We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best Williamsburg hotel experience yet”
Review of Wedmore Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wedmore Place
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed have stayed here twice with our infant son, and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Wedmore Place. The staff and owners are extremely nice and really made us feel at home. Our room was beautiful and had every amenity that we could want. We had stayed in a historical B&B the night before, and were so happy to have huge comfy bed and a modern bathroom at Wedmore Place.

As for the fun "extras", our standard room had free wifi, bottled waters, lovely toiletries (including lavender bath salts - heavenly!) and a gift bag of chocolates/cookies. In our spare time, we wandered around the pond and the library on the lower level of the hotel. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast in the restaurant. The breakfast was light, but the croissant and quiche that I had were delicious. They also gave us free tickets to the winery tour/tasting, which was a great way to end our afternoon.

The restaurant (Cafe Provencal) was amazing. The best crab cakes that I've ever had!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinad933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Wedmore Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 386 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

I booked the largest suite on the property for my wife's birthday, including wine waiting in the room. The room itself was interesting - two stories with the second story being a loft-style bedroom and bathroom. When we arrived it was freezing in the room and there was no wine waiting in the room - which detracted from the birthday surprise element. But the staff quickly made amends, bringing up the wine and summoning a mechanic to come fix the broken heater. Since this is their best room in the house, and not cheap, you would think there would have been more attention to detail ensuring that the room was prepared. They did not appear to be very crowded, but they did seem to be leanly staffed.
Dinner at the restaurant was incredible, and the tour at the winery next door was very enjoyable, as was the excellent room service breakfast.
Very private accomodations but some things to keep in mind is the amount of interaction that has to occur since you have to call for ice and you cannot tend your own fire. That results in calling and waiting - someone has to come start your fire and they are not allowed to leave any logs so you have to call each time you want a log and they have to put the log on the fire themselves. That got a bit annoying. Maybe it is an insurance issue - but it is in contrast to our experience at the Williamsburg Inn regarding in-room fireplaces.
Still it was a worthwhile experience - not sure if it is worth repeating, but certainly worth doing once.

Room Tip: Venetian Suite was 1100 square feet of space - interestingly decorated. A decor style you probably...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poleestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kduffeler, Owner at Wedmore Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

We regret that this guest experienced disappointments with their stay. We strive to provide attentive and meticulous service to each guest. All rooms are inspected a few hours before anticipated arrival to ensure that everything is in perfect readiness, and such was done prior to this guest’s arrival. Regrettably at some point following that inspection but prior to check-in, the heat in this room experienced a failure. We did remedy the situation as quickly as possible, but understand that the guest was disappointed. Whenever champagne is asked for upon arrival, we also request the expected arrival time of the guest. The champagne is then placed on ice in the room 20-30 minutes prior to arrival, so that the wine is chilled, but the ice in the bucket is not all melted. As this guest arrived well before the provided arrival estimate, the champagne had not yet been placed and was rushed up as they checked in.

Wedmore Place features a total of 32 wood-burning fireplaces, and the terms of our insurance do place some restrictions on their use. All fires must be lit by hotel staff, and no fires may be lit after 9 PM. Nonetheless, we feel that the romantic experience of a roaring fire is well worth the restrictions. Ultimately, we are pleased that this guest found us to be a worthwhile experience and enjoyed the décor, dining options and wine tasting, and hope that they will consider Wedmore Place for their next romantic retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I have gone to the reserve wine tasting every year for years at the Williamsburg Winery. Over the last several years, we watched Wedmore Place as it was built, and dreamed of the day that we could afford to stay there instead of elsewhere in Williamsburg as our annual weekend getaway. My husband recently got a promotion at work, so we decided that this was the year to splurge and stay at Wedmore Place. We opted for the “romance package”, as it had several amenities that we felt would make our stay that much more special. We chose a suite and booked our stay a month in advance, along with all of the appointment times for each of the added parts of the “romance package”.

Unfortunately, there was little to be romantic about. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a nice lady, handed a sheet of paper for us to read about our package, and instructed that our room was up the stairs and through the door. We have been to other B&B’s and Inn’s before, and have always been escorted to our room, and introduced to the property and the amenities. Several of the things that were advertised as being part of the “romance package” we had to ask for – that doesn’t make you feel like you are a special guest or there for a special package, but rather that you or your experience has been simply forgotten.

The suite was beautiful, the bed slept well, and the food at the restaurant was wonderful. However we will never again stay at this hotel. We spent A LOT of our hard-earned money on this weekend package, but didn’t feel that there was any attention to detail or service. The final blow was that the last thing we were supposed to have was a couples massage that had been scheduled upon the initial reservation a month earlier. We were told that there might be a problem with that when we checked in, but no one ever followed up with us. We continued to ask, and were finally told that they didn’t have a massage therapist available. The gentleman behind the desk shrugged his shoulders and simply said, “Sorry – I don’t know when you booked your appointment, but we can’t guarantee anything last minute.” I reminded him that we had scheduled this a month prior. There was no offer to compensate us in any way . . . I had to ask about any reimbursement for the lack of the massage appointment since we had paid for a “package”, and even that small reimbursement couldn’t begin to make amends for our complete disappointment in the whole experience.

We were so incredibly disappointed in the whole experience, that we simply packed up the next morning and left, vowing to never stay there or recommend it to anyone else. I have never left negative feedback before, and understand that sometimes things go wrong, but this whole experience was so lacking and we spent so much money, I felt I needed to make note of it here for other travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank HWS801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kduffeler, Owner at Wedmore Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

I was disappointed to read of this guest’s difficult experience. It is certainly not in keeping with the standard of service that we strive to maintain at Wedmore Place. We are actively following up with the staff to see where the breakdown occurred and ensure that such does not occur in the future. The incidents related by this guest are simply unacceptable, and we will be following up with them personally to offer our apologies and attempt to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Wedmore is in a beautiful, rural setting with easy access to Williamsburg area attractions. Each room is uniquely designed with a wide range of room sizes and layouts and decorated with European themes. This is an especially good hotel for couples because of the quiet setting, in room wood burning fireplaces (tended to by the hotel staff) and some rooms have large, Jacuzzi tubs for two. At the time of our stay, the hotel had recently opened and the staff seemed to still be in learning mode. The breakfast selections were somewhat non traditional (keeping with the European theme) but the breakfast room service was very efficient. We look forward to a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: There seems to be a wide variety of room types. Ask for a larger room.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYJman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The food, attention to detail and wine next-door made this a wonderful night away from my regular life. While I have known the Duffeler family for years and have alwas enjoyed their wine - I was quite impressed that they developed such a wonderful addition for travelers looking to spend the night, weekend or week in Williamsburg.

Room Tip: They are all unique, so choose based on your favorite region in Europe!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCScefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I loved this place. Everyone on staff was friendly and went out if their way to make our stay pleasant. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable. I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheshenicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I discovered Wedmore Place through SniqueAway. I made reservations for our anniversary in July and I broke my ankile and we couldn't go, so I wrote to Wedmore Place and they were able to move my reservation to September. I am so glad because it was a wonderful place. We ate all our meals either in the dining room or at the winery. Food was exceptional and the service was great too. Free winery tickets were included with our reservation.
Would highly recommend. And we will be back there soon.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger than the regular rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma_ander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
2.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
5.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedmore Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedmore Place

Address: 5810 Wessex Hundred, Williamsburg, VA 23185-8063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $178 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedmore Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wedmore Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedmore Place Williamsburg
Super 8 Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing