We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay with Great Wolf Williamsburg.........”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Stay with Great Wolf Williamsburg.........”
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Well, let me begin to say this was my very first visit and we were not disappointed. We arrived at the resort at 2pm on Friday - there was no line and no wait to get in the room. Everything was ready and we were on our way! Our stay was from Friday to Sunday for 2 adults and 2 children - both aged 7. We purchase a couple of extra's.... paw passes, splash package, and wolf wake-up breakfast package. The paw pass was very worth it at $59.99 per child. It comes with build a bear stuffed animal, shirt-bag-or pillowcase that the kids decorate in cub club, 32 tokens to the arcade, magiquest game, magiquest wand, access to the teen clubcalled GR8 Space for the entire stay (music, video games, computers, organized activities), and lastly - 10% off for every purchase in the lodge and from the restaurant in the parking lot called Jungle Jims. Did not really need the splash package and DEFINATELY NOT THE WAKE UP WOLF BREAKFAST. Let me just say that we only attempted to eat at the lodge once for the breakfast and that was a horrific experience. Went up at 9:45am for breakfast and felt lucky because it was only 20% occuppied, so we were THINKING there would be no wait. My mouth dropped when they told us it would be a 55 minute wait. I was trying to make sense of this considering there was no freakin body in there. Long story short - the hostess was rude and the food manager was a joke. After conplaining to several parties in management - we were seated within 15 minutes. If I didn't have that package - I would of been long gone. The breakfast was not even worth it. All I can say is CRACKER BARREL .... here we come! Anyway - that was the only bad part of the weekend experience at the lodge. We had a ball! We totally had a good time playing magiquest with the kids (once we figured it out). The waterpark was very fun and nice and warm. The spa looked very nice but I did not have any services done. With 2 little boys - it was not workable into the schedule. The arcade was a very good size and had some pretty good games; couldn't complain there. The GR8 Space club was awesome. The kids loved it - they played XBOX360 while dancing in there seats. While they played the game system, we (the adults) were busy on the computers checking our emails while also dancing in our seats. They have plasmas all around the walls with a huge screen in the middle that shows videos. They also had a little bar that served smoothies and chips/candy. We stayed in a family fireplace room with balcony. The rooms were clean and spacious that I can't complain, my only suggestion is......... ask that you are not all the way on the end of the building. It was a really lllllllllllllllllong walk.

All in all, we had a great time and will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    1,262
    741
    332
    231
See reviews for
3,423
45
2
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake,Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

This was one of the best vacations ever! There was so much to do for not just the kids but for adults, also. I can't wait to go back !

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank milagoldshteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The kids love the water park and the lifeguards are great. But, it's downhill from there - we waited 1 1/2 hrs from check-in to receiving our room key. Given that the water park is only open 7 hours during an overnight stay, that 1 1/2 hrs is costly. Our room smelled weird, the carpet was wet and a dehumidifier was running constantly and loudly, two lights were burned out, and the bed was rock hard. As others noted, the food is mediocre and overpriced. It's just not worth the cost - you'll have a much better and more comfortable time at Kingsmill.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourofusVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

My wife and two kids stayed at the lodge from Sat-Tue. I found the rooms and all the facilities to be clean and well kept. The food wasn't great, but not bad. The staff was very courteous and kid friendly. There were a couple of times where I thought the lifeguard staff should have stepped in to enforce park rules, but they were clearly more focused on ensuring the safety of swimmers and I can't fault them for that. The park was full on Sunday and early Monday (Columbus Day), but never felt really crowded. Being able to access the park at 1pm on day of check-in was great. By Tuesday morning we had done everything we wanted to do and were ready to go home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agabuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2009

one night is enough, the kids can swim and play enough on the preceding and following day to get tired and be ready to go home, but still want to go back again later.

Helpful?
Thank ehb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

After reading many reviews, I was a bit hesitant to go here, but I want to say that everything - from the start to the finish - was perfect. Our check-in was easy breezy and we had to go back to the front desk several times and never had more than a 5-minute wait. Our room - the fireplace room - was perfect for the 4 of us and could have easily slept 2 more. Lots of space, clean and nice. Fridge, microwave, coffee, and other normal hotel amenities. Everything was very clean. Nice high ceilings made the room seem very spacious. Loved the arm tags that we could enter rooms without keys, pay for food and get in and out of the building with ease.

The water park itself was smaller than we imagined, but well run. Lifeguards were outstanding. The staff gracious and helpful. This was a wonderful trip for my children and me. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishRed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

My husband and I went to Great Wolf with my two small children (4 and 2). We stayed for two nights and had a BLAST! The zero entry pool was a hit with both kids as were the mini water slides. My husband LOVED surfing and I LOVED watching him wipe out! All the water park activities were tons of fun! I loved how we could just walk down and not ever leave the hotel! It was so easy!

Our room was simple and CLEAN which is a MUST when you have two small kids that like to touch everything!! :)

The food was okay. Personally, I would reccomend eating dinner in Williamsburg. There are some fantastic resturants near by.

We had a blast at Great Wolf Lodge and I cannot wait to go again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smeiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
5.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
569 reviews
5.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 549 East Rochambeau Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2148
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are home to Virginia’s premier 79,000 square foot indoor entertainment area featuring our water park, bear track landing. The indoor water park features a 4-story, 12 level tree fort with 1000 gallons of water and dumps down every few minutes. The water park also features a gigantic indoor wave pool, eight water slides, including 3 tube slides, three kiddie slides and two body slides. In addition we have a zero-depth entry children’s pool, indoor pool, two oversized hot tubs, an endless lazy river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Williamsburg
Great Wolf Lodge Williamsburg Va
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing