We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wedmore Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wedmore Place
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in July. Peaceful setting, friendly staff and great overall ambiance. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Had two great nights sleep on their comfortable pillows and bed. Love that they left bottled water for us in the room daily. Breakfast was also very nice. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if we visit the area again. The in house restaurant was also just lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtimes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    59
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
38
220
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I wanted a different type of place to stay for our 15th wedding anniversary and the Wedmore more then exceeded what we were looking for. Its a beautiful place, each room is decorated differently. The breakfast was amazing and so was the staff. They were more then friendly, always asking if there was anything we needed or if there was anything that they could do to make our stay better. We will be coming back for another stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimleydbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was absolutely beautiful. The bed was comfortable, it was very clean and we loved the big bathroom. My 6 year old grandson, when he walked in.........he said "ooooo, Mamaw, this is fabulous. We took lots of pictures with the armor and even put the helmet on that was in our room. We will absolutely stay again.

Sincerely, Donna M. Brown

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

What an amazing place! The rooms were full of character, we were even upgraded for our stay. Upon arrival we were treated to a glass of wine by the pool, which turned into a bottle. What a relaxing afternoon. Had dinner at the Café that evening and the food and service was absolutely top notch.

The next morning we had an amazing complimentary breakfast of quiche and croissants. After some exploring we went on the winery tour and tasting. The female tour guide (forgot her name!) was so engaged, knowledgeable and fun! The tastings were great and we went home with a few bottles as souvenirs.

Overall, an amazing one night stay...just wish we could have stayed longer, but we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisRN1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just recently stayed at The Wedmore Place and cannot stop talking about it! The staff were very accommodating. We stayed in the Champagne room the first night which was just so beautiful, just like the photo's but unfortunately I could not handle the air in the room due to the wood burning fireplace. Not sure when used last. Barbara the very next day without hesitation arranged another room (32) that was perfect for us. This was a business trip for hubby but a mini vacation for me. I read many reviews prior to booking and I can vouch for all of the great features this Place has to offer. Breakfast as they say was superb! The croissants were truly amazing .... so much so I could not resist having 2 on some days. Beds were very comfy and the sheets must be 800 count. Spotless room, felt like I went back in time European style, great library to sit in and relax with a book. Weather was perfect during my week so the pool was refreshing. If you stay at Wedmore Place....you must take the wine tour with Scott and eat at the Tavern. Would highly recommend The Wedmore Place to my family and friends and certainly stay here if I were to visit Williamsburg again.

Room Tip: Any room is special at The Wedmore Place. Pending at what time of year considered, the smell of woo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We absolutely LOVED our visit. Staff was super friendly and accomodating. Room was exactly as it was pictured on the website. Winey tour was good and lunch at the on site Tavern was delicious....they make their own bread!! We will never stay anywhere else if we are in the Williamsburg area again! Pool was good too and the breakfast was yummy. Hats off to all that work here, excellent service, etc. Thanks for a great time !!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Scandanavia room and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Friendly wait staff at the evening meal at the on-site restaurant. Quiet and very relaxing. Informative wine tour. Nice luncheon at the Tavern. Enjoyable welcome glass of wine at the Wedmore Place that came with the weekday package. Comfortable room with modern touches. Nice breakfast included in the room rate. Much attention paid to detail. Enjoyed the coffee bar and the treadmill in the exercise room.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the second floor, but the elevator made it easy to get up and down. Enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedmore Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedmore Place

Property: Wedmore Place
Address: 5810 Wessex Hundred, Williamsburg, VA 23185-8063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedmore Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wedmore Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedmore Place Williamsburg
Super 8 Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing