We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$141
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$104
$99
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kingsmill Resort(Williamsburg)
$186
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$129
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$127
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,343)
Filter reviews
5,343 results
Traveler rating
1,960
1,591
996
472
324
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,960
1,591
996
472
324
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkwave poolmagic questlife guardsindoor waterparkdunkin donutsloose moosemagiquest gameropes coursegrizzly bear suitebunk bedsgreat family funfamily suitebowling alleyolder kidskids lovelazy river
Filter
Updating list...
5,202 - 5,207 of 5,343 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2007

Our school break extended into the first week in January so we went to GWL for 3 nights with another family. We spent 2 nights there in Jan 2006 as well and enjoyed it more this time around as we knew what to expect and planned accordingly. Our two families had 5 kids total ranging from 7-13 years old and all can swim. The kids all loved the water park, and were especially thrilled when the Howling Tornado (which is terrifying) opened on our last day there. The staff was very friendly and we felt the park was kept up well (the hotel was less than half full, which no doubt helped). There is a January rate there that may be the cheapest time of the year to go, which really made it a great value for us. It definitely has a family-oriented feel there - we saw kids and even adults walking around the lobby in their pajamas after dinner.

The downsides - as everyone mentioned, the food options are limited and the food at the one restaurant on site is mediocre at best - the breakfast buffet has a lot of choices, but not many are healthy (pastries, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, etc.). We made the mistake of asking at the front desk for nearby dinner suggestions and were directed to a Chinese restaurant that turned out to be an all-you-can-eat Chinese/Japanese/ Mongolian hotpot hodge podge of bad food - the kids said the only thing good about it was the jello! I love spas, but haven't gone to the Aveda salon there as the services are pretty pricey. The gym was small, but fine. There is a continual "whooshing" sound of white noise in the facility which didn't bother me at all but that gave one of the other adults a headache after awhile. I think even most kids would get a bit tired of the park if they spent full days there - we visited Jamestown, Yorktown and Williamsburg in the mornings and got back to the hotel at about 2:30, and hit the waterpark until dinner, which everyone was pretty happy with. The kids were in kid heaven with the arcade and each brought home a big, ugly stuffed animal as a souvenir of their stay there. All in all, an enjoyable short break.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank M&CMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2007

We visited Great Wolf in January, 2007. Our family consists of 2 adults and two kids ages 9 & 10. We drove 3 hours from home and stayed with one purpose ... the indoor waterpark. It was our first visit to Great Wolf and I was a bit worried after reading some of the bad reviews of the place. IT WAS GREAT and we did not experience some of the trouble others have.

The lodge does look a bit like Disney's Fort Wilderness from the outside. inside is a beautiful 3-story lobby with a wonderful fireplace and rustic furnishings. They are constructing a new wing which could be loud for those staying in that area, so check on that when you have your room assigned.

The Lodge boasts a nice gift shop, several restaurants/eateries, kids' activities, MagiQuest, a spa, a fitness room and an acrade.

Room: We stayed in a Kid Cabin (2101) with a fireplace and a balcony. It was spacious, very clean and well lit and everything worked, clear down to the remote control. Always plenty of towels, the room was cleaned early. Room had a wet bar area with a mini-fridge and microwave. We brought food and snacks and there was plenty of room to prepare.

Best part of the room was the "kid cabin" part. Looked just like the website's pics. Log cabin on the outside and a twin bed, set of bunk beds and a flat screen wall mounted tv on the inside. Kids did not have issues with the mattresses but since we read bad reviews I brought their sleeping bags along just in case.

Food: We ate breadsticks at the Pizza Hut Express (dee-licious), burgers at the water park (as expected) and breakfast buffet at Camp Critter/Loose Moose ($11/adult). Yes the prices are more than home but you are inside a resort. McD's isn't far away if that's what you're hungry for. The BREAKFAST buffet was very good and they did have a lot to offer. Our server's only job was to bring drinks and remove our dirty plates - unfortunately she was slow in doing both and earned no tip. We found the dinner menu "weird" and pricey. We went to Cracker Barrel one night and Golden Corral the next.

We didn't eat at the Bear Claw Cafe. Very pricey and we're a Dunkin' Donuts kind of family. Fudge was $11/lb (it's $6 at Cracker Barrel).

Water Park: Very nice. First indoor water park we've ever been to. Our outdoor water parks experience is mostly with Disney (Orlando). We spent 4 hours a day inside the water park. Our kids are 9 & 10 and this was perfect for them. Toddlers had their own section. Lifeguards were very attentive and didn't tolerate much horseplay. Only once did they run out of towels but not for long. Yes there are towels all over the chairs and tables - that's because people are securing their spots. Most people I saw leaving the water park removed their towels and dropped them off at the door.

Note: The Howlin' Tornado, the Lodge's newest ride, a 6-story extreme tube ride, was working the first day (56 degrees outside) but was not running the rest of our stay. Temperatures were only in the teens with the windchills and, even though you enter and exit the ride inside the park's heated space, the actual ride takes place outside of the building and the water was ice cold. If you visit in the winter, it may not be running. Still lots of other things to do. We had the best time.

One suggestion: For those who claim to have spent $600+/night and were then disappointed ..... and for those who may be booking in the future ... I suggest merely doing your homework and being prepared. $600/night doesn't guarantee you Ritz Carlton ammenities or service. If you insist on that, better stay at the Ritz. We saved over $100/night by visiting Sunday and Monday nights. The front desk told me that there are no slow times for this resort but weekends are always more crowded than weekdays. And weekdays in the summer are more crowded than weekdays in the winter, but still less crowded than weekends any time. Also, bring your family's favorite drinks and snacks. If you don't like the menu or prices at the Lodge's eateries, go elsewhere to eat. Within 5 miles you can find a number of places, including the national chains like Ruby's, Uno's, Cracker Barrel and numerous fast food places.

Check Out: A breeze.

Extras: We visited the Jamestown Settlement (not historical Jamestown). Our kids enjoyed it and it's less than 10 miles away. Also, there's Presidents' Park - but it was too cold and windy to visit.

We will return to the Lodge. You go too, do your homework and you won't be let down.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lasoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

My family (me, wife, 12-yo boy, 7-yo girl) enjoyed two-night stays at GWL Williamsburg in October 2006 and January 2007. Both visits were at crowded times (Columbus and MLK holiday weekends), which makes for representative test cases. Overall, we enjoyed GWL very much, though I saw plenty of potential negatives. So here are some points in no particular order.

1. Despite the spa and attempts to keep the top floor quieter, this place is absolutely for families with kids. Maybe it's tolerable for childless visitors at nonpeak times, but I wouldn't risk it if i didn't want to be around overstimulated young'uns.

2. The hotel is very expensive - overpriced really - on weekends and at holiday times, on par with the deluxe hotels at Disney World, though not at the same level of quality.

3. While neither the service nor the theming are Disney-level, I do appreciate the effort. At its best, GWL does have a very friendly and whimsical vibe, and guests, especially kids, pick up the positive energy readily.

4. Do not come without a car. Eating meals in the hotel restaurants should be considered a last resort because they are too expensive for the quality they offer. Almost every chain your family likes is represented within a 15-minute drive from GWL. Why overpay to settle for less? Snacks at the pool are movie theater quality; you eat it because it's more convenient than getting dressed. Bear Claw Cafe is OK for a bagel in the morning and sweets the rest of the day.

5. The reservations page hotel website is well designed, with availability and prices shown conveniently on a calendar, though you have to look at a separate calendar for each room type.

6. If you've gone to GWL before and liked it fine, it's definitely worth returning to enjoy the Howling Tornado slide and Magiquest. The HT slide uses rafts seating up to four and features a funnel that is very exciting (but not as good as the promotional art that leads one to believe that you will go round and round the funnel many times like a coin). My kids couldn't get enough of Magiquest so it was worth $25 for each of them.

7. One night I went to the concierge desk to buy some tickets for Yorktown Victory Center. It took 30 minutes for me to get the tickets, totally wiping any possible time savings of not simply paying admission at Yorktown. Both of the front desk staff, as well as someone on the phone, were attempting to help a guest whose gift packages (see the web site) had not been delivered properly. Yes, it took three staffers to handle a problem that apparently consisted of failing to leave some baskets in someone's rooms.

8. Housekeepers were efficient and pleasant , but don't expect folded-towel animal sculptures or anything like that. When we checked in the first time, we noticed a dead light bulb. Our phone call brought a quick response.

9. Having stayed in a themed room and an unthemed room, I advise you to take the bargain and use the extra money for some other luxury. There's so much at GWL for kids to enjoy; extra whimsy in room decor seems like a poor use of funds. i would like to try the hot tub suite, though.

10. There are no business services in the hotel, but there is wi-fi internet.

11. The gift shop has a surprisingly diverse range of fairly high quality products. The prices are high but (with the exception of sweat shirts) not abusive.

12. On our first visit, construction equipment occupied way too many parking spaces. The second time, parking was not a problem.

13. Construction continues; they were adding new wings of rooms. I hope they expand the waterpark and add other recreation options to match the expanded room capacity. They also need to improve the towel supply operation at the waterpark during peak times.

14. GWL feels safe. I had no qualms about letting the kids run around playing Magiquest unsupervised as long as they promised to stay within view of each other.

15. Arrive early if you can. Change in the lockerroom and enjoy the waterpark until your room is ready. You can use the house phone in the waterpark to check the room status. Note that the lockers are very small and can sell out at peak times. If you can tell that the hotel is crowded, lock your valuables in the car and bring a tote bag or something to the waterpark in case you can't put your clothes in a locker.

16. The hyped barbecue joint down the road is OK, but overrated IMHO. Portions are small for such a down-home kind of place.

17. Other things very near the hotel (driving, that is; you can't walk anywhere) include Sonic, IHOP, Wal-Mart (including a full grocery store), Lowes, Chick-Fil-A.

18. Yankee Candle is not just a candle store. It's more of a mini-mall tourist trap; I mean that in the nicest possible way. Very easy to kill time there while you wait for a table at Carrabas.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Lee4Vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

I don't ever write reviews, but felt I needed to after reading some negative ones about the resort.

This was our 2nd year in a row going with 2 kids. We were there mid-week in January. The waterpark and rooms looked just like the year previous- could see no tremendous wear - perhaps hallway carpets a bit, but I can just imagine the wear they get. Our room was $149/night - which probably kept our expectations lower than with people who paid over $500/night. The room was clean and we actually checked in slightly before 4:00 and it was ready. I'm certain this had to do with staying during the week instead of the weekend.

Waterpark was fantastic- very impressed with the number of lifeguards and how attentive they were. The kids (and adults) loved the new tornado ride.

In our 2 visits we've never eaten there, except for pastries at the bear claw cafe. There is a fantastic BBQ joint about a mile from GWL called Pierce's PItt ( readers choice award in southern living many years in a row) and tons of choices within a few minutes drive.

We'll be back again next year- we had a fantastic time and found the resort clean and well-staffed. Staff was very friendly and we could check-out thru the room tv with no need to wait in line.

Highly recommend for a couple night winter's getaway with kids!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingwithboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

Pricey suite (almost $500) right next to construction site where they are building an addition. Was never informed of the construction upon check-in or when making the reservations. Was awakened on Saturday morning at 7am to construction equipment and load annoying beeping as they continually backed up. Could hear right through the ceiling and walls as the guests above our room ran around until the wee hours of the morning. Made a few complaints to management, but received no response or attempt to remedy the situation. Air conditioning unit in one bedroom (it was an unusual 70 degree day) made unbelievably load noises all night. Food was awful and expensive and service was poor! Had a much better experience over a year ago but facility has gone way down hill since first visit. Only positive comment: the kids had a good time at the waterpark.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank CodyNorthernVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews