We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anvil campground”
Review of Anvil Campground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anvil Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

anvil campground is in williamsburg, va. we were happy to hear there is a shuttle from the campground to the nearby attractions. cabs are also cheap too since anvil is so close to the all the places you want to go. it meant we did not have to rent a car.

the staff was very acommodating, helpful and went out of their way to give us tourist info.

the place is clean and the laundry facilities were great.

the only not so great thing is the nearby train that runs by fairly often. it is a tad loud at times but not a deal breaker.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank DEIRDRE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Anvil Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 375 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We decided to travel to Williamsburg from New Jersey to enjoy our spring break from school. I am a school teacher and hadn't been to Williamsburg in nearly 20 years when my children were with us. We have a 31 foot Class C motorhome and found the park easy to maneuver. We were in site 51 which boardered the road. The campground was extremely clean and well maintained, but the site we were in was a bit small for a large rig with very little space for chairs etc. We did enjoy the central location to everything and especially the shuttle service which stopped in front of the campground. I decided not to tow my vehicle because of the shuttle convenience to everything. I am a train buff, so the trains really didn't bother me, but my wife did not get any sleep all week. 100+ car freight trains was the norm. I know I counted them. The only negative comment are the trains in the late night and early morning hours. A buffer of some sort should be installed between the train tracks and the campground which would make this an ideal facility. I rate it at least a 9 on a scale of 1 to 10.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We traveled from Pennsylvania to visit the historical town and chose this campground for the location and the shuttle transportation. We arrived very late due to a snow storm and found our information packet on a placard by the office front door. The campground was very accommodating for large RV's and I had no problems identifying the site or maneuvering the RV through the park or into the site. The hookups are well lit and identified and aided in hooking up in the snow. The staff was very polite and friendly and the camp store was suitably stocked and immaculately clean. The bathrooms, which have become one of our biggest concerns at campgrounds, were very clean and the showers had more than enough hot water and suitable water pressure to shower comfortably. The train tracks run very close to the campground but the trains did not bother us at night. The children and I found the different trains entertaining and fascinating during the day. There was a shuttle bus stop right at the campground that was extremely convenient and prompt during our stay. The shuttle driver was very polite and offered advice on touring the area and guidance on the use of the publice transportation in the area. The only negative issue encountered was the dump station was directly adjacent to the site we occupied, site 39. The other sites both pull through and back-in were all well maintained and sufficiently separated from the dump station. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Anvil Campground and were more than pleased with the management, maintenance, location, and the facilities. We plan to return again to this quaint campground in the next few years.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinnK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I traveled to Williamsburg to explore some of the Historical sites with my girlfriend and happened to find the Anvil Campground when looking for a place to stay in Williamsburg. We booked the Journeyman Cottage for the night and it was just what we were looking for. The accommodations were excellent, the price was affordable, the staff was friendly and we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. Some reviewers have commented on the train, we noticed it, but that was it. It did not detract from our enjoyment of our stay. Thank you to the entire staff at Anvil! We will see you next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeU230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Happy Spring Break! We appreciate your review, your business, and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I really really want to give this place a good review because the staff was so nice, but there are a few things I wish we had known before we booked. TRAINS. Long trains, loud trains, fast trains. And they almost always blow their horns if they are coming from the north. The tracks are literally bordering the campsite. The first night I counted 4 trains between 1030pm and 3am. I lost count after that but there were many more. Result: NO SLEEP. Maybe if you are in an enclosed RV (we had a popup) the noise would be less. I don't know. The second night I only counted 3 trains, but maybe I was so exhausted from no sleep the prev night, I might have slept thru some. Third night: Not much sleep again. The trains are the reason we left a day early. It's a small campground but the other side is bordered by a busy road so I imagine that would be less bothersome, but only slightly so. And I'm sure you can still hear the trains. The campground would greatly benefit from a large thick wall built between it and the railroad tracks. Did I mention the tracks are so close that you can feel the wind when one flies by?

Anyway, the bathhouse was clean and warm and there was plenty of hot water. The sites are small with very little grassy areas for pets, but otherwise well maintained. We had no problems with any of the hookups. The staff is wonderfully helpful and friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The site is very central to many fun things in the area if you can muster the energy after getting no sleep. There are some long term campers who go back there frequently. They said they "get used to the trains". I suppose if you stay long enough, you would. Without the trains, we would go back to this campground. Because of the trains, we never will.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Millers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We appreciate your business and the opportunity to have you as our guest! Thank you for your compliments of our friendly staff, clean, warm bathhouse with plenty of hot water, and pointing out our park is well maintained. You pointed out our staff is wonderful, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests. We do have the best location in relation to Williamsburg and its attractions. Every year we have more and more repeat guests. It makes us happy to build relationships with our guests and see them when they return. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy.
I am so sorry you had an issue with the train. For 99% of our guests the train is not an issue, if it ever is an issue, we do everything in our power to make a guest happy by moving them to another site farther away from the train track. There are no set times for when the train will pass, it could be zero or it could be five, but every time it does, our guest are able to witness history to how our great nation became what it is today. Trains were the backbone to the birth of our great nation and still power us to be what we are today. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact me directly.
Chris Jump
Owner
Anvil Campground
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

While the owner states the freight trains that run about 100 feet from the front of your camper ALL night long, is witnessing history of building our great nation, I'd rather pay the money in Williamsburg itself & leave it to to the pros. Might I also mention the extremely busy road on the opposite site of your campsite. I've spent the night in rest stops while traveling less noisy than Anvil. While the campground was est in 1950's, no much has changed. It is looking run down and in need of some tlc. We were with another family, spent 1 night, then found another place to camp due to the noise & lack of area for the kids to explore. The campground is extremely small. The staff had no problem refunding our money which is a plus. P

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Our reviews are from our guests, speaking their opinions about our campground. Thank you for your compliments of our superior customer service! Our current Good Sam RV Travel Guide rating is one of the highest in the United States and Canada with our campground rating: Facilities: 9.5, Restrooms: 9.5, and Appeal: 8.5 and we have improved our rating each of the past three years. For more information on these ratings, please visit our website www.anvilcampground.com.
Our campground boosts the finest utility pedestals on the market at our campsites. For kids we offer three playgrounds, swimming pool, arcade, basketball, horseshoes, cornhole, and we are only a one mile drive, walk, or bike away from a city park that offers fishing, boating, boat rentals, hiking, picnicking, and biking.
Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. There is a train track that runs through Williamsburg itself and can be heard at Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, other Williamsburg attractions, shopping areas, residences, hotels, and campgrounds. For nearly every one of our guests the train is not an issue, if it ever is we do everything in our power to make a guest happy by moving them to another site farther away from the train track. There is no set schedule for when the train will pass. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact me directly and I will be glad to speak with you.
Chris Jump
Owner
Anvil Campground
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have stayed at this campground many times and have never been disappointed. Everything about the campground is first class and while we have looked at the other campgrounds in the general area we have always returned to Anvil. The location of the campground is perfect, it is close to the Outlets and Colonial Williamsburg and just a short drive to Newport News. There are also several restaurants close by. There are train tracks at the back of the campground but the noise is not too noticeable. All of the sites are well maintained and are easy to get in to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Happy Easter! We appreciate your review, your business and the opportunity to have you as our guest!
We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 59 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for tens of thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
3.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvil Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Campground

Address: 5243 Mooretown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: $98 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anvil Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1st class accommodations: cottages, cabins and campsites. One of the highest rated campgrounds in the entire country! Williamsburg's only campground with shuttle-services. Only campground in the heart of Williamsburg! Big-rig friendly, pet-friendly, family-friendly, satellite-friendly, best WIFI, cable, 50-Amps, first-class utility pedestals, friendliest staff, paved roads, pull-thrus, completely renovated restrooms with granite counter-tops, General Store, swimming-pool, three playgrounds, arcade, basketball, handicap accessible, recycling, security, and beautiful rental cottages. Nearby Attractions: Busch Gardens Europe, Colonial Williamsburg, Historic Jamestown, Jamestown Settlement, Ripley's Believe It or Not, Water Country USA, Yorktown Battlefield, and Yorktown Victory Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Anvil Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvil Campground Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing