We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Second Visit Just as Great as the First” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
398 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Second Visit Just as Great as the First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just returned from two delightful nights in two rooms for girlfriends' weekend for The Grand Illumination, and our stay at this Hampton was just as awesome as the first time two years ago. Nothing is any big deal for the staff; our happiness is their sole goal. The lovely hostess in the breakfast area was so very joyful every day, and she shared with us that we are signing her paycheck, and her only goal is to make us happy to keep that paycheck coming! Great attitude! I highly recommend this great Hampton Inn!

Room Tip: This hotel is in a very quiet part of town. I cannot imagine any one room being better than another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    384
    109
    28
    9
See reviews for
628
336
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, FL
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We are so glad with our choice here. We had planned a stay in October but family issues had us postpone our stay and we now had the time to enjoy Williamsburg and we did. This hotel is quiet and clean, comfortable beds and a great breakfast, love the "bold" coffee that Hampton Inns have, helps with wakeup. All the food items are hot and kept full and the breakfast staff is so pleasant in the morning and with the crowd that was there on Saturday (12/1) they were amazingly efficient & just so nice with the crowd of people around there; some thinking they were home and just hanging out like it was their own private kitchen (again people need to learn more respect & courtesy when traveling). Friday morning (11/30) desk admin was helpful with directions to the parking garage in the historic district & he was so pleasant when we checked in, it all helped to make oour stay here a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Be aware that on weekends this place is busy with a capital "B" in the breakfast area whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OGirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This Hotel was clean and more than expected. Front desk was polite and got us set up very fast. More than enough luggage carts. We arrived at 6 pm on Nov 8, 2012. We took a suite room which was very large and great for two adults. The room gave a feel as if you were home. Noise was what you expected when you are in a hotel. Shower water temp was a challenge!! The shower was like Goldie Locks and the three bears; it was cold, then warm, on to to hot, and then just right. I had no problem the first night but my wife through that the shower was the showers from h—l. Now for the breakfast. The staff could not have done more for you. They were the best. The food at breakfast was good and nothing very special. You had more than enough choices. Only problem the scramble eggs were dry and tasteless. You would think they were powder instant military egg, ketchup helped. Location was good close by things and quite. Will return again and will get the suite for the few dollars more it’s well worth it. Location/staff/room was a 5 breakfast 3+.Beds were soft, clean and just right

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GW145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here during a brief visit to Williamsburg & Jamestown. Hotel was a few miles from the main street of hotels and restaurants, but that wasn't a problem. Interior was clean and nicely maintained. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very affordable, I'd definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
2 Thank billybab1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a king studio and really loved it! The room was huge and included a seating area with a sofa and coffee table. We had 2 sets of windows. Everything was clean and updated and comfortable. Slept great both nights. Received a couple of good recommendations for dinner: the Whaling Company and Pierce's BBQ. Colonial Williamsburg is just a short drive away. What a bargain this place is. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meyerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took a little trip up to Willamsburg VA a week ago-and stayed here two nights.
Our room was clean-comfortable and with a pleasant updated decor.
The continental breakfast in the morning(opens at 6am-which is great for an early riser like me) was above average compard to other hotels we have stayed at. There were hot itmes also-like eggs and sausage-or bacon-and make and bake waffles-Yum! Great location also-5 minutes to Historic area's and near shopping and many restaurnats also. Front desk staff-and breakfast staff-attentive and prompt

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yankeenc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived early at this hotel (10:30) and just called at reception to see if we could leave our cases until check-in time, but they actually said that we could check-in which was great! The room was nice and clean, but was a little 'used'. There was a big gap under the door where the draught excluder should have been, so it did let quite a bit of noise in from the corridor, nothing that a spare cushion didn’t sort out. In the main though the hall noise is down to people who have no recognition that others may be wanting to have some peace! Breakfast was usual Hampton faire with also plenty of coffee & hot water available during the day, and little packets of mints instead of cookies. Considering how busy breakfast was, the ladies that looked after us were extremely pleasant and really looked after you – shame we didn’t catch their names. Reception staff were again very friendly and helpful, and there were plenty of information sheets available for directions to restaurants and local attractions. We found the location of the hotel to be good, as the Visitor Centre for Colonial Williamsburg was just around the corner, with plenty of restaurants and shops a short drive away.

We really enjoyed Williamsburg and went to the Colonial area every day that we were there (even if it was at the end of a trip to Jamestown/York town). We bought the $30 pass to get into the 4 Jamestown/Yorktown parks which saved around $15 if you were planning to go into each one. We didn’t spend the $39.90 day pass to get into Colonial Williamsburg attractions (ie some of the buildings and scenarios that were played out) as we found that after investigating the area on day 1 of our trip, you get to see an awful lot anyway. We also managed to see the pipe/drum procession and firing of the canons as this is held in an area where all visitors can see. The money though does go to the upkeep of the park, but could be very pricey of you have children with you.
We would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boydsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing