We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Sad....

Overall, a very disappointing visit. Visited in summertime--August 2018....high tourist season. I... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
Dreamer80307
Sadly , very disappointing

Sometimes when places are updated and upgraded they lose something... in the case of the pottery... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2018
Jess S
,
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
via mobile
Read all 544 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Williamsburg
from $15.40
More Info
from $40.99
More Info
from $12.00
More Info
from $66.00
More Info
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
49
72
92
129
202
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
72
92
129
202
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Williamsburg recently after not being there for 20+ years, was giving my husband the big build up on how much fun the Pottery would be. What a disappointment to find that The Pottery had been replaced by just another strip mall selling the same Chinese trinkets that can be purchased anywhere in the country.Then I read an article in Williamsburg Magazine blaming internet shopping for.the Portery's declining business. Sorry folks but it isn't the internet, it was your decision to rob the Pottery of it's identity. What made the Williamsburg Pottery unique was the old dusty buildings that one searched through looking for something different, something special from an exotic place, Even if it wasn't special you thought it was because you found it in this unique place. It makes me so sad to see the loss of these fun and unique spots around the country, We are losing all our regional personality to big box stores, chain restaurants and strip malls identical no matter where we are in the country. It's too late for The Williamsburg Pottery but hopefully there are other unique retailers that can be saved.

5  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Don’t bother. Just a long strip mall with a pretty facade now. An almost empty parking lot. I miss being able to wander the old huge buildings to finds tons of bargains and unique finds.

3  Thank Jay9875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Overall, a very disappointing visit. Visited in summertime--August 2018....high tourist season.

I remember the days, back in the 1980s, when you could go and see pottery, glassware and various things actually made by hand.

There was lots of activity, lots of employees and customers. Buildings with character.

Now, there are 3 buildings that look as if they came from Disneyland.

The buildings had a variety of products, but there were a large number of completely empty shelves.

Most of the products were cheap imports, including some items that had US Flags.

Only saw one or two employees apiece in each of the buildings....mostly in the cash register area.

The parking lot was nearly empty....there were only a handful of customers in the stores while we were there.

Again--this was August. And there were a huge number of shelves filled with Christmas items. Christmas. In August.

A very disappointing experience, especially when compared to the old "glory days" of Williamsburg Pottery.

Rick

3  Thank Dreamer80307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

So why is that the Salmon Falls Stoneware in Dover, NH is still going strong with their pottery business but Williamsburg Pottery is now outsourced to China? Corporate greed, that's why! They thought they could increase sales back to their heyday in the 80's. Shame on them!

4  Thank gkhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

I was very disappointed when during a business conference in williamsburg, i was encouraged to go to the williamsburg pottery. There was no pottery. According to the very sad sales person, they lost the contract to make the pottery and its been outsourced to china. She even said they had to destroy all the pottery. So sad. Everything in the store is very similar to what you can find at walmart,all from china. Everyone, including myself, left disappointed and empty handed. This is definitely false advertising and the name of the place needs to be changed. Very disappointed.

6  Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Sometimes when places are updated and upgraded they lose something... in the case of the pottery they lost everything! What once was an adventure, a cool place to visit and purchase unique handmade items was replaced with brand new buildings full of dollar tree quality items at ridiculously high prices. The buildings are oversized and there's nothing really in them and was is there is so cheap and disappointing. Honestly we were very surprised when we arrived to a mostly empty parking lot, we understood why after going inside.

4  Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

The "new" Williamsburg Pottery was very disappointing. Very spread out, alot of stuff made in China, Didn't see much Williamsburg pottery and what we did see was expensive. Pushing the 80th pottery pitchers, expensive.

3  Thank pnd5618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

This place looks like it's going to be interesting but it's a trap. It's the most boring shopping experience I've ever had. The owner's here need to go to Yankee Candle to see how a fun shopping experience should be done. I hope in the future this place improves. If I had paid for this attraction I would have given it one star.

3  Thank mgremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited the weekend hurricane Florence hit the Carolinas. Parking lot was empty. Walked in to the first shop and didn’t see anyone working. As we walked through each store, no one greeted us or even showed a smile. When we left, the check out girl did tell us to have a nice day. Won’t go back. Looked at pottery that was made in China. Go to the outlets. Customer service is far better.

4  Thank sirmucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

This was probably my tenth time to Williamsburg, the last being prior to the "improvements" to the pottery factory. This was a huge disappointment. The charm, the merchandise, the prices, the people you could watch assemble arrangements... gone... No more direct shipping to your home for a fee so no way to purchase any of the lovely wreaths for the holidays or pottery pieces. What a shame... It was one of my favorite things to do when in this part of Virginia..

6  Thank j0anwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews