We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Miss The Old Williamsburg Pottery”

Williamsburg Pottery
Ranked #21 of 44 Shopping in Williamsburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The NEW Williamsburg Pottery is a set of 3 beautiful, European-boutique-style Marketplaces: Gourmet Kitchen, Home Essentials, and Outdoor Living. We offer thousands of items both International and USA-made. We support local growers and small business with our Virginia's Finest, Award-Winning Custom Frame Shop, and handmade reproduction Salt Glaze Pottery. We are also home to a huge award-winning wine shop, hand-arranged custom silk flowers, and much more! We offer a huge variety of fine items at great values. From our "Best New Business in Williamsburg" Au Bon Pain restaurant, to summer Entertainment in the Courtyard, plus lots of new events and departments coming soon in 2013, The Pottery has so much new to discover!
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I Miss The Old Williamsburg Pottery”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I lived in the area for several years and my family always loved going to The Pottery. It was like a treasure hunt! You knew when you were going that it was a little dusty (wear old clothes) and you would see an assortment of strange things, but that you could find just the right thing you never knew you needed. When we planned a trip to Williamsburg to see a show, we were looking forward to hitting The Pottery. When we got there, I actually drove by it. I couldn't believe how different it looked. Okay, so they've upgraded the exterior. Hmm. We went in and were terribly disappointed. The selection was okay, but there weren't many great values. Most of the things I saw were the same or higher priced than at Walmart, Michaels, or other similar stores. For example, my mom used to get flags for her yard at The Pottery. The only flags she found at the new place were way more expensive than she had seen them at our local stores in the D.C. area. The employees were kind of half-hearted and one woman was pretty snippy about the coupon we had from one of the local tourist magazines (even though it only saved us about a dollar). I almost asked if the coupon comes out of her paycheck. Yes, the new place is bright and clean, but I miss the old treasure trove.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank RestonVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
RestonVoyager, we are so glad you have so many happy memories of visiting the Pottery in years past. We are proud of our selection and we want to always offer the best value. In fact, we guarantee that we have the lowest prices you can find anywhere else. Please accept our deepest regret about the employee you gave the coupon to. Please contact us at comments@williamsburgpottery.com. We want every experience at the Pottery to be a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    63
    84
    121
    177
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“waste of time - understatement”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The title says it all. Pottery should be removed from the name since I only found 2 round table areas with any pottery at all. The only thing that reminds me of the old Pottery Factory was a large display of silk flowers. If you are into silk flower baskets, wreaths, arrangements, etc - this place is for you. Overall prices are equal to any other store and yet thinks looked like cheap products. Good in theory, bad in practice. Sad experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MarylandTraveler104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
MarylandTraveler104- We are sorry you were unable to find our salt glaze pottery displays. The issue has been brought to the attention of the floor managers- we want all our guests to find our merchandise and enjoy their visit! Please come visit us again; we will be opening our Seasonal shop soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
466 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a joke this place is. Supposedly upscale shopping, but in actuality the same inventory as Wal Mart and other places with upscale prices. I remember this place from years ago. To say now that this place is just a shell of it's former glory would be over doing it. Don't waste your time here. You can get the same merchandise at Wal Mart, Target, or Farm Fresh for a lower price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank norgeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi, Norgeva! We are sorry to hear that you may have been disappointed during a recent trip. We would like to reassure you that we do not have the same vendors as chain stores; we are and have been locally owned and operated for 75 years. Please let us know what we can do to improve. What would you like us to carry that you could not find? Your satisfaction is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faux Pottery”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in Williamsburg over the past Labor Day weekend and decided to see if the Pottery was as bad as the prior reviews. Although the stores were bright and clean, the lack of variety and cost of most items cannot compare with its former namesake. We did buy some craft items otherwise we would have rated as "Terrible."

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Lang, We are glad you were able to visit and purchase some craft items. We would like to hear more about what items you couldn't find or found to be priced too high. We value your time and want everyone to have a great experience here. We stand by our "Dare to Compare" promise of great value and lowest prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place was huge with a lot of items to look at!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great value. Lots to see. Bought several wall hangings and fall decorations. Definately a must stop if in williamsburg

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Megan, We are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit! We hope you will come back and see us soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Williamsburg Pottery also viewed

 

Been to Williamsburg Pottery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing