospitality!”
Review of Gus's Hotdog King - CLOSED

Gus's Hotdog King
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Mattoon, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and southern hospitality!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great dogs and friendly helpful staff. If you want a quick lunch, this is the place for you! A gem!! We love quirky, out of the way places, not your typical "chain" type restaurant and Gus's definitely fit this bill! The dogs are not huge, but you can get them dressed anyway you want. Couldnt decide between fries and onion rings, and our waitress said "well, we will just give you half and half, how bout that?" You cant get that kind of service at any "chain" burger joint! Would definitely go back if we are ever in Williamsburg again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bullwinkle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The price is right”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My gandson loves to go to Gus's because he likes the Giant Hot Dog he can hug! he also enjoys the hot dogs. Not me, because they are boiled, not grilled. No matter, I choose the bar-b-que which is very good so we are both happy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank doglover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK Little Place”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was just driving through Willamsburg, VA around lunch time and I thought I would stop and get a quick bite. Now you must know that I like hot dogs and when I say the sign for Gus's, I just had to try it. The staff was very nice and my order was quick. The place is older and not much to look at but clean. The hot dogs were good for the price. All in all what I expected for a quick lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E1Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Gus's is a family owned business in the middle of tourist row. We passed it several times during our visit and only stopped there to eat on our way out of Williamsburg.

Wish we had stopped on our first day there!

They have hot dogs, fries, a burger and a BBQ sandwich. Also the best hot dog chili I've had since leaving NY.

The condiment selection had almost anything you could want on a dog and the chili fries were super.

A small place, but well worth the stop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fuelman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy hot dogs”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We visited Gus' hot dog king for a quick lunch. The friendly waitress greeted us promptly and we ordered 3 hot dogs with cheese and chilly cheese fries. The food came out very quickly. The cheese and fries were very salty. The waitress got the order wrong. But overall experience was ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nateboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's Hotdog King also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing