We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Bypass(Williamsburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Williamsburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveler rating
792
350
94
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
350
94
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids eat freefront deskupgraded to a suitebreakfast buffetbusch gardensbypass roadpool and hot tubthe general managerwould definitely stay here againtwo queen bedssitting roomrooms were very cleanwilliam and maryspring breakhousekeeping stafffitness centerminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
740 - 745 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is very clean. The bed was supremely comfortable and my husband loved the flat-screen TV. One of the ways we rate hotels is by the shower. The shower was full-force and plenty of hot water. I didn't want to get out! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Mary L,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We will pass them on to our staff. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your husband. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family & I have stayed here at least 8 times since this hotel has opened.

The rooms are spacious, very well kept, and the staff and services are EXCELLENT!

-Jan runs the front desk, and she is a lovely person with a GREAT sense of humor. It is evident that she is eager to make you feel at home as soon as you arrive.

-Kirk runs a very tight ship with the housekeeping staff, he is congenial, and extrememly accomodating with any special requests you may have.

-Josh is primarily a bartender, and doubles as a server in the restaurant. He serves great mixed dinks, and lively conversation; he truly helped make our stay a pleasant one.

-Last but not least, it is very unusual for a hotel staff, with such a huge volume of turnover to remember its past guests. I was very pleasantly suprised that Chef Shaun recognized me right away, and took very good care of all of us. We certainly enjoyed our meals at Bistro 515, if you're staying here, and you want a relaxing night with a great bar and good food you should have dinner there!

We have already booked a room for the week after Christmas, and can't wait to see this hard working team again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

V/r
John & Nicole Kaelin (and family)

Room Tip: Although all of the rooms are great, if you have a choice between room locations/floors when you arrive, ask the staff which one they would choose; they won't steer you wrong.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear John K,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. Thank you for your thoughts about our staff. We will make sure we pass those comments are passed on to them. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We appreciate all of our return guests. We appreciate your loyalty. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff is extremely curteous and friendly. The hotel has a restaurant on site, and appetizer portions are generous. I found the rooms to be spacious and very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. This is a nice hotel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank actionadventuregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We began staying here when our daughter started at W&M in 2009 and have not stopped coming back. Many of the staff at the desk are the same from 2009 and we feel like we are home each time we visit. We are always greeted with a smile, welcome and let us know if you need anything. The hotel is a convenient drive to the Historic area, outlets and Busch Gardens. The suite consists of a bedroom with a large flat screen TV and a separate living room with another large flat screen TV. This arrangement is nice in the morning or at night if people have different sleep schedules as you can go into the living room, close the door in between and have the TV on without bothering someone sleeping. The suite is not as large as you might get at a resort however comparing it to other Williamsburg properties we have stayed at in earlier years, it is a great value. In a nutshell you can pay a lot more for a lot less room. There is also a microwave, coffee maker and a small refrigerator. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. Downstairs is a restaurant and conveniently located nextdoor is the Gazebo, a Williamsburg fixture serving breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I travel the state of Virginia frequently for pleasure. We enjoy the mountains including the
Skyline drive and the Blue Ridge parkway. In particular we love Colonial Williamsburg. We stay exclusively at Holiday Inn properties and when in when in Williamsburg at the Holiday Inn and
Suites Gateway. Geoffrey Scheibel and his staff do an outstanding job at makinf us feel welcome at home. The facility is always neat and clean, as we have come to expect of Holiday Inns. Geoff has been at this particular hotel for some time now and has shown his dedication and professionalism many times. I would like to commend on his continued exemplary service.

Sincerly, Mr. and Mrs. B W Leach

Room Tip: We like the 2 room suite. At the Gateway in Williamsburg we like room 525 but any of the suites are great
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews