We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in Williamsburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful stay in Williamsburg”
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We just returned from an wonderful vacation in Williamsburg. We stayed four nights at the Hampton Inn Historic District. It was a perfect choice for our family. Our room was exactly what we had reserved--two queen beds with a pull-out sofa. The room also had a very convenient wet bar, with microwave, fridge, sink and complimentary popcorn. It was kept very clean and the beds were very comfortable. My kids enjoyed the pool every day. This hotel is a very short drive to Colonial Williamsburg visitor center, and just a little longer to Busch Gardens and Jamestown.

The only negative was the breakfast. On the whole, they cover all the basics, like cereal (hot and cold), bagels, fruit, yogurt; however, the hot dish every day we were there was an egg dish. My son doesn't eat eggs, and was waiting every day for a waffle/pancake/french toast selection. This was just a small glitch in an otherwise great vacation. Williamsburg is a fabulous family destination, and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Great rooms and location
  • Disliked — Choices at breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pafamily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    433
    126
    33
    14
See reviews for
704
375
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed here over the fourth of July and were very pleased with the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and up to date. They had a sign at the front desk stating that if for any reason you were unhappy and they were unable to fix the problem your room would be for free. The jets in the hot tub were broken that evening and they were unable to fix them so they gave us our room for free. We were very impressed! The hotel was located close to historic Williamsburg which made it very easy to get to and from the park. We will stay here the next time we visit Williamsburg!

  • Liked — The service!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SUKI04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Family of 4, with two kids stayed her in a two bed suite room and we loved it, the pool was fine, the breakfast was good and the people were very nice. I would stay here again anytime I am in Williamsburg.

  • Liked — Large clean rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxavaaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

You won't get luxury, but this is a solid selection for families. The room was clean, the beds comfortable. The construction is fairly new. The breakfast bar wasn't fancy, but covered all the bases. Indoor pool, decent exercise room, and whirlpool. A very short drive from the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center. Service was excellent.

  • Liked — Great service, especially at the breakfast bar.
  • Disliked — Only one or two restaurants within walking distance.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shoggoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We just returned from a week-long stay at this hotel in Williamsburg. We enjoyed it ; we had a suite with 2 queen beds, and the sleeper sofa. The room was what I consider "extra large", and my son had no complaints about the sleeper sofa, but he is 10, and pretty much sleeps anywhere.

The bedding was very nice, and the fridge & microwave definitely came in handy for us. Nice counter area with a small sink over the fridge where we kept our snacks & lots of room to warm up our left-overs.

All the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful to us with directions and recommendations for resturants. Housekeeping never bothered us as long as we had the "resting" sign on the door.

The breakfast was okay, not great; we stuck with the yogurt, fruit & muffins. The "hot' entree was not very appetizing. Location was a bit off the "new" tourist loop, but still very close to everything.

Pros: extra large room, wonderful linens, fridge & microwave

Cons: mirrored closet door broken, small bit of mold in one spot at top of shower (we did not complain to management about either one -- it wasn't enough to bother us)

One final note: DON'T go to the Sal's next door to the hotel; go to the OTHER location (ask the front desk for directions).

  • Liked — size of room
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank clrHuntsville_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nites, and had a great stay! The room was immaculate, the sofa bed was fine. I slept in in for one nite, and found no problem with it! The room was spacious, comfy, and exceptionally spotless. The room had complimentary popcorn which we enjoyed one evening after a long day of touring the town. The refrig was great to have in room, as we kept sandwich meats and drinks in it, to pack for the next day of travels.The beds were soft and cushy, and even offered hard and soft pillows, whichever your preference to use. The bathroom was spotless, and the housekeepers and desk staff were very attentive. My hubby walked each morning into cl, as it was close by. There is a thrift shop close by as well, and we also shopped there! The hotel is located very close to the grocery store called" Farm Fresh", and we bought a styro. cooler from them, and packed it with drinks and sands! When we were ready to leave for home, and since we flew and were unable to take the cooler with us, I found a family that were going to be visiting the beach. So we gave them our cooler. They were very grateful! So if you stay at the hotel, do the same with YOUR cooler. Who knows- maybe you will be offered our {travling cooler}! Enjoy!

  • Liked — L
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travlin4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

This was a nice clean hotel and in a quiet location. The decor and bedding were new. The room was small but had enough space for the 2 queen beds and a rollaway. We had some trouble with AC noise which was bad because it got so hot in the room when we turned it off. This would not be an option in the summer!

We thought the location was great, a quick drive to the Williamsburg visitor center parking lot and Jamestown Settlement was not far away. There was a grocery store nearby and a Walmart in town. We had to drive a ways to get to where the restaurants are concentrated. "Food for Thought" was a family friendly spot for dinner on Hwy 60, and there were more restaurants in that area.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us some breakfast sacks to take with us for snacks when we left in the morning. They also brought us plates, utensils and napkins from the breakfast area so we could eat dinner in our room.

There was a microwave and fridge but no freezer in the room. The laundry room was a godsend, the internet access worked fine and breakfast was plentiful. All in all, we had a good stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — new bedding, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — far from restaurants
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renanzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 74 in Williamsburg
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing