We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable, clean and close to attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonable, clean and close to attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

You can't beat the price which includes breakfast. The rooms are clean. There is an indoor pool (small) and hot tub. Breakfast is hectic because there are a lot of people but the selection is fine. There is enough choice for everyone. For the reviewer who said it wasn't "historic district" its literally 2 minutes to the visitor center of Williamsburg. There are only a few hotels/motels actually in the Williamsburg village itself.

1/2 block away is Sal's Italian Pizzaria which is very good especially if you have young kids.

The hotel is convenient and clean. Not fance, but fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    428
    124
    33
    12
See reviews for
691
374
25
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We arrived at the hotel at approx. 9:30pm after traveling most of the day. The gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant, and check in was super speedy. Because we had been traveling for days, I really wanted to do a little laundry before retiring for the evening. I asked about the facilities, and also asked if I could buy quarters for the machines. Very apologetically he told me that they were out of quarters, but should have some more in the morning. Went back to the room and had a super good sleep, as the rooms are very, very clean and comfortable. Actually the whole appearance of the hotel is that way. Very pleasant environment. Very early the next morning I went to the front desk, once again asking if they had quarters. I asked the young man at the desk if he had any quarters, and he said no. I asked when he thought they would have some, because I really wanted to do some laundry before heading out for a big day of sightseeing. He said he didn't know. I expressed my dissatisfaction (in a constructive way), and stated that I thought it was a little crazy that they have laundry facilities, but no change machine or change at the front desk. He then said very abruptly, "I don't know what to tell you, we don't have quarters". Well, perhaps another suggestion as to where I could get quarters could have been given. I even asked what he suggested, and he said that he "didn't know". By this time, he was getting a little irritated with me. Whatever happened to customer service? So, this hotel was wonderful, but all it took was one employee to make a bad impression. I know that this man was probably working the overnight shift and was waiting to finish his shift, but he really needs to read the part about being customer driven in the manual.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Suerok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstSrvceMngr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize again for the shortness from that particular staff member. That is not the standard of service that we hold here at our property. It's important to get feedback so things may be corrected. The individual is no longer with the company and I hope you will not let this isolated incident deter you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We returned home yesterday from a great stay. The hotel is less than five minutes from the historic area and the modern conveniences. You will need a car if you stay here. It isn't close enough to walk to the bus stops. The hotel was well staff and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and most importantly...THE AIR CONDITIONER COULD FREEZE YOU (but only if you asked it to). It was 99% humitity with temperatures over 100 every day. That takes a very good air conditioner!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OfficeEscapees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstSrvceMngr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you so much for the great review of our property! I just wanted to let you know that we do have a bus stop right outside the hotel on Capitol Landing Road. There are actually two within one block here on our street. I would drive regardless just because I wouldn't want to ride on the bus for 20-40 minutes when it is a 2 minute drive. I hope you will return and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

The Hotel was gorgeous and well maintained but there was no way this could be considered within walking distance of Historic Williamsburg. I don't know why they say it is the Historic District at all. It is off a main highway with a bunch of motels. It was driving distance to the welcome center where we parked and then walked to Historic Williamsburg. I had read a review saying this was on the edge of the Historic District but it was do-able. When I asked at the front desk what route to walk she said that she would not recommend trying to walk it because there are some major streets you would have to cross and it would not be safe. So, while the accomodations were fine, it is not anywhere near Historic Willamsburg. Do not stay here if your plan is to park and then walk everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CincinnatiCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstSrvceMngr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
The desk clerk misinformed you and I do apologize for that. We are less than .5 miles from the actual restored Historic Area. We have return guests that visit (especially in the fall) and take the walk to the area. If you plan on buying tickets then, yes, I would suggest driving to the visitor's center. But if you don't want them or have them already it is quite a nice short walk through a little neighborhood. Thank you for the review, your input is valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

What can I say? We had a suite which just was an extra big room, not what I was expecting. We needed the space so it worked out EXCEPT they put us right by the ELEVATORS, yes, I said that correctly. It was super noisy at night, did not sleep well at all and kept saying they could not move us until the next night and next night, so never mind we stayed put. If at all possible do not stay near the elevator. Now that I have that out of the way, I cannot say enough of how clean it was or how yummy the breakfas was, or how my children loved the pool area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfpTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed seven nights at the Hampton when we visited Williamsburg and the surrounding area at the end of April. The location of the hotel was very convenient to everything. The front desk staff members were excellent, so very helpful and friendly, especially Mario and Sal. They gave us suggestions for restaurants and maps to help us find them. Mario told us about the Mariners Museum in Newport News and it was a great place to visit. The hotel has a good breakfast and there are some hot items each day. The staff working the breakfast was also very nice and friendly, especially Pamella. We had a queen suite which included a sitting area with a couch and chair so we could relax each evening after a day of sight-seeing. We slept good each night on the comfortable mattress. When we return to Williamsburg, we will definitely stay at the Hampton Inn on Capitol Landing Road. We really enjoyed visiting this area during this time of year. The azaleas were in bloom, the weather was gorgeous and it was not at all crowded at the sites we visited.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

I won't go on as much as I normnally would since the last few reviews sum it up nicely. Special shout-outs to Mario at the Front Desk who was very friendly and gave us the great tip on visiting the Mariner's Musuem in Newport News, and Pamela who was working the breakfast area each morning.

We stayed for seven nights from April 24 to May 1. No complaints about the hotel at all. And with the exception of just one day, the pool was very clean and warm (the one day it was bad I have to say it was it was very bad - like I didn't even want to go underwater bad - but it was back to normal by the next day so it's clearly not a pattern....)

The direction sheet found in the lobby was key since the roads are very confusing there. And take note that there is a SuperWalmart just up the interstate a couple miles, and a "Harris Teeter" (?) grocery store nearby.

Great hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcpeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing