We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and atmosphere”
Review of Wedmore Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wedmore Place
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Corolla, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Love this hotel and vineyard. I'm from Europe (England) and the feel the owners were going for is very authentic and tastefully done. Staff are friendly and not stuffy. Great place for couples. Night manager, Henry went above and beyond; thanks Henry! Oh and great complimentary breakfast ;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildHorseAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    74
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
48
265
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We wanted to stay someplace close to the historic Williamsburg area and found this gem of a hotel about 10 minutes away. The hotel itself is designed to look like a European castle with themed rooms decorated with regional style furnishings. The room for our stay was a French provincial theme that boasted a lovely table and chairs by the window. The employees were extremely accommodating and even brought coffee to our room upon request when we were unable to make breakfast due to work demands. We found the hotel to be quiet throughout the day which allowed us to completely relax and unwind. It was an enjoyable and very memorable vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillytravelgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Nestled away on a beautiful county vineyard is this jewel. Approaching the hotel it is difficult to gauge if you are in the correct place because it appears to be just a small building. However once inside it is evident that the building goes down the hillside and is very spacious. It is a very subtitle design. The staff is honestly the real sparkle in this gem. They are very very professional, prompt and polite. Some of the most friendly I've seen in years. The food was also pricey but outstanding. There were very few things lacking, they do however need to improve their draft beer selection. The wine selection is stellar as to be expected however the beers were overpriced and without many options. They do have Abt 12 however, so we will call it a draw. Overall this is one of the best experiences my wife and I have had at a hotel. It was romantic, beautiful, and very satisfying. Thank you for making our stay one to remember. Coupling a stay here with a trip to the winery and to Williamsburg Alewerks (15 minutes away) makes for a dream couples weekend. Ps: try the pumpkin ale or bitter valentine ;)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very charming and relaxing hotel. Arrived on the Saturday of Labor Day weekend and stayed two nights. After sitting in traffic for a bit on the drive down from DC, the hotel was an ideal welcoming/relaxing destination (winery tour next door, dinner at the very good onsite cafe provencal). The included breakfast was also very nice. The staff were exceptionally friendly and we met the owner the last day (wife and I jokingly refer to him as Lord Wedmore) who was also extremely nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJG22046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend. Service crew was awesome. The owner of the winery and hotel actually showed up at breakfast one morning to see how our stay was. Only 10 mins from colonial wb and the greater chunk of awesome restaurants. Be sure to grab a couple extra jams from the breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonsBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island,NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This a most unexpected find...authentic replication of a semi modern castle...great grounds,a true winery too..rooms very clean..bath set up a little awkward..no mirror or light out in main room for makeup etc..so often needed by a woman. Service great...restaurant true farm to table...very high quality..nice menu..lovely dining room next to pool & terrace..like a mini trip to Europe..owner spends time watching & overseeing this unique,private enterprise..a true labor of love I would guess!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpscaleGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The quality of the service and friendliness of staff was superb. So were the croissants shipped in from France that they had for breakfast along with the very tasty quiche every morning. The rooms were spacious (we had a "Classic") and reasonable. We opted for a package that included a round of golf at a local private club, a bottle of wine upon arrival, a dinner and another bottle at their top rated restaurant the Provencal, and a free wine tour and tasting at the Williamsburg Winery. For a local winery it was very good. Improvements: staff had to get you ice (maybe that is the European way) and workout area could be expanded with better machines, but otherwise very pleased.

Room Tip: 28 different Euro themed rooms.. Good pictures on line and staff was helpful in deciding which to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiecakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
596 reviews
2.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
5.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedmore Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedmore Place

Property: Wedmore Place
Address: 5810 Wessex Hundred, Williamsburg, VA 23185-8063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedmore Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wedmore Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedmore Place Williamsburg
Super 8 Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing