We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights this year and also last year as we toured the Williamsburg area. The staff was great! When we arrived, I had been driving for hours with an indicator light on in my car. The staff directed me to an AutoZone, where they were able to determine, on a Sunday evening, that it was a minor issue. I was able to have it repaired the next day, and the hotel helped me make taxi arrangements to Colonial Williamsburg, only a mile or so away.

The room was spacious and clean with the usual amenities, including a safe in the room. We had a problem with one of our lights. The staff offered to switch our room or have it repaired the next day. We choose the latter, and it was fixed by the time we returned to our room the next day.

There were lots of choices at breakfast, both hot and cold, including scrambled eggs and either sausage, bacon, or biscuits with gravy. My daughter had seconds every day! And there was coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available 24/7 in the lobby.

We were pleased with this hotel last year, returned this year and were equally pleased. The hotel had everything that we needed, and the price, about $100, was reasonable. It is very convenient to Colonail Williamsburg and the Colonial Parkway. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    413
    119
    30
    11
See reviews for
672
358
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburgy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were extremely surprised at the quality, cleanliness, and condition of this Hampton Inn. We felt as if we were staying in an apartment rather than a hotel room. The staff, especailly the breakfast staff was superb. The young lady who was working during breakfast the day we left went way beyond what would be considered "helping us". I'm still finding myself amazed over a week later writing this review. I wish people from the north east had a fraction of her charater and work ethic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We checked into this hotel and had hoped to upgrade our room so that our rooms were adjoining. The front desk staff was nice to work with while trying to change us around but unfortunately they could not accomodate this request as they were full. Instead, our rooms were 2 doors down from one another which worked out just fine. The rooms had 2 queen beds as opposed to full beds which was nice. They both had working refrigerators and I would consider them to be in good shape. There were no noticeable spots on the carpets or on bedding and the bathrooms were clean too. They were basic rooms - nothing that you would walk in and say "wow" to but for under $100 a night, it was just what I expected. In one of the rooms, the water pressure in the shower was definitely lacking. Not sure if this is common in all rooms. The hotel does not offer room service or any in room movies just fyi. They do have a pool and hot tub - both we used several times and were fine. They also do a free daily breakfast that was so-so. They had cereal and some breads (bagels, english muffins, donuts, etc). They also had make your own waffles and some eggs with a kielbasa type sausage. Both the eggs and sausage did not look that appealing so we did not try. The biggest complaint we had from our stay was the overwhelming smell of chlorine from the pool that was very noticeable in the lobby. When you mix that with the smell of breakfast each morning, it was not very pleasant. My daughter actually refused to go down for breakfast because it made her nauseaus. Please know that it did not bother either of the adults in our party to that extreme and I did not really let that aspect affect my rating because it didn't seem to bother other guests as it did us but it definitely was a distinct combination. . The location of this hotel was great as it was close to Richmond Road and attractions such as Busch Gardens and even Jamestown. You have your share of Waffle Houses close by if you choose as well as muttiple restaurants. We had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We'll stay here again when we visit Williamsburg. Couldn't be any cleaner. Couldn't hear other visitors or doors closing. Five minutes from center of Williamsburg. Might want to plan your meals. Complimentary bkfst. not the best, but muffins and bagels are good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel experience was excellent except for the fact that check-in clerk could not figure out how to put in my Southwest Airlines number for point credit of my stay. I took two rooms both were good, clean, and quiet. My staff with whom I traveled were happy with the accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Warren R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel just outside the Historic District. We like this hotel and its location to the Historic District and local restaurants. The main focus of this review is to recognize the outstanding customer service of a very special young man, Jordan Calfee, who could well teach some other hotel staff the proper way to treat their customers. I made reservations some time back for a double-queen room, first floor near the lobby, and only on 1st or 2nd floor. We arrived in our room and began checking the room to make sure everything was in working order but, unfortunately, the fridge would not cool and the A/C would not cool the room enough, so I called Jordan who came down to our room within minutes and checked these two items. He said he would see what he could do to fix the problem and returned asking me if I would like to look at another room in which the A/C and fridge appeared to work fine. I followed Jordan down the hall to another room and to my surprise it was a double-queen suite -- how sweet!! It was so spacious and had a sitting room with an excellent A/C and working fridge. He had upgraded us to a much nicer room (Room 119) at no extra charge. There was also an incident where one of the hotel guests (a child) had an accident on the carpet. I notified Jordan and he personally cleaned up the mess within just a few minutes. Our trip to Williamsburg was an educational grip for our grandson and we all had a wonderful time. Our visit was enhanced by our nice accommodations at this Hampton Inn & Suites. I recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again should we return to Williamsburg. As a side note - and I will review some restaurants we dined at over a 3-day period, one of those being "Food For Thought Cafe" and found it to be a very nice place with personable waiters and waitresses, and of course wonderful food. Be sure to visit the home of Jefferson Davis, "Monticello," which is a short distance from Williamsburg in Charlottesville, VA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Overall it was a clean and comfortable hotel. Staff was very friendly. We typically stay at Hampton Inns and this was pretty much what we have come to expect and appreciate. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. Coffee available all day. Lots of parking in a great area away from all of the commotion of the bypass road area. Only a couple of issues.. there is an indoor pool here and you smell it as soon as you enter, not a big deal. There was a gross dried smear on the stainless steel in one of the elevators that was there all three nights. I didn't say anything about it because I wanted to see if housekeeping or someone of the staff would address it, no one did. Mgmt needs to encourage anyone on staff to take care of stuff like that. Lastly, there is a Motel next door and one night some of the patrons were a little rowdy. With all that said, I would stay here again. I liked it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the side of the hotel away from the motel/parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2011Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing