We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay in Williamsburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2007

My husband and I just returned from our one night stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites. We were very pleased with the comfort we experienced for the money.

Pros...
-Cleanliness was definitely a plus! Everything looked and smelled clean, which was a nice change since so many places are run down and musty.

-Room! We had a King Studio Suite and loved the size. The comfort was like no other we have stayed at recently. The bed, as many other posters have already mentioned, was SO comfortable we hit snooze FIVE times to avoid having to get up. The room featured a nice vanity area separate from the tub/toilet which was nice. Also, the wet bar, fridge, and microwave really came in handy.

-Tech availability was great! Between wireless in the lounge and hard wired in the rooms, it was very convenient for our laptop. The business center looked to be a great perk for those who did not bring their own.

-Breakfast was simple and convenient, but if you're looking for an elaborate spread, go out to one of the many local establishments.


Con:

-Walls to the outside hall were a wee bit thin and we heard every child running up and down the halls yelling at an early hour.


We would definitely look into booking at this location again! :)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CosioFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for three nights recently on vacation with my family. This hotel was such a welcome relief!! The beds were to die for - great selection of pillows, down/feather comforter, everything was high-class and comfy. No sleepless nights here!

The rooms were also spacious, with thermostat controlled air conditioning. The bathrooms were large with great counterspace, and the shower had a nice, adjustable showerhead.

We did visit the pool here - as a whole it was a nice facility, but small. Two other families with a total of 6 children were in the pool when we arrived, and it was a bit too crowded with all their splashing around. We went to the hot tub instead, and boy was it hot! They have it set to bubble continuously, so you never have to jump out to reset the timer which is nice.

The breakfast was large, and busy. Each day we ended up sitting in the "overflow" room - which actually was a lot quieter and nicer than the main area (except a little longer walk). Lots to eat - my kids especially liked the doughnuts.

One great thing about this hotel - internet acess!! They have a room right off the main lobby with two computers that had internet access. Using your room key you gained acess to this room, and you could hop on and check email, mapquest some directions, etc. For those of us without a laptop to take on the road, it was a wonderful sight to see!

Hotel is very close to everything - lots of restaurants, about 10 minutes to Busch Gardens or Williamsburg Historic District, Jamestown and Yorktown. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank worleybird98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

--My husband and I spent a lovely weekend in Williamsburg, and I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. The service was friendly, from the check in desk to housekeeping. The room was spacious; I especially loved the comfortable bed and the down comforter was soooo dreamy. The bath was larger than I expected, clean and attractive. The jacuzzi was great; the pool was not especially large but it was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank medtechmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We picked this hotel based on others' recommendations on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The beds were comfortable. We had a Queen Studio Suite which was roomy for our family of four. The breakfast each morning was extensive (fresh fruit, yogurt, cold and hot cereals, donuts, muffins, biscuits, and usually eggs/meat of some sort). There is 24 hour hot drink service in the breakfast area. The breakfast area does get mobbed after 7:30 but we had a room on the first floor so we just took our breakfast back to the room. The pool is small. Driving around Williamsburg I am glad I made this choice as alot of the other establishments look old and in need of refurbishment on the outside so it makes you wonder about the inside. The desk service was excellent! Would definitely stay here again - the kids also loved the place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 46erwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

I just returned yesterday from 5 nights at this terrific hotel. I went with my husband and 2 children (ages 14 and 10). We had a 2 bed suite/studio. We had selected this hotel after reading all of the pros and cons.

Pros: Rooms and immaculate and very have a lot of space. This equates to us having a little elbow room as we are trying to relax after a long day of being a tourist. The beds were absolutely the most comfortable beds I have stayed in..at any hotel. I have stayed at many brands of hotels and this wins hands down. About a month ago, I stayed at a 4 star hotel and the bed was so bad my back was out for a week afterwards. The pool/hot tub was nice and never too busy to get some play time for the kids. It is indoors so expect the usual smell of chlorine in the room. The internet access is great and since I didn't bring my lap top, I really appreciated the computers/printers to print my boarding passes. As mentioned elsewhere the toilets int the bathrooms, do make a lot of noise when they flush...but this place can't be perfect (even though it is very close! The hotel is conveniently located and is very well maintained.

Cons: Not enough drawer space. The 3 drawers just weren't enough.

Specialized comments: Service was A+, I never tried the the downstairs breakfast because with the tremendous amount of pancake houses in the area..we tried a different one almost every day.

We stayed in Room 218 which was perfect...right next to elevators, close to ice machine, etc. I loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it and stay there again if I return to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LuluGirlApopka_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

My husband, myself and my grandaughter just returned from a two night stay at the Hampton and our experience was excellent. Clean room, nice beds, the staff was very nice and helpful. My only complaint is that the breakfast was not very good. We just tried it the one morning and then went out for the breakfast the second day. We have stayed at a lot of Hamptons and I don't think this one is prepared for the large groups of people they get visiting. They couldn't keep the food coming as fast as the people and there is not enough seating. We liked that the hotel was not in the crowded area of Richmond Road but it was easy to get everywhere within just a few minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

A first class experience. Large, comfortable suites. Plush, cozy beds. Breakfast was good. Staff was very nice. No complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary2hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $80 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing