We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local institution meets tourist destination”
Review of The Cheese Shop

The Cheese Shop
Ranked #19 of 394 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Local institution meets tourist destination”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The restaurant is a local hangout spot for students of William & Mary as well as a great place for travelers to get a good meal on a budget. A good of variety of cold sandwiches and drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pdbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    597
    158
    51
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xenia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pick a sandwich and some wine and dine in or outdoors at a reasonable price. They have so much to pick from and it is good with home made cheeses and bread.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherrymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Favorite Williamsburg CAFE”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I always go back to the Cheese shoppe, fabulous food/cheese/wine/sandwiches/homemade soups, When it's nice you can eat outside. Great place to hang out with friends. Had amazing sprouts/watercress/havarti/chicken salad; created my wn salad...love it

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeannette y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch in Williamsburg”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We always have lunch here when visiting Williamsburg. You can call ahead and they will have your order ready or stand in line, place your order, and browse the store until your name is called. Wine cellar is downstairs. Eating outdoors is relaxing and pleasant in good weather or grab a seat indoors near the windows.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smelled like paint thinner!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I desperately wanted to eat there for lunch, but when we walked in, it smelled like paint thinner! We tried to stay long enough to order lunch, but my head started to ache and it was too cold and wet to sit outside. This place is one of my husband's favorite places in Colonial Williamsburg, so that was disappointing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mawonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheese Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Cheese Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing