We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A historical gem of a place in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruton Parish Episcopal Church

Bruton Parish Episcopal Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.99*
and up
Colonial Williamsburg Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1715, Bruton Parish Church has served the spiritual needs of the Williamsburg community including the most famous American sons of colonial Virginia: Thomas Jefferson and George Washington.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A historical gem of a place in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Go see where some of our founding fathers gathered. Sit in the same pews where Presidents sat. The church is quite quaint and lovely and has such an amazing history. Be sure to walk the grounds and take time to read some of the old headstones. We found this place fascinating and worth a look.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    187
    46
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A moving experience: go to church with the founding fathers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

You can sit in a pew that was George Washington's.....and the long list of our founding families goes on. It is a moving experience. I was very saddened to hear that tourists have not been respectful of the very old graveyard (oh my the stories I heard....what's the matter with people !?!) so they now limit walking around the graves but going to this church is still highly recommended. Go to an organ recital in the evening. Lovely. The tour guides there are excellent. They currently need work done on the church for building & organ maintenance so we always give them a donation.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andiamo_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Visit this beautiful church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have visited this church on several occasions each time we have visited Williamsburg. You can attend church services there and they also offer special events. Tonight we attended an organ recital which was excellent!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We always look forward to worshipping at Bruton Parish when we visit Colonial Williamsburg. The music, liturgy, and sermon are inspiring. We also enjoy the mid-week concerts.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Love, Philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bruton Parish Sitting where Presidents sat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Bruton Parish, it was something to be able to sit where Presidents have also sat. It is a lovely church and well worth stopping in while in Colonial Williamsburg.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DJPCityofLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruton Parish Episcopal Church also viewed

 

Been to Bruton Parish Episcopal Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing