We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamsburg Pottery

Williamsburg Pottery
Ranked #24 of 39 Shopping in Williamsburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The NEW Williamsburg Pottery is a set of 3 beautiful, European-boutique-style Marketplaces: Gourmet Kitchen, Home Essentials, and Outdoor Living. We offer thousands of items both International and USA-made. We support local growers and small business with our Virginia's Finest, Award-Winning Custom Frame Shop, and handmade reproduction Salt Glaze Pottery. We are also home to a huge award-winning wine shop, hand-arranged custom silk flowers, and much more! We offer a huge variety of fine items at great values. From our "Best New Business in Williamsburg" Au Bon Pain restaurant, to summer Entertainment in the Courtyard, plus lots of new events and departments coming soon in 2013, The Pottery has so much new to discover!
texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

After hearing great things about this place for years, I finally made it! ...whomp, whomp, whomp...Waste of time. Our family there had not been since the remodel and were also extremely disappointed. No bargains, not a lot of selection, no fun at all - and very expensive. Don't bother.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank texlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    58
    74
    115
    173
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
centralpa.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Used to be Nice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very disappointed. We always stop to do some Christmas shopping and left with at least a cartful. Don't even bother. Since the place was " remodeled" everything is expensive, no bargains to be had here, and alot less merchandise to be found. It seems all the reasons for stopping are gone. It was a bargain hunters paradise years ago, now you can buy merchandise at a regular gift shop or outlet for less than they are charging here. Very disappointed

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank justsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where Did The Old Pottery Factory Go?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just went to the "New and Improved" Pottery Factory and probably won't be back. Prices are extremely high (Red Lasered a few items and found them selling elsewhere for 20-30% less), no bargains as in year's past (we've been going to the Pottery Factory for 30+ years). Very few people in the store, compared to the hordes at the Outlet Mall a few miles down the road. The Pottery Factory has clearly lost its mojo and I doubt they will be able to stay in business very long unless they change their business plan dramatically.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank GovisBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't waste your precious time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I visited the Pottery twice while I was recently in Williamsburg. The second time was just to see if I had missed something in my first visit, which was a little hurried. The second visit confirmed my first impression. There were few, if any, bargains. The pottery of yesteryear, although in a dilapidated warehouse, housed many good bargains and was always a "must visit" when going to Williamsburg. The facade of the new pottery is very attractive, but I fear for the success of the present facility. Just one look at the sparsely filled parking lot is an indication that there may be trouble brewing. Hopefully, they'll get their act together and get their prices more in keeping with the cut-rate deals that people are expecting when they visit.

Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such a disappoinment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you have ever been to the "old" Williamsburg Pottery, this will be such a disappointment. A trip to the Pottery was a fun highlight during a trip to Williamsburg. Sadly, no more. Don't bother.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ReluctantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Williamsburg Pottery also viewed

 

Been to Williamsburg Pottery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing