We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Williamsburg
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
augusta, maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We just needed a place for one night. When we went to our room we noticed the back door was filthy, trash was overflowing, hallway carpets hadn't been vacuumed in a while. The room smelled like a giant cat box. Our son wanted to stay to use the pool, the lights were off, and the front desk girl (who was the only one there) didn't know how to turn them on. The jetted tub was broken, the chairs were stained. I was just going to sleep in my clothes and find a better hotel the next day when I saw a brown worm crawling on the bed. We packed up and went somewhere else. I didn't even care about the money! Gross! This was by far the worst hotel experience ever!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bnst98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    111
    149
    129
    151
See reviews for
329
148
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

The room had obvious water damage. My room mate and I were literally run out of the room by cockroaches! The whole place is showing its age and lack of maintenance.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheelera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed at this hotel last October to visit Busch Gardens Howl-O-Scream. I caught a deal and saved myself a good $100 off what they normally charge. I was a little apprehensive because of the reviews but found my stay pleasurable. Check in was a breeze, the staff was friendly enough. Found a mini fridge in the room (which I wasn't aware of). The safe wouldn't lock but maintenance came IMMEDIATELY and corrected the problem. I stayed during an off-peak time so the hotel was basically empty. The pool was heated which was FANTASTIC because it was cold and rainy the entire trip. There is also a sauna in the fitness room which was also a big perk. There was nothing special about the room as far as decor but the bed was comfy, the room was clean and everything worked. Staff had no problem dropping off extra towels whenever requested. My biggest complaint was the "free wifi" did not work once during the trip. The staff only said that due to the weather it was not going to work our entire trip. Luckily there is a McDonalds in the same parking lot with free wifi. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you don't have ridiculous high standards.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

checked in pretty late was tired, walked into room, smelled like a cat had sprayed the entire room..chairs were on bed and pillows were filthy.. requested a new room.. water was on floor by the air condtioneer, reported this..next moring water had spread and toilet came to the top. Went to tell front desk and was given a plunger!!! Housekeeping was in room when I returned ,so asked the guy if he would check out the toilet.. He said it was ok...I later went to bathroom and handle on toilet was broke..and it could not be flushed.. asked front desk for help and was told noone from maintance was there on a weekend...noticed that the workers at the motel was feeding the cats in the parking lot..I had planned on staying a week there but ended up moving on the 2nd day.. Housekeeping did make up my bed, but left 2nd bed alone, and I had sat on it and it was wrinkled, but they did not straighten it.. emptied ashtray, but did not wipe it out..room wAS dusty, and not dusted...in morning went down for coffee in breakfast room,and tables were filthy...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

This place is a dump with poor service. No bell service available. They do let you use their luggage carts, however, if someone else isn't already using it. They have cribs, but the crib was provided at front desk and we were instructed to haul it up to the room ourselves. The room was is poor condition. Baseboards were warped off the wall. The A/C was too weak to keep room the cool. The bathroom sink was clogged. The bathtub was broken. The cap on the sink faucet popped off. The toilet seat was busted. The room had a safe, but it was locked when we got there. The bedding had holes worn in it. The hallway and room smelled peculiar. We saw a rat scurrying across the parking lot when we were checking out. It was disgusting. A decent location and a cheap price, but by cheap, I only mean it was $20 a night cheaper than the luxury 5-star hotel we stayed at in DC the next night. I should have read these reviews and gone elsewhere, but it was a last-second decision and I didn't go online to check. My bad.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Had trouble @ check-in. Finally issued first room only to discover toilet had a bowel movement deposit and needed to be flushed. After flushing the toilet it would not stop running. No working bathroom vent fan. I then had to question if the jets were properly cleaned on the jacuzzi and if the bed had fresh linens. All the windows thru-out the building were very very dirty and one exit door was blocked with debris. The second room we were issued had a leaking jacuzzi which soaked the carpet in the room. With no fan to vent the moisture out. We had to wipe off the vanity and tv remote nightstands, etc.... ourselves which left the towel blacken with dirt. Had we not been booked there on a non-refundable reservation we would have moved to a cleaner hotel. This hotel is listed as a three-star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1labrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We got lost and we arrived at the hotel at around midnight. Obviously we were exausted and ready to go to sleep. Once we got there, it smelled like rotten eggs, chlorine and gosh knows what else. The check in process took much longer than it should have taken. We were the only ones that were there and it took almost 30 minutes to get into our room! Finally we got to our room and then once we layed down on the bed, it was so hard that a rock would have felt better than these beds. We tried to go to another hotel but were not able to since all the hotels around this area were booked. NEVER WILL WE GO TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN!!

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank yeaitsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Williamsburg Historic
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#51 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Williamsburg

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Williamsburg
Address: 6483 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-7202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Howard Johnson Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing