We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's all good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My son and I stayed here two nights. The hotel is newer and very nice. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. A 7-11 convenience store is right across the street, which was great for snacks. It also has a gas station. The pool was nice, as was the hot tub. The entire hotel and our room were very clean and comfortable. I felt safe at the hotel and in the area. It is very close to Colonial Williamsburg and not far from Busch Gardens and outlet shops. There is a "bistro" on site but we did not eat there, although it was inviting enough. Many people were having breakfast there. There is also a bar. I would definitely stay here again when I come back to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stauerviiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Stauerviiing,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit. We are so glad that you and your son stayed with us. Thank you for all of your comments about the hotel. We really value all feedback. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    316
    89
    20
    14
See reviews for
621
299
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Traveled to Williamsburg over Easter weekend. The Holiday Inn was nice. Our room was very clean, staff is very pleasant & helpful.
Our kids loved swimming in the pool.
Located close to Busvh Gardens & many restaurants are close, as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Jersey Jacks,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the holiday weekend in Williamsburg. We are so glad that you kids enjoyed the swimming pool area. Thank you so much for your time. Thanks for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband, 11 and 12 year olds and I stayed here during a three day/two night trip to Williamsburg. No complaints--room was clean, two queen beds, bathroom looked newly finished. Shelves for towels in bathroom were handy. Free WIFI. Meals free for kids 12 and under is great. Wait staff good in restaurant. Food was fine, nothing to write home about (although scrambled eggs from buffet tasted a bit weird--powdered eggs? Eggbeaters?)

Very close to Colonial Williamsburg. About 5 miles to Busch Gardens and Jamestown.

Staff was helpful, ice machine worked. Room next door was a bit noisy for a while but quieted down by 11PM. Overall no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandy_Alexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Brandy,

Thank you for your feedback about the hotel. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the breakfast service. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with this service. We value all guest feedback. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Me and my family (2 adults and 2 kids) went to this hotel on a recent vacation in Williamsburg and we had a great time. The restaurant was great (a bit overpriced though), the bar was okay (the bartender was not experienced), but the rooms and staff were wonderful. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family chose us for your hotel needs. We hope you and your family enjoyed your vacation in Williamsburg. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
242 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I booked two rooms at the Holiday Inn Williamsburg via hotels.com for a short, two-night family trip to Williamsburg. Our rate included free parking, free in-room wi-fi and breakfast.

Good size rooms, one with king-size bed, another with two queens, facing the main road but no noticeable noise from road traffic.

Nice looking furniture, with a desk and chair, as well as a comfy reading chair, microwave, small fridge, and coffee pot with coffee supplies. While the beds were nicely made with good quality sheets, I found the mattress a bit on the soft side.

Modern bathroom, plenty of towels, toiletries included shampoo, conditioner and body lotion, with a sign that tooth paste, razor, shower cap were available upon request. I requested a shower cap from reception and was delivered immediately.

The only problem I found with the room was a noisy a/c and a irritating sound coming from the fridge on the second day. I reported the fridge noise to reception who told me it was normal and that they are aware that their fridges make that noise.

If breakfast if included in your rate, note that you order from menu and pay for anything over $10. If your rate does not include breakfast, note that there is coffee at the entrance of the restaurant pretty much all day.

The front-desk staff was very polite and helpful. In fact, when we arrived we met Steve at the front desk and he called my room to check if everything was alright within 30 minutes of check-in.

There is a small business center in the main floor was well as a pool on which I can’t comment because I didn’t check it out.

The location is very convenient if you’re driving, about 1.2 miles from the Visitor’s center. We drove and left our car parked at the visitor’s center parking (no charge) and took the shuttle bus every day. Shuttle bus is included with your tickets. A 7-Eleven and gas station are located right in front of the hotel.

This is a hotel I would definitely use again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat-in-Cabarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Expat,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit. We are so glad that you and your family chose us during your trip to Williamsburg. We are so sorry for the inconvenience with the noise in your room. We have passed this feedback on to our maintenance staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel . Thank you for your time. We hope that you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed for 5 days at this hotel. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and attentive. The location was great, right in the middle of everything and the room was comfortable and clean. The restaurant downstairs was always understaffed but the food was decent and the staffing they had tried hard to give diners a good experience. The pool/spa was ok but crowded and could use a little maintenance. If you are able to get a good deal on a room I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeKool79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear JoeKool,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you chose us for your 5 day stay. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the pool area. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a one-night stay to visit the College of William and Mary - one adult and 3 high school juniors. There are so many options in Williamsburg - I chose the Holiday Inn as it was suite-style, close to the college and a good rate. The staff were friendly, check in quick, we had time to take a quick dip in the pool, the rooms were super clean and spacious, we enjoyed the coffee/tea in the lobby, easy to find from the interstate at night, and a quick trip onto campus the next day. We all wished we could stay longer!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor facing the back parking lot, and it was very quiet. I was on the pullout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele_M90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Michele,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We hope that you all enjoyed your visit to the College of William and Mary. We are glad that you enjoyed the suite you stayed in. We value all guest feedback. Thank you for choosing us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing