We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Heck of a deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Budget Inn Williamsburg
Ranked #58 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Heck of a deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I booked my room online for about half the price of other rooms in the area. The room was clean and the wifi worked well. In my brief interaction with the owner he seemed sincerely interested in my comfort.
As others have mentioned, I could hear conversations in the rooms around me and the room did have a mildewy odor.
Overall, I can recommend this place for a budget stay in an expensive area. It's also located a few blocks from the Colonial Williamsburg visitors center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Clean, front desk guy very nice, would return, if I had to complain about anything it would be a stain on the wall in the bathroom by the shower that wasn't appealing. We went to Busch Gardens for the day and was so glad to have stayed at a nice place and affordable too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriangel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When I made reservations at a place called Budget Inn for $35 a night, I wasn't expecting the Waldorf Astoria. Upon checking in, it was pretty much how I thought it would be. It's an older roadside motel type place. Very worn in and a bit musty however the staff apparently keeps it clean.

Very convenient to the attractions in the area and cheap. The wifi was extremely quick and the staff was friendly. Would I want an extended stay here? No. For an overnight place to crash after a long day at Busch Gardens it was good enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccutheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel was amazingly comfortable and clean for the price. The owners and staff were very friendly and very accommodating to all requests. This hotel far surpassed my expectations and was only minuets from colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christiansburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I choose this motel because it was affordable and had several good reviews, well I didn't feel the same. My daughter pulled in about 4:30 to check in, the room wasn't ready. They said give us five minutes. So when they gave us the keys we went in and the room smelled of a combo of bo and the spray they had used to try to cover it up. I went to the office and the cleaning girl was in the office as well and said she had tried to cover up the smell by spraying......needless to say it didn't! We were given another room (non-smoking) and before I could get in the door the smell of smoke knocked me down. Needless to say we requested a refund (which I am still waiting on from hotels.com 2 weeks later), and found another place which served breakfast. I spent the same on a much nicer room with breakfast and the cost was probably the same since the breakfast was included!

Room Tip: Do not book at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank linkousclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there from July 4-7, we liked that the room was clean, although a little cramped. Bathroom was clean too. The location was good, but we didn't like it being so close to the road. Felt a little unsafe. And then there was the pool. My son asked me to take a dip, and as soon as we got in, we wanted to come out quickly. It was so dirty! All kids of insects were floating there, looked like it hadn't been cleaned in days. We never came back. Overall, it's an okay place to stay as long as you don't go to the pool.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Needed a place to stay for a nite without spending too much. Yes, the room was small, but very neat, clean and for the money, more than expected. Pancake house next door was good too! This place was a good find and I will stay there again when I come back to Williamsburg.
If your not looking for fancy, but want a decent place to stay for the nite this place will suite your need, even has wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMikeBasspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#39 of 80 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Parkway / Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area
1.0 mi away
Quarterpath Inn & Suites
Quarterpath Inn & Suites
#49 of 80 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bassett Motel
Bassett Motel
#44 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Williamsburg

Property: Budget Inn Williamsburg
Address: 800 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4325
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 80 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Inn Williamsburg 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing