We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
286
83
32
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
83
32
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe provencalquichewilliamsburg winerywinery tourthe gabriel archer tavernprovence roomeuropean countrycomplimentary tourchampagne roomfurnished with antiquesworking fireplacewonderful weekendhardwood floorsromantic getawaycontinental breakfastyogurtstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 423 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and me stayed at the Wedmore Place at the beginning of August on our way back from a week on the Outer Banks in North Carolina.

Wedmore Place is a relatively unknown, very recent hotel somewhat away from the hustle and bustle of Williamsburg. However, it deserves to be better known. The rooms are large, well-appointed, but at the same time very intimate. The beds are comfortable, the bedding crisp. Our room (Bavaria) had a fireplace but it being in the middle of summer we did not feel like using it !

In building their hotel, the owners, who also own the adjacent Williamsburg Winery, intended to have their guests feel like they were staying in an English manor; they succeeded. Apart from the weather (much nicer and warmer thatn Norther Europe), you really feel like you are in Europe.

We had dinner at the Cafe Provencal on our last night. The food was great (in particular, try the jumbo lump crab cakes entrée, excellent; the duck breast was also very good). Although not yet up to par with the best wines of California or Europe, the whites form the Willamsburg Winery are stiil very acceptable and pair well with fish and seafood.

In summary, a great experience that we promised ourselves to repeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montrealais058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at Wedmore Place in the Aquitaine suite. We were attracted to the European theme as well as the peaceful atmosphere of the winery. We have spent time in Germany and are glad to report that the Wedmore did in fact very much remind us of the Vier Jahreszeiten. Solid wood everything and quality furnishings made our stay authentic. Some previous reviewers have complained about noise such as floorboards creaking, loud talking, stomping through the halls, etc.. We experienced none of that. Our stay was very quiet, almost too quiet. The included breakfast was American Continental, not typical European thereby lacking meats, cheeses, and pastries. However, the Wedmore breakfast was just fine. The staff was great. We enjoyed the serenity of the winery even though my wife and I do not drink wine. We really had no complaints whatsoever and would definitely recommend your stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had hoped to do the Reserve Tour at the Williamsburg Winery, spend the night at Wedmore Place, and eat at Cafe Provencial. We got 2 of the 3. The reserve tour is unquestionably worth the extra money. The Wedmore is a great place to stay. But even though we had tried to reserve 3-4 weeks in advance, we could not get a Table at Cafe Provencial. Its a very small restaurant, and they weren't using all their tables the night we had hoped to dine there. They allow the public to reserve on Open Table, and it fills up. Instead we were directed to the Gabriel Archer Tavern, also on the property. The Tavern was a major disappointment. The only other patrons during the time we were there were people staying at the Wedmore who could not get a reservation at the Cafe. One of the advantages of staying here is that you can drink wine all afternoon, rest, and have dinner without having to get in your car. If that is your plan, make sure you are able to book both the room and the Cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a wonderful customer event at Wedmore Place and our room was delightful. The food and wine were amazing, the staff was wonderful and very accomodating and everyone enjoyed themselves immenseley. We will be planning another event and rooms in December!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the Wedmore and could not have found a better place. The room accommodations were superb, the reserve wine tour and tasting was excellent, the couples massage was wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kilarny room and were very comfortable. The suites would be great if you want a lot of space.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews