We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hospitality and Beautiful Accommodations! Will Definitely be Back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wedmore Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wedmore Place
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Amazing Hospitality and Beautiful Accommodations! Will Definitely be Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was my first time staying at the Wedmore Place however certainly not the last! Truly, the Staff could not have gone out of their way more to insure my stay was perfect!

I travel a lot, mostly to boutique inn's and must say that this is one of my favorites! I will be back for sure and I know welcomed by name at this must stay Inn/Hotel. Truly Beautiful!

Wedmore Place, Thank you! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staceyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    70
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
248
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

The facility and our room were spectacular. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the package, but one of the reasons we like B&B's is for the personalized recommendations on other things to see and do while in town. When we asked for restaurant recommendations we were handed a 3-ring binder of fliers that was terribly disorganized and lacked any information other than the sales pitch from the restaurants themselves. The young man at the desk didn't know anything about our package (weekday getaway) or how to provide the tickets to Williamsburg that were part of it. There was no guidance on how to get to places we wanted to visit. This was more like staying in a very nice hotel without a concierge than the personal touches we expected from staying at a B&B. The employees at the winery were more helpful than the B&B staff. It seems like the owners put all of their investment and interest into the physical structure and nothing into the operational side of the business.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

A great place to spend our 3 year anniversary! Everyone was super friendly and the food was AMAZING =) Also, the beds were so comfy, it felt like you were sleeping on a cloud. I can't say enough about this wonderful inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank htyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York PA
Level Contributor
332 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We actually booked via Snique Away. The prices were great and honestly the accommodations were acceptable. However, we were virtually almost the only people there. I tend to be a social person and that is the reason why I so enjoy B&Bs and Inns. However, we seemed to be just about the only people there except for the staff and if you are looking for privacy, this would be the place. Staff was very gracious and accommodating and breakfast was exceptional, especally with the hostess who was extremely gracious. Dinner at the restaurant was also good, but again this Inn appears geared for those who are truly at a more senior age than my husband and myself and we are not young, only kids at heart.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We will definitely be back! Barbara at the front desk set the most welcoming tone for the week! The staff that followed could not have been friendlier. Julie always had our room just perfect! Each morning began with a nice long walk through the vineyards and surrounding neighborhoods. We enjoyed the warm, delicious breakfast (loved the young girl who greeted us!) as much as the scrumptious luncheons at the Tavern and cheese plates by the pool! Oh, and of course we loved the wine! Flying the little Cessna down from Ohio, I was worried that we would have to leave our baggage behind in order to make weight taking all of the purchased wine home to share!
Thank you for making our short get-a-way so relaxing and enjoyable! We could not have asked for more- Good friends, good wine, sunshine and lots of laughter! It was a much needed mini vacation!
Fondly, Lori and Kent
Next time I hope to use the Spa for a possible massage and pedicure!

Room Tip: Each room is unique in its own way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxlolo01xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

After a hectic day at Jamestown and Williamsburg historic sites, it was a pleasure to escape to the green countryside and grape orchards of the Williamsburg Winery to be pampered like lord and lady, and we particularly enjoyed the European country house ambiance, having already seen enough colonial style for the day.
On our three-week southern states fly/drive, this was the finest hotel of the trip, one of the best values, and a sheer pleasure. We had a wonderful package of winery tour and tasting and elegant breakfast in the Cafe Provencal, all for $220 through Sniqueaway. We had the Burgundy room, with view in two directions, high, timbered ceiling, real fireplace, tapestry, antique carpets, hardwood floor, quiet central air conditioning, antique style furniture and fluffy robes. There were 3 dormer windows, including one in the bathroom. The only tiny flaw was one thread bare rug.
The pool outside the cafe is beautiful, with pine forest and bird song. We had supper at the winery’s tavern, as the Cafe Provencal was closed on Mondays. It was excellent.
There were luxury cookies, candies and bottled water in the room on a silver tray. Breakfast was quiche with freshly squeezed orange juice. The chef has access to their own vegetable gardens and chicken coop.
I have not seen an official star rating on this boutique hotel, but I would give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We went to Wedmore Place in order to explore Jamestown and Williamsburg. The hotel is well situated right between the two, with only short drives to either. We are well traveled and have spent quite a bit of time in Europe. Thus, we are well acquainted with the genre from which Wedmore Place is inspired. The architectural détails and layout employed inn the hotel marvelously reference a European hotel experience (that is, the nice kind). From the moment we entered the staff was welcoming and professional. The amentities and extra touches offered to guests add extra welcome hospitality. I had a special request because of allergies that the staff accommodated. The result was the best sleep experience I have ever had in a hotel. Although we would have liked to have dined in the restaurant, we were unable to do so. The breakfast was fabulous. The complimentary breakfast is plenty, even offering nice size quiche slice on request. A previous reviewer complained of the croissants. That person needs to have their tastebuds examined. They were the best, flakiest, and tastiest I have had in many years. Even the coffee was delicious. In short, I would say that Wedmore Place offeres all the things we love about Europe, but combines them with an American dedication to service and hospitality. The result is, dare I say, better than many European hotel stays!

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floor, rm 32. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedmore Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedmore Place

Property: Wedmore Place
Address: 5810 Wessex Hundred, Williamsburg, VA 23185-8063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedmore Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Wedmore Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedmore Place Williamsburg
Super 8 Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing