We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, friendly staff, excellent amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here for a quick overnight trip with my boyfriend. The hotel is exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. Check-in and check-out was quick and efficient. The staff is super friendly and helpful. You also can't beat the location--only minutes to all the major attractions in Williamsburg. The room amenities--fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and both firm/soft pillows were an awesome addition. The hotel is also quite sound-proof (which was such a relief after a long and busy day). Overall this is a great choice for couples, families, and even business travelers! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong with any of the rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laineypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear laineypants,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments. We are so glad that you and your boyfriend stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. Thank you for your comments about the staff. We will make sure we pass those on to them. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.

Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was my first time staying at this particular Holiday Inn, but I was blown away at the level of cleanliness of the accommodations and professionalism from all of the staff. I only got to stay for one night, but check-in was a breeze, and I was on my way to my room less than 2 minutes after I gave my name to the front desk, with a full explanation of the features of the property and a smile.

When I entered my room I was astounded that my room was as big as it was, a similarly priced room in other hotels in the area were nearly half the size. The bed was super comfy, and the curtains could be drawn all the way closed (very important for non-early risers!) The bathroom was very well-lit and well spaced out. Other hotels make you feel like you are pooping in a closet!

I only got a half-hour or so of pool and hot tub time before it was closing up, but the facility met all of my expectations.

All in all, I think it would very hard to find a better hotel to stay in all of Williamsburg.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor and couldn't hear a thing in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Corwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Corwin M,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. Thank you for staying with us. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg-Historic Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My sister and I travel for a weekend getaway. This hotel was beautiful. The staff was nice and polite. They gave us great recommendations on what to visit and what to do. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great too. We both had a wonderful stay and will definitely recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family. Everything about are experience at this hotel was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Lisa W,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. we appreciate all of your comments. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your sister. Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all guest feedback. We will pass this on to our staff. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was my first experience at this hotel and it was really quite nice. They truly have mastered the service element. I must say, I was delightfully surprised. It felt very much like a four star hotel in appearance and service. Jan was outstanding from the time of check in. I mentioned It was my husbands birthday, and what do you know, a set of balloons and a dozen chocolate covered strawberries appeared in the room. The room furnishings were very nice. The hotel was very clean throughout. It was a bit pricey even with the discount but I was not disappointed in any way. I plan to stay again.

Room Tip: A higher room on the one side will provide a better view by avoiding the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chief-N-Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Cheif-N-Me,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We hope that your husband enjoyed his birthday. Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. Thank you for your comments about our staff. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our first time staying at this hotel and we will be back. Rooms were clean, comfortable and large. We were greeted at check-in by David who was overly polite and when we departed Geoffrey was courteous and personable. The location is perfect for Water Country and Busch Gardens, the restaurant in the hotel was perfect for a family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VirginiaBeachgoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear VirginiaBeachgoers,

Thank you so much for your time. Thank you for all you comments about our staff. We will make sure that we pass this on to them. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just got back from Williamsburg and stayed at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The hot tub was hot and very relaxing. The location is perfect to get to the Historic Triangle and many very good restaurants close by. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Michelle K,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family during your vacation. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our second time staying at this hotel, and we will be back next year.. Rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfortable. When we checked in, David remembered us from the prior year, he upgraded us to a larger rooms. Thanks David your the best!!! We were greeted by the staff every morning with a smile, and again upon our return we were greeted with a smile and always asked how our day went. The breakfast was great, and the best part was kids ate for free.
We've stayed at other hotels in the area, but nothing compares to this hotel. See you next year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mollysmom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Mollysmom2012,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about our staff. We will pass your comments about David on to him. He will really appreciate hearing that he is doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $83 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a full service hotel. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish decor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you've had in weeks. Our hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing