We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good BBQ”

Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que
Ranked #19 of 383 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indoor seating as well as picnic tables outside, lots of parking.
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Pierces is a landmark that offers great BBQ. They have good prices and you can’t beat Doc’s picnic special. I read some of the reviews marked “terrible” and had a good laugh about how melodramatic they were. Is pierces the best BBQ I have ever eaten? Probably not- but their pulled pork, mac and cheese, and collard greens are all solid. I always get food to go, so it’s hard to comment on the atmosphere, but the counter servers are always friendly. I would definitely recommend Pierces if you are staying just down the road at the Great wolf lodge, especially if you are trying to feed a large family. I also catered a company event through them. The food (for about 50 people) was prepared and ready on time and went over very well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    296
    134
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It has been years since we have visited Pierce's and after hearing people rave about the food we decided to give it a long overdue visit. They are no longer serving chicken barbecue and their pork barbecue was just ok. It is a carolina style barbecue but the sauce seems to have nutmeg and cloves as an aftertaste. The coleslaw was good but the macaroni and cheese was tasteless. I was sad to see that it just doesn't seem to be the same as it once was.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank momoftwo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great meal at Pierce's, generous portions, good prices, authentic BBQ. Very casual dining, order at counter and seat your self. Serves soda, iced tea, lemonade.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jswatek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Got to have it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Just left s BBQ place in Va Beach and headed for Pierce's so I can get a REAL BBQ meal! The pulled pork is the best! You also have to try the baked beans and the onion rings! Yum! I'm getting hungry just thinking about it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only in Williamsburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

JC special, get it and thank me later!.......Williamsburgs best sauce on BBQ w/ great sides from collards to Bennie weenies!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing