We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade to presidential suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upgrade to presidential suite”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Presidential Suite is worth it. We are a family of four. Suite had kitchenette, dining room, living room and two bedrooms (one king, one double), each with it's own bath.
This hotel is IDEALLY located to explore Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown.
No WiFi and no complimentary breakfast, which is unusual for Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjs1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear bjs1292,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your suite. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the WIFI and no complimentary breakfast. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    323
    90
    21
    15
See reviews for
633
304
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is very clean and the staff is absolutely wonderful. After hitting snow on our way to the hotel, we just wanted to get to our room and get settled in. Check in was a breeze. I would have given it five stars, but the food in the hotel restaurant needs some work. Other than that, the hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marxmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear MarxMama,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the food in restaurant. We will make sure that we pass that feedback on to them. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

this is my second stay at this hotel. This time we brought the kids and they loved it as much as I did. once again check in was easy, the staff friendly ,the room clean.The pool was also clean and was the kids favorite part of the trip. will stay here from now on when in williamsburg

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear motman25,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. Thank you for mentioning our amenities. We strive as a hotel to provide all of our guests with a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We look forward to your future visits to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess Cty, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn based on the previous reviews and it has not disappointed. Kurt at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. Kids under 12 get breakfast and dinner free which is nice! Suite is fine for the 5 of us (3 kids) with two queens and pull-out in the "living room." Love that there is a fridge and microwave. Room is pretty basic otherwise and is what I would expect of a Holiday Inn level hotel. Lots of families on the snowy Spring Break weekend, but everyone seems to be making the best of it... Sound can be heard in the halls from the room, but overall the hotel is very quiet. I'll update the review if any change over the next few days.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear FoxFam,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. Thank you for mentioning Kurt. We will make sure we pass these comments on to him. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I based our stay in Williamsburg striclty on tripadvisor reviews, and those reviews helped me pick a winner! This Holiday Inn is very close to Colonial Williamsburg, with several restaurants (and a CVS) right around the corner. We checked in around 7:30pm, and the front desk staff was funny and friendly. I booked a 2 bed suite and it's too bad more hotels don't have this kind of space. it was huge! 2 separate tv viewing areas - for the kids and adults. I hit the 515 bistro bar for a beer to bring up to the room, which was a nice bonus after a long day of traveling and sightseeing. We didn't get around to using the indoor pool, but it seemed to be very popular. On the downside - the buffet breakfast was just ok (hence the 4 out of 5). The pancakes were less than desirable, there were no milk products out, and no one told me there was a menu that I could order from, instead of doing the buffet (which i would have done). But, children under 12 eat free, and my kids were in hog heaven with the waffles and donuts. So that was a definite bonus.

We got a Virginia annual pass to Colonial Williamsburg and we will definitely be staying at this hotel when we return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Sear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear M_Sear,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for mentioning your thoughts about the breakfast. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for future guests to our hotel. We hope you and you family enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent three nights here in order to be near Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel is new, clean and comfortable. The pool was very nice. Many restaurants within walking distance. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guicide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guicide,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments about your stay. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They appreciate hearing comments about their service. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed in other Holiday Inn hotels before and have never had a problem and this one was no different. I am a member of their rewards club and was greeted warmly at the front desk. He informed me that my room had been upgraded to a suite( I just had a regular room upon making my reservation). I also got a little snack for being part of the rewards program and a free appetizer in the bar located in the hotel. My room was great! Clean and bed bug free( I always check). I was there for work so it was just me in the room but the room could hold six-two queen beds and a pull out sofa. There was also a separate sitting area that could be separated by a door( I thought that was a nice touch). I rec'd a phone call from the front desk shortly after I checked in asking if everything was okay. I only asked for a shower cap and the guy from the front desk brought it up within 5 minutes. My co-worker/friend who was in the area was upset because my room looked better than hers at the Great Wolf Lodge(she didn't even have flat screen TV's). Needless to say thanks for having great employees who take pride in their work. I will definitely continue using this chain

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Kim M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you with an upgrade. We hope you enjoyed it. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Our business travelers are very important to us. Thank you so much for your feedback. We will pass it on to our staff. Thanks for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
700 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing