We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Fat Canary

Fat Canary
Reserve with OpenTable
Fat Canary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 391 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Henry and Boundary Sts
Description: This high-energy bistro took over as Williamsburg's best restaurant as soon as it opened in 2003. The sophisticated but relaxed dining room has an open kitchen, which uses fresh, local ingredients for its creative American fare. The dining bar and seasonal outdoor patio seating are on a first come basis. Reservations for the dining room are recommended and may be made up to 2 months in advance. Open daily for dinner, a hostess is available during the day to take reservations.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have been several times and it is AWESOME. It is a little high priced, but thank god because it is still packed all the time! If the price wasn't high we would never get a seat!! Good business judgment from the owners of Fat Canary!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,026
    186
    52
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ft lauderdale, FL
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great food and wine, and service was excellent. The restaurant is not overly decorated. The food is the attraction here. We had a cozy table and enjoyed a meal, a bottle of wine, dessert, and after dinner drink. Not once did we feel rushed. We had a great time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nangwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Everything was excellent from the service at the bar, the service for dinner, the food and drinks! The waitstaff was extremely knowledgable and provided excellent reccommendations. Can't wait to go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fat Canary is THE place to be for fine dining”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Whenever I'm in Williamsburg, I try to get a reservation at the Fat Canary. I have been coming to this restaurant for about a decade. I have never been disappointed. This restaurant is in a small half of a deli/wine store in Colonial Williamsburg, but it is always packed full of people. Reservations are a must; otherwise, you can try to sit and dine from the bar. The food is fantastic and would satisfy the most fussy foodie. The specials are very interesting and delicious. The drinks are great, too. This visit I had the Great Pumpkin which is a pumpkin infused bourbon. FANTASTIC! I had 3 of those! Luckily, the Williamsburg Lodge shuttle picked up my party from the restaurant. Bottom line: If you want a fine dining experience to write home about, come to the Fat Canary. You will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UVA_Wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite for visitors and locals”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I grew up in Williamsburg and love to visit the Fat Canary whenever I make trips back to visit my parents and friends. Great wine list and refreshingly exciting menu in this small town. Their seasonal menu is full of hits-- hard to pick a favorite.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shels0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Canary also viewed

 

Been to Fat Canary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing