We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Great hotel,Super nice front desk personel especially Yan. Beds very comfortable [In fact we overslept and missed breakfast ] Pool nice. Every thing was clean. Loved this hotel!!! Will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nada53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Dear Nada53449,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your stay with us. As much as we enjoy hearing how comfortable our beds and pillows are, we are sorry that it was so comfortable that you missed out on our great breakfast. Next time you visit, you can always pre-order your breakfast to be delivered at a certain time, if you would like. Thanks again for staying at our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    322
    89
    20
    15
See reviews for
632
301
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

All the good reviews for this hotel were right. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, the water pressure was good and the hair dryer worked well. All the basic elements I need in a hotel were there. The only downside was the paper thin walls. Were woken up by the early morning "activities" of the couple next door.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NextstopNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Dear NextStopNewZealand,

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel with us. I'm glad that our hotel & team members were able to live up to your expectations.

I am sorry to hear that your sleep was interrupted during your stay with us. Our team members do frequent security walks and if we can hear noise as we walk the halls, we will call the guest and kindly ask them to quiet down.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Went to this particular hotel as it was close to what I wanted to do for the weekend- Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. The distance to each was as said in other reviews, about a 10 to 15 min drive. Pros of this hotel: Absolutely great chef/cook- James and Hostess, Latisha. Both were so very gracious and made the morning buffet experience great. At night time, hotel jacuzzi and pool were available till 11pm, there is a 7eleven right across the street if you get the munchies and want some popcorn or icecream. Con's: When I spoke to the morning manager- Michael, (he was engrossed talking on his cell phone), oblivious to people around him that I almost did not get his attention, regarding obtaining some NON-PORK food items specifically (turkey bacon) to be part of the buffet, because I donot consume pork, he PROMISED me that it would be there the next day. Needless to say, neither he nor the item was there. The chef was so kind to offer an alternative corn beef, but it's all principal at this point. You figure if you speak directly with management about one issue brought up to them, early enough, that it could be resolved? Especially when he said it would be?? Needeless to say, I was extremely disappointed and felt blown off. I actually chose this hotel and selected to pay the higher rate because of the breakfast buffet! Now, I am not one to cause a rucus, but don't give your word, and turn around and not do it I must in defense write and alert the higher manager and the public on the lack of managerial skills you have in handling such simple requests. Who knows how many other people may have requested such a simple thing and they too were not be taken seriously. To note, I've never had any issues while staying at any Holiday Inns and am writing this review to bring light to the actions of that particular manager and perhaps others that have blatanly ignored requests to have non-pork items offered as an alternative to be offered during the breakfast buffet! As for the area attractions, mini golf, closes by 10pm, no nightlife- you'd have to drive to richmond that's about an hour and half away or so.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYClady65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Dear NYClady65,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences on Tripadvisor.com. Reviews and experiences provided by guests is a very effective medium for praising and crediting our staff for their excellence, but can also make us aware of our weaknesses and areas we may improve.

I am very sorry that your stay with us was anything short of excellent. We really do make it a priority to provide the best customer service, and always put our guests first. It is disappointing to see that we did fall short. Please be assured that we would like nothing less than provide the best accommodations for you and your family. I understand your frustrations and you feel that your requests may have not been our priority, please accept my sincerest apologies. Your review has provided us great knowledge and can only improve our operations. We do thank you again for providing feedback, and I would like to personally express my apologies if you could contact me by dialing (757) 229-9990.

Yours in Hospitality,

Geoffrey Scheibel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night and loved every minute. We were impressed with the hotel from the minute we stepped into the lobby. Katie (front desk) was charming and couldn't have been more wonderful. Our room was clean and spacious. We didn't use the pool but did spend some time at the bar, which is very nice. I definitely will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear Gimmaster,

Thanks for your kind words! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will be sure to pass your remarks to Katie. We look forward to having you visit us again real soon. Thanks again for taking time out to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed here with family for a weekend visit to Busch Gardens and Jamestown. Room was clean and decorated nicely. Hotel is close to several food chains ( uno's , cracker barrel, etc). Staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear EJSV,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We are pleased that you found a new place to stay while visiting Williamsburg! On your next visit, be sure to sign up for Priority Club Rewards which is our loyalty program and rewards you for staying with us each time. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
459 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

If only all Holiday Inns were this good. The receptionist (Katie) was brilliant and offered lots of advice about the local area without being asked and was cheeerful throughout our stay, she made us feel truly welcome and special. The hotel was fairly empty so we had a free upgrade to a suite which was great. I'd certainly stay here again and we wil be returning because we didn't have enough time (2 days) to do everything on offer in the local area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear LichfieldBazboy,

Thank you for taking time out to tell us about your stay with us. I'm glad that Katie made you feel so welcome. She does a great job with making people feel like they are in a home away from home. We hope that you will come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This hotel is clean, friendly and modern. We stayed here for a week as a great base for the area. The facilities were good and the staff friendly. I would recommend this hotel as a great base for Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Water County USA.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear Gusman68,

Thank you for taking time out to share your comments. We are pleased that our location to the area attractions were convenient for you and your family during your visit and that our team members took great care of you. Thanks for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again real soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing