We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food excellent, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fat Canary

Fat Canary
Reserve with OpenTable
Fat Canary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 383 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Henry and Boundary Sts
Description: This high-energy bistro took over as Williamsburg's best restaurant as soon as it opened in 2003. The sophisticated but relaxed dining room has an open kitchen, which uses fresh, local ingredients for its creative American fare. The dining bar and seasonal outdoor patio seating are on a first come basis. Reservations for the dining room are recommended and may be made up to 2 months in advance. Open daily for dinner, a hostess is available during the day to take reservations.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food excellent, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant, food was wonderful, expensive, but worth it. My daughter ordered a desert she did not like, they were eager to make it right and readily exchanged it for another :)
Service was a bit slow, but we had the time to just enjoy conversation

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank psurn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    182
    51
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of the best dinners I've had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss the Fat Canary. Te staff is professional and the food is top notch. There were smoked tomatoes in the dish we had - amazing! The peas are freshly shelled. Very comfortable surroundings. It was outstanding.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VADogLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had trouble getting a reservation in the dining room, but ended up sitting outside on the patio. It was great because it is in the heart of "modern" colonial Williamsburg, so the atmosphere and street watching were great. The food and service were outstanding. The duck and scallops were delicious. One of our best meals during our week stay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nshihata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Pick of Locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Fat Canary is our top pick for local restaurants. We have been dining there since they opened ten years ago and have never been disappointed. The food is meticulously prepared with surprising "twists" that are unexpected but delightful. The serving staff is well trained, knowledgeable about the food and wines - attentive but not overbearing. My husband has some dietary concerns and there is never a problem accommodating special requests. Reservations are recommended as this place has established a regional reputation for foodies.

Here's a "local tip": If you arrive at 5 PM when they open, it's usually easy to get a seat at the bar for dinner. This is what we usually do. It's more casual and David, the bartender, will usually introduce you to some of the locals. It's always fun to chat with visitors, as well as the other locals who gather at the bar.

Chef Tom is creative and knows his flavors - spot-on! The best seafood in town is at the Fat Canary.

I hesitated to write this review because I wanted to be selfish and keep this fabulously good restaurant all to ourselves. But that's just not fair. Do yourself a favor and try it...You'll more than like it - you'll love it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in Williamsburg for a conference and a storm the day before had rendered our hotel powerless so we had to seek food elsewhere. We really lucked out. I strongly suggest you make a reservation and although I called ahead and was told there was no dress code, my husband in his shorts and me in my capris felt a tad bit uncomfortable. I had the rabbit appetizer and my husband had the tuna. We were both very happy. My husband had the lamb shank and he was overjoyed with his choice. I had the tenderloin and it was very good but I'm from Iowa so I can't say it's the best beef I've ever had. I didn't like the starch offered with my meal and was able to substitute with no problem and I like it when they'll accommodate your palate. Our server was very nice and it was just a wonderful, relaxing evening and to top it off, the power was back on in our hotel when we returned from our wonderful dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Canary also viewed

 

Been to Fat Canary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing