We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place was convenient for me to return to the area, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area
Ranked #61 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Overseas
1 review
“The place was convenient for me to return to the area, but...”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The place was convenient for me to return to the area, but it's pretty 'tired' as hotels/motels go. It was comfortable for sleeping, and that's about all I did there, and it was fine for a quick 2-night stay. But I wouldn't have spent more than I did, and I don't think I would have stayed any longer than 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Xxxx X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    71
    63
    43
    63
See reviews for
149
59
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Where do I begin? This was the worst experience I've ever had at a hotel. The desk personnel were slow at checking us in. I'm not sure who is "cleaning" the rooms, but they certainly aren't going their job very well. I'm not even going into it. Everything had a run down, worn feeling. The HVAC unit was loud.

But the real kicker? No hot water! This was after I was totally unpacked and was ready to get in. After I complained, they said it was being fixed and they assured me it would be working by morning... It was about 3:30 AM, but then at 6:30 AM? COLD! Are you kidding me???? Another freezing "shower" and I couldn't pack quickly enough.

My travel mates were equally upset. After complaining again and trying to get our money back, the desk guy actually said something to the effect, "Well, what do you do when your hot water goes out at home?" Really? We eventually got a 50% refund after what seemed like forever.

From what I can tell, these types of places run on a shoestring; making as much money for the owners as possible while offering cut rate service, maintenance, and facilities. I can't imagine anything worse. Avoid at all costs. Please.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJohn12402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here because I wanted to stay in Williamsburg another day and the hotel wasn't priced too high. The bed was rock hard, which was expected for the price. My biggest problem was I got eaten by bugs throughout the night. My back was covered in bites when I woke up. The management said there were no other problems with the room and really didn't want to listen to my complaint. I won't be staying here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Arcticrose_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephens city, va
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Have been coming here for years and have no complaints except for lack of water pressure and problem with commode. The problem was reported and quickly corrected. Stayed for 10 days and room was cleaned everyday. The staff friendly and helpful as always. Definitely our home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jac1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#47 of 73 in Williamsburg
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#54 of 73 in Williamsburg
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#45 of 73 in Williamsburg
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Parkway / Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area

Property: Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area
Address: 834 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Travelodge
Williamsburg Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing