We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place”

Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que
Ranked #23 of 391 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Indoor seating as well as picnic tables outside, lots of parking.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good place”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This place is close to I64 but the signs were not that helpful together us there. It's basically pulled pork and chicken and quite good. It's a fast food atmosphere but friendly and very efficient. Seemed like many locals eat here. The pulled pork sandwiches are generously sized and quite good. We would not hesitate to stop here again.

Helpful?
Thank JE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    310
    140
    49
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good if you like brisket shredded”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The smell of this place will draw you near --and it's close to Great Wolf Lodge where we stayed! You order the food and they call your number when it's up --you may want to snag a table right away. Sweet tea was very good! Hush puppies were just "meh" and pulled pork sandwich was good, but I've had better. The coleslaw has a bite, so watch out for that! Fries were like the ones you get in the freezer section of the grocery store and weren't that crispy either. My husband has the brisket and was surprised that it was shredded. He said that it tastes good though. Can't go wrong with most BBQ as long as it's tender, but my standards are pretty high...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AParentGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Real Disappointed”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Took a shot on this visit to add another barbeque place to our list as when we travel we always look for good bar-b-que in the area we visit. To start we have been to Memphis and have eaten at the Rendezvous and a couple of other outstanding restaurants there so we know great taste & flavor and service. Pierce's does a good rib and pulled pork so no prblem there but that said the atmosphere and such is just not pleasant at all. Everything is a seperate order, sorry but the coleslaw tastes like its commercially like from Sam's Club. It's too noisey, does not feel that clean and really a take out place not a place to relax in after being out all day. While the barbeque meat is good, that's about it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank OGirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A must stop in Williamsburg”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The best BBQ around, even when busy, the service is fast and efficient. Restaurant is clean, food the best. Onion rings are delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank snevets4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Guest Relations Manager at Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We are so glad that you stopped in and enjoyed our bar-b-que! We aim for excellence with the recipe that we have been serving for almost 44 years. Please come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“An insult to bar-b-que”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

To call Pierce's swill bar-b-que is an insult to bar-b-que. The problem isn't Pierce himself. The problem is that the east coast doesn't know what bar-b-que should taste like. In fact, you can't get good bar-b-que east of the Mississippi River. Actually, you have to go to Kansas City to get good bar-b-que.

Now, back to Pierce's. Yuk. Swill on a plate is the best way to describe what they pass off for meat. Greasy, watery, over-pricedbland nothingness.

If you simply must eat some bar-b-que in Virginia, try County Grill in Hampton or York County or you can check out Smoke in Newport News. All three are vastly superior to Pierce's Pitt Swill.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Pierce's Pitt Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing