We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised by our room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by our room”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We paid in advance for our room and received a discount price, for the price we paid we weren't expecting a suite. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly. We were too late for breakfast one morning and the staff working in the kitchen offered to see what she could get for us. Everyone we came in contact with from front desk,kitchen staff and housekeeping were very friendly.
We were staying for our anniversay and my daughter contacted the front desk to see if she could surprise us with a special fruit or candy basket. The front desk person told her they don't normally do that but he would try to have one made up for her. He really went out of his way to help with her request.
If we're ever in that area visiting Williamsburg again we would definitly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    454
    132
    35
    16
See reviews for
746
392
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hampton Inn & Suites is one of my favorite hotel chains for road trips. Having said that, I was less impressed by this particular hotel than I have been by others I've stayed in at other locations. The air conditioner was the noisy sort that wakes you up all night, and the bedding they provided -- a sheet topped by a down comforter -- was the sort where you're either too cold (sheet alone) or too hot (sheet plus comforter.) I was also disappointed that the hotel wasn't closer to Colonial Williamsburg. Although it's a short drive to the historic district, it's too far to walk, and the busy road that the hotel is on would be too dangerous for pedestrians even if you'd worn your hiking shoes. Next time I'll stay closer in and try a hotel associated with Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. This Hampton Inn is conveniently located for getting to Williamburg/Jamestown/Yorktown and also Busch Gardens. The Rooms and Lobby were nice and the staff was very friendly.
The one critique I have is that the Breakfast area needs more tables and a better layout. Granted we were here on a holiday weekend, but there was no place to sit to eat the free breakfast. We could see several places they could have added more tables.
Also, they position all the most wanted breakfast items (waffles, toasters, eggs/sausage) on just one side of the breakfast serving area which created crowds/traffic jams. While the other side of the breakfast serving area just had juice/fruit/danish and few people. I could see no reason why they couldn't relocate at least one of the "popular" items to the emptier side of the area (such as the chafing dish of eggs/sausage). It just seems like poor planning. The actual breakfast items were just pretty sad. The eggs had a weird consistency and the cheese omelets they had one morning were kind of rubbery...almost didn't seem like real food. The sausage was pretty flavorless. We saw a lot of people throwing it away and just getting cereal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taopiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hotel was absolutely great. The staff was so friendly. They would even ask how our day was as we'd walk by the front desk. They went above and beyond customer service. And it wasn't that fake stuff either. The hotel was very clean and very convenient to all the area attractions. If any complaints, it would be that the breakfast dining area was not big enough, very busy. But again, they opened up one of the conference rooms close by to accomodate everyone. The hostesses were absolutely awesome! Friendly, funny, and always looking to help anyone they can. Can't say enough good about this stay!!

Room Tip: The 2 queen beds, with a sleeper sofa and kitchenette was very roomy. I expected it to be a little c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alklinelovesvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Park, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I cannot say enough about this hotel. My wife & I stayed at this vacation for six nights during our vacation in August. This is a great Hotel in a great location. Right next store to Historic Williamsburg. We had a very nice Suite. With excellent service. The hotel was even able to accomadate us 2 extra nights because of Hurricane Irene. A very knowleable desk staff. Very friendly. Very good pool. A well serviced Breakfast area. At times crowded. There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel. There are plenty of places to see while stating here.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honers Member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel was so nice and the price was very reasonable. I am very picky about the cleanliness of a hotel and this was very clean. I couldn't find any issues with the room we were given. We asked for extra pillows and a blanket - we got them with no problem. The TV was great with a good selection of channels. The breakfast was amazing considering we did not have to pay for it. The had various breakfast items - if you leave there still hungry then that is your own fault. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. We arrived there a few days before the hurricane was due to hit VA. We planned to stay wed to sat. We decided to leave 1 day early so we could head back home. The hotel did not even charge us for friday night even though we did not give the 48 hours notice they ask for. We did not use the pool so I cannot comment on that or the fitness room. The elevators were hot as other mentioned but I did not think it was that big of a deal since we were only in them for a minute. The hotel is very close to all of the attractions and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay here and we were sorry we had to leave a day early.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaB203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Conveniently located near Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, and Colonial Williamsburgh, the Hampton Inn Historic District is a newer hotel with excellent service and staff. The hot breakfast runs from 6-10 am and helps families save money on eating out during a vacation. One morning, after sleeping in, we went to look at the breakfast area after 10:00 am and the staff asked if they could bring out any hot food from the back to accomodate us. They were extremely helpful and gave us the kind of personalized service and attention one would expect from a luxury hotel or cruise ship. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the housekeeping staff was excellent. All in all a very good choice in Williamsburg. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice, too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilliesFan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing