We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adequate ”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I was persuaded by the glowing reviews to stay here for 4 nights during our Spring Break trip to Williamsburg. It was certainly an adequate hotel as it was clean and the beds were comfortable. Also, the tv was large and offered many channels. We did have a few issues up front that were remedied quick enough. The first room we were assigned had a toilet that wasn't flushing. We were assigned the room next door and discovered the fridge made quite a racket and the safe wouldn't close. These issues were taken care of after we notified the front desk the next day. I was less impressed with the friendliness of the front desk staff. They weren't rude, just not friendly or welcoming.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Schnoopy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Schnoopy44,

Thank you for your review, We certainly appreciate your feedback and value you as a customer. I would like to personally apologize for the mishaps throughout your stay. It is inexcusable that your toilet was not functioning upon your arrival. Our management inspects every guest room prior to arrival, and I am very sorry that we missed the fine details. I understand your frustrations, as I would expect all items in my room to be in order when arriving. I am delighted that our staff was able to resolve your concerns in a timely manner.

Customer service is what we pride ourselves in. It is very disappointing that you did not receive a genuine experience that made you feel how much we truly value you as a customer. I have already shared your comments with our staff. We would never want our property or experience to be "adequate", we do strive for excellence and I am sorry we under-delivered. Your feedback will help us hone in on areas of opportunity to improve.

I hope that one day you will afford us a second chance. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to reach out to me personally. I thank you again for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey Scheibel
General Manager
gscheibel@hmphotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    324
    90
    21
    15
See reviews for
638
307
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The hotel is easy to access from the interstate and would be a choice location to stay at if you were in Williamsburg for vacation. This property is very clean and everyone working here was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in a suite. The room was very clean and comfortable. The living area had a microwave and refrigerator with a desk, sitting chair, fold out sofa and flat screen TV. The bathroom was in the middle and it was very modern and clean. The bedroom had two beds and the beds were very comfortable. We left early in the morning and ate breakfast at the hotel. It was really good. We would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear dbae27,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback.
Thank you for your recommendation of the hotel. We really appreciate that. We will pass these great comments on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Chef Shaun Miller, came to the table to review our specific meal request. He was so kind and helpful and our meal was excellent. He is a real asset to Holiday Inn. The lovely woman who welcomed us and checked us in was an absolutely delight. She was so helpful. We will definitely stay at this Holiday Inn the next time we visit Williamsburg

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I was very happy with my stay. It was close enough that the extra price for lodging inside Williamsburg would have not been worth it. A short drive up the road you're there in the park. The staff was very helpful with giving us tips on where to go and what to see. The hotel was nicely decorated. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The electric display do not disturb and service my room were a nice feature. If I were to visit this area again, I would most likely stay at this hotel. The restaurant in the hotel featured a free breakfast but you end up tipping and paying a little remainer of the bill as long as you keep around the $10 price per voucher. The restaurant was neat with tvs inside each booth but the food was average. Not sure if they have a breakfast buffet on certain days but during our stay we ordered from a menu. The beds were average to good and the bathroom was new and clean. The price was not bad at all but this was probably the winter rate (Bushgardens was not yet opened just colonial Williamsburg).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nullion12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Nullion,

Thank you so much for your feedback about the hotel. We really appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for your thoughts about the breakfast offered at the restaurant. We will make sure that we pass this along to the restaurant staff. We value all feedback, because it allows us to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I decided to take my son-in-law, daughter and grandkids away for the weekend to celebrate son's promotion and a for a much needed break during a grueling winter. Grownups wanted a jacuzzi, kids a heated pool.

We choose the Williamsburg Historic Gateway property due to its proximity to the Outlet Mall and Go carts (unfortunately go-carts were closed), and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the hotel, the amazing staff and restaurant-rib-eye was melt in your mouth.

Jan greeted us upon arrival and what a greeting it was. Personable, funny, quite a character, she settled us in and was able to provide accurate directions and area information. Jan is one reason we will return. Please share our appreciation with her.

The hotel was immaculate, including pool area, very tastefully decorated and we didn't hear any hall noise. Comfortable beds and huge room-we did get the 2 bedroom suite, with 3 tvs-kids thought they were in heaven.

Location is convenient to activities and so many restaurants. Next time, we'll add a visit to Historic Williamsburg, and there will be a next time and soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 428catheriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Catherine,

Thank you so much for your great review about the hotel. We are so very happy that you and your family chose us for your hotel needs. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We are so happy about your review. Thanks for your thoughts about Jan. We will make sure that this is passed on to her. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely ,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Gardens, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stay there with my kids on 2/19 thu 2/23 and it was great my kids and i had a very great time. The stuff was very good and friendly as well. When my family came to vist they said that is a very nice hotal. The hotal suite was so nice and lots of room for my five kids. We had a great time. The pool and gym was great for my kids and I. Everything was nice clean. Please keep up the good work. We will be back again soon.. thanks alot the francis family in new york..

Room Tip: Just ask them and they will help u. And you can look at the photos..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monique f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Francis Family,


Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad that you all stayed with us.
We value all of your feedback. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during your trip to Williamsburg. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gatewy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel was clean, great location, staff was nice. We had a queen suite room and it was nice to be able to have room to move around. There were a couple room issues - the micro did not work properly and the small fridge made a loud humming noise but thankfully we couldn't hear it from the bedroom. The reason I can't give them 5 stars is simple...they call themselves a "full service hotel" and use that as the reason they don't provide free breakfast. We travel a lot for soccer, sometimes 2 weekends a month. I haven't been to a hotel yet that doesn't offer free breakfast...other hotels are full service but yet provide free breakfast...can't understand why they feel they don't have to. We won't stay there again even though the rooms were nice and staff was friendly. (There is a brand new Denny's next door that has great breakfast!). Food in hotel restaurant was subpar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soccermom000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Soccermom000,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the hotel not serving and free breakfast. We really value all guest feedback. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We will pass this on to our staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
713 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing