We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anvil Campground”
Review of Anvil Campground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anvil Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Youngsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Anvil Campground”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Extremely disappointed...railroad tracks 30 feet from campsite with at least a dozen trains passing throughout the day. Adjacent sites are so close you can hear what others are saying inside their camper. Our site was littered with paper and ashes as the fire ring had been moved so a seasonal resident could park his truck in front of our area. To top off the stay, a drunk seasonal resident walked into our camper at 9 PM at night. Once we got her to leave, she and her comapnion next door argued loudly for the next hour. While walking the dogs later that night, the same woman was walking around and asked me to call her a cab! Unbelievable!!! would not recommend this campground to anyone who wants to get away for a quiet vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachRFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
This kind of incident is very isolated, as we have had no such reported issues in my memory. We were notified of this issue and the guest was removed immediately. Anvil Campground does not tolerate any such behavior. We have a zero tolerance policy. We are not a party campground; we are a safe campground that caters to seniors and families.
Our campground caters to our nightly guests. Any seasonal guests here from time to time are for a very short term only. We have no guests whom live on our property. We do not allow it.
Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy.
There is a train track that runs through Williamsburg itself and can be heard at other campgrounds, Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, other Williamsburg attractions, shopping areas, residences, and hotels. For nearly every one of our guests the train is not an issue, if it ever is we do everything in our power to make a guest happy by moving them to another site farther away from the train track. There is no set schedule for when the train will pass. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact me directly and I will be glad to speak with you.
Chris Jump
Owner
Anvil Campground
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    79
    32
    16
    7
See reviews for
204
82
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We traveled to Williamsburg in a large motorhome from California. We found the park to be very clean and orderly. The park is centrally located making it very easy to visit all the nearby attractions and is also close to shopping and many restaurants. There is a train that runs adjacent to the park but my husband and I did not find it bothersome. What made our stay here extra special was the staff, in particular BERNICE. She greeted us upon our arrival and throughout our stay gave us valuable information about the city, surrounding activities and festivals, etc. We would not have gone to the Daffodil Festival in Gloucester if not for her and we had a full day of fun there. We are full time travelers and will definitely return to Anvil Campgroung on our next trip around the US! Jennie/Joe

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

anvil campground is in williamsburg, va. we were happy to hear there is a shuttle from the campground to the nearby attractions. cabs are also cheap too since anvil is so close to the all the places you want to go. it meant we did not have to rent a car.

the staff was very acommodating, helpful and went out of their way to give us tourist info.

the place is clean and the laundry facilities were great.

the only not so great thing is the nearby train that runs by fairly often. it is a tad loud at times but not a deal breaker.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DEIRDRE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We decided to travel to Williamsburg from New Jersey to enjoy our spring break from school. I am a school teacher and hadn't been to Williamsburg in nearly 20 years when my children were with us. We have a 31 foot Class C motorhome and found the park easy to maneuver. We were in site 51 which boardered the road. The campground was extremely clean and well maintained, but the site we were in was a bit small for a large rig with very little space for chairs etc. We did enjoy the central location to everything and especially the shuttle service which stopped in front of the campground. I decided not to tow my vehicle because of the shuttle convenience to everything. I am a train buff, so the trains really didn't bother me, but my wife did not get any sleep all week. 100+ car freight trains was the norm. I know I counted them. The only negative comment are the trains in the late night and early morning hours. A buffer of some sort should be installed between the train tracks and the campground which would make this an ideal facility. I rate it at least a 9 on a scale of 1 to 10.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We traveled from Pennsylvania to visit the historical town and chose this campground for the location and the shuttle transportation. We arrived very late due to a snow storm and found our information packet on a placard by the office front door. The campground was very accommodating for large RV's and I had no problems identifying the site or maneuvering the RV through the park or into the site. The hookups are well lit and identified and aided in hooking up in the snow. The staff was very polite and friendly and the camp store was suitably stocked and immaculately clean. The bathrooms, which have become one of our biggest concerns at campgrounds, were very clean and the showers had more than enough hot water and suitable water pressure to shower comfortably. The train tracks run very close to the campground but the trains did not bother us at night. The children and I found the different trains entertaining and fascinating during the day. There was a shuttle bus stop right at the campground that was extremely convenient and prompt during our stay. The shuttle driver was very polite and offered advice on touring the area and guidance on the use of the publice transportation in the area. The only negative issue encountered was the dump station was directly adjacent to the site we occupied, site 39. The other sites both pull through and back-in were all well maintained and sufficiently separated from the dump station. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Anvil Campground and were more than pleased with the management, maintenance, location, and the facilities. We plan to return again to this quaint campground in the next few years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinnK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I traveled to Williamsburg to explore some of the Historical sites with my girlfriend and happened to find the Anvil Campground when looking for a place to stay in Williamsburg. We booked the Journeyman Cottage for the night and it was just what we were looking for. The accommodations were excellent, the price was affordable, the staff was friendly and we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. Some reviewers have commented on the train, we noticed it, but that was it. It did not detract from our enjoyment of our stay. Thank you to the entire staff at Anvil! We will see you next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeU230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Happy Spring Break! We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I really really want to give this place a good review because the staff was so nice, but there are a few things I wish we had known before we booked. TRAINS. Long trains, loud trains, fast trains. And they almost always blow their horns if they are coming from the north. The tracks are literally bordering the campsite. The first night I counted 4 trains between 1030pm and 3am. I lost count after that but there were many more. Result: NO SLEEP. Maybe if you are in an enclosed RV (we had a popup) the noise would be less. I don't know. The second night I only counted 3 trains, but maybe I was so exhausted from no sleep the prev night, I might have slept thru some. Third night: Not much sleep again. The trains are the reason we left a day early. It's a small campground but the other side is bordered by a busy road so I imagine that would be less bothersome, but only slightly so. And I'm sure you can still hear the trains. The campground would greatly benefit from a large thick wall built between it and the railroad tracks. Did I mention the tracks are so close that you can feel the wind when one flies by?

Anyway, the bathhouse was clean and warm and there was plenty of hot water. The sites are small with very little grassy areas for pets, but otherwise well maintained. We had no problems with any of the hookups. The staff is wonderfully helpful and friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The site is very central to many fun things in the area if you can muster the energy after getting no sleep. There are some long term campers who go back there frequently. They said they "get used to the trains". I suppose if you stay long enough, you would. Without the trains, we would go back to this campground. Because of the trains, we never will.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Millers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We appreciate your business and the opportunity to have you as our guest! Thank you for your compliments of our friendly staff, clean, warm bathhouse with plenty of hot water, and pointing out our park is well maintained. You pointed out our staff is wonderful, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests. We do have the best location in relation to Williamsburg and its attractions. Every year we have more and more repeat guests. It makes us happy to build relationships with our guests and see them when they return. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy.
I am so sorry you had an issue with the train. For 99% of our guests the train is not an issue, if it ever is an issue, we do everything in our power to make a guest happy by moving them to another site farther away from the train track. There are no set times for when the train will pass, it could be zero or it could be five, but every time it does, our guest are able to witness history to how our great nation became what it is today. Trains were the backbone to the birth of our great nation and still power us to be what we are today. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact me directly.
Chris Jump
Owner
Anvil Campground
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvil Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Campground

Property: Anvil Campground
Address: 5243 Mooretown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anvil Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1st class accommodations: cottages and campsites. One of the highest rated campgrounds in the entire country! Williamsburg's only campground with shuttle-services. Only campground in the heart of Williamsburg! Big-rig friendly, pet-friendly, family-friendly, satellite-friendly, best WIFI, cable, 50-Amps, first-class utility pedestals, friendliest staff, paved roads, pull-thrus, renovated restrooms with granite counter-tops, General Store, swimming-pool, three playgrounds, arcade, basketball, handicap accessible, recycling, security, and beautiful rental cottages. Nearby Attractions: Busch Gardens Europe, Colonial Williamsburg, Historic Jamestown, Jamestown Settlement, Ripley's Believe It or Not, Water Country USA, Yorktown Battlefield, and Yorktown Victory Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Anvil Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvil Campground Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing