We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing BBQ”

Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que
Ranked #20 of 393 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Since 1971, people have enjoyed coming to Pierce's Pitt for delicious, hickory-smoked, Tennessee-style Bar-B-Que made with "Doc" Pierce's Original Bar-B-Que Sauce. It all started when Julius C. (Doc) Pierce set out from Flat Creek, Tennessee for Virginia with his family and their prized bar-b-que sauce recipe. Once there, he settled in Williamsburg and opened Pierce's Pitt. The rest, as they say, is history. Now, wherever there's good times, good laughs and good eatin', Pierce's is often part of it. Whether it's in our restaurant, at a party or event we've catered, or when someone has bar-b-qued at home using "Doc" Pierce's Original Bar-B-Que Sauce. It's more than great food ... it's a great tradition ... one that all our customers enjoy. In fact, we like to think it's made Virginia a better place to live and visit.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I love BBQ and try to seek out a BBQ establishment whenever we travel. We are from Texas so our standards of BBQ are pretty high. Pierce's did not disappoint. The service was great. Food came out quick and I loved the family diner feel. Amazing Onion Rings, hush puppies and most importantly, the pulled pork was moist and delicious. There is BBQ sauce to add but we did not feel a need for additional. The restaurant was packed which is always a great sign for a wonderful restaurant. Can't wait to eat there on our next visit.

1  Thank pearx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Guest Relations Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us! There are so many styles of bar-b-que, and there are many ways to serve bar-b-que in a restaurant we are happy when people appreciate that we have chosen to serve one style, but to serve it right: smoked over the open pit and marinated in our famous sauce. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 665 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a full rack of ribs/baby back and a pulled chicken plate with a side of onion rings and macaroni cheese. Everything tasted very good, except we did not care for their BBQ sauce. The sauce was spicy, but seemed watery. The portions were also a little on the small size.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HeyKJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Guest Relations Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the sauce. It is a Tennessee style tomato based sauce with a bit of sauce. The pulled pork is our specialty and what we have been serving for almost 44 years. We hope that you come back to give us another try sometimes soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Love the BBQ just get that don't waste your time on the fries BBQ and their homemade sauce is all you need!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Guest Relations Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are so glad that you enjoy our bar-b-que! Feel free to try any of our other sides, or make substitutions when you order a special or dinner. We also have two new sides: baked apples and mashed potatoes. We hope that you come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I love the BBQ here and the prices are reasonable also. I would recommend this place to anyone that likes BBQ

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Guest Relations Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

It sounds like you like our bar-b-que almost as much as we do! Thank you for your support and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate here during our recent visit to Great Wolfe Lodge. We had high expectations and were a bit disappointed. My husband ordered a 1/2 slab of ribs. It was tiny, lean, overpriced and tasted just ok. The sides were very good, the pulled meat good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TriangleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Guest Relations Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. The pulled pork is our specialty and what we have been serving for almost 44 years. If you are ever unsatisfied with an order, please bring it to the attention of management during your visit and we will do our best to improve your experience. We hope that you give us another chance and come back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing