We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly,peaceful campground!”
Review of Anvil Campground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anvil Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Anvil is a great place to stay while visiting Williamsburg. We love the location and how it's close to everything! A huge perk to the campground is how it sets off the main road so you get that off the beaten path feel, but are super close to anything you could need! The staff there is amazing. Everyone is super friendly, the sites are perfectly set up and the cleanliness of the campground is unmatched by any other! By the way, the trains aren't so bad! Once the first one runs down the track you barely notice any others.
This is a must stay when you're in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Anvil Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 374 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The trains were really loud. Woke up everybody every 3 hours in the middle of the night. I was hoping the campground was closer to Busch Gardens. It's good that the grounds are close to restaurants. The comfort rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ednaE60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
Anvil Campground is the closest campground to Busch Gardens and we have been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy.
There is a train track that runs through Williamsburg itself and can be heard at other campgrounds, Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, other Williamsburg attractions, shopping areas, residences, and hotels. For nearly every one of our guests the train is not an issue, if it ever is we do everything in our power to make a guest happy by moving them to another site farther away from the train track. There is no set schedule for when the train will pass. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact me directly and I will be glad to speak with you.
Chris Jump
Owner
Anvil Campground
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay hear. Great location to local attractions. Yes it is near the train tracks. If a little train noise bothers you then maybe you can overlook it and focus more on the cleanliness, friendly atmosphere, and well maintained surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Happy Memorial Day weekend! We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!

We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Extremely disappointed...railroad tracks 30 feet from campsite with at least a dozen trains passing throughout the day. Adjacent sites are so close you can hear what others are saying inside their camper. Our site was littered with paper and ashes as the fire ring had been moved so a seasonal resident could park his truck in front of our area. To top off the stay, a drunk seasonal resident walked into our camper at 9 PM at night. Once we got her to leave, she and her comapnion next door argued loudly for the next hour. While walking the dogs later that night, the same woman was walking around and asked me to call her a cab! Unbelievable!!! would not recommend this campground to anyone who wants to get away for a quiet vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoachRFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

This kind of incident is very isolated, as we have had no such reported issues in my memory. We were notified of this issue and the guest was removed immediately. Anvil Campground does not tolerate any such behavior. We have a zero tolerance policy. We are not a party campground; we are a safe campground that caters to seniors and families.
Our campground caters to our nightly guests. Any seasonal guests here from time to time are for a very short term only. We have no guests whom live on our property. We do not allow it.
Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy.
There is a train track that runs through Williamsburg itself and can be heard at other campgrounds, Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, other Williamsburg attractions, shopping areas, residences, and hotels. For nearly every one of our guests the train is not an issue, if it ever is we do everything in our power to make a guest happy by moving them to another site farther away from the train track. There is no set schedule for when the train will pass. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact me directly and I will be glad to speak with you.
Chris Jump
Owner
Anvil Campground
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We traveled to Williamsburg in a large motorhome from California. We found the park to be very clean and orderly. The park is centrally located making it very easy to visit all the nearby attractions and is also close to shopping and many restaurants. There is a train that runs adjacent to the park but my husband and I did not find it bothersome. What made our stay here extra special was the staff, in particular BERNICE. She greeted us upon our arrival and throughout our stay gave us valuable information about the city, surrounding activities and festivals, etc. We would not have gone to the Daffodil Festival in Gloucester if not for her and we had a full day of fun there. We are full time travelers and will definitely return to Anvil Campgroung on our next trip around the US! Jennie/Joe

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

anvil campground is in williamsburg, va. we were happy to hear there is a shuttle from the campground to the nearby attractions. cabs are also cheap too since anvil is so close to the all the places you want to go. it meant we did not have to rent a car.

the staff was very acommodating, helpful and went out of their way to give us tourist info.

the place is clean and the laundry facilities were great.

the only not so great thing is the nearby train that runs by fairly often. it is a tad loud at times but not a deal breaker.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank DEIRDRE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We decided to travel to Williamsburg from New Jersey to enjoy our spring break from school. I am a school teacher and hadn't been to Williamsburg in nearly 20 years when my children were with us. We have a 31 foot Class C motorhome and found the park easy to maneuver. We were in site 51 which boardered the road. The campground was extremely clean and well maintained, but the site we were in was a bit small for a large rig with very little space for chairs etc. We did enjoy the central location to everything and especially the shuttle service which stopped in front of the campground. I decided not to tow my vehicle because of the shuttle convenience to everything. I am a train buff, so the trains really didn't bother me, but my wife did not get any sleep all week. 100+ car freight trains was the norm. I know I counted them. The only negative comment are the trains in the late night and early morning hours. A buffer of some sort should be installed between the train tracks and the campground which would make this an ideal facility. I rate it at least a 9 on a scale of 1 to 10.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
2.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,082 reviews
3.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvil Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Campground

Address: 5243 Mooretown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: $98 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anvil Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1st class accommodations: cottages, cabins and campsites. One of the highest rated campgrounds in the entire country! Williamsburg's only campground with shuttle-services. Only campground in the heart of Williamsburg! Big-rig friendly, pet-friendly, family-friendly, satellite-friendly, best WIFI, cable, 50-Amps, first-class utility pedestals, friendliest staff, paved roads, pull-thrus, completely renovated restrooms with granite counter-tops, General Store, swimming-pool, three playgrounds, arcade, basketball, handicap accessible, recycling, security, and beautiful rental cottages. Nearby Attractions: Busch Gardens Europe, Colonial Williamsburg, Historic Jamestown, Jamestown Settlement, Ripley's Believe It or Not, Water Country USA, Yorktown Battlefield, and Yorktown Victory Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anvil Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvil Campground Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing