We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time ...minus the nasty room, horrible customer service and cold water in the water park”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Quantico, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fun time ...minus the nasty room, horrible customer service and cold water in the water park”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Checked in to the room just a little early and were surprised that the room was ready. They said they had just finished cleaning it...Awesome right? WRONG. As soon as we walked in the room, we discovered a HUGE dead cockroach dead center on the living area carpet. Since housecleaning was not too far down the hall supposedly cleaning these rooms, we didn't understand how they could overlook this nastiness. We told housekeeping about the roach and she came in and flushed it down toilet and said "Oh they just want to come out and see who's here". Then once we got settled in the room, we noticed how run down it looked-wall paper coming off in the bathroom, stains on walls and there was a big spider in one of showers (again how did housekeeping miss this?) After we got changed for the water park, we headed down to water area and for a place that supposedly stays 85 or so degrees, we were freezing. The workers in charge of the slides looked miserable and didn't look to ensure regulations. One of slides was broken too. Overall water park was most fun part.
After we finished in the water park, we went back to the room and had a very uncomfortable sleep on the HORRIBLE pillows. My neck hurt so bad when I woke up.
When we checked out of hotel to complain about everything, the customer service was terrible. The woman told us to simply note our complaints on a survey we would receive and "have a nice day". No compensation, no discount nothing! We won't be visiting this place again nor will we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emmam731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    1,340
    796
    350
    244
See reviews for
3,689
47
3
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Met my friend and her daughter there with my kids for a weekend. She had never been to Williamsburg, so that made the trip exciting.
I have to say up front that the kids all said this was one if the best trips ever and loved the wizard adventure and amazing indoor water slide. So, that part was great.
What I don't like about this place is that when we reserved for 6 they put us all in the same room and called it a "suite". But don't be fooled its just one room with a little cave like place for the kids to sleep. The beds were uncomfortable and the room was small. Of course, the adults were the only ones who noticed as the kids were having sooo much fun. I suggest you go here for a couple days, then try a nicer place for the adults.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We just came back from a little getaway to the Great Wolf Lodge in Williamsburg. I have an 8 year old son. He had a great time there! The waterpark was fun. The lifeguards were EXTREMELY attentive! Food options were very good and they do not hit you over the head on the prices! Our room was big and comfortable...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbud324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Those employees which were encountered were well trained...yet let me express those that were encountered- very few staff all around the place during a busy November weekend with a ridiculously long check-in resembling a cattle corraling. Perhaps they require a more pronounced uniform- especially within the water park area. The waterpark is not a destination- only a day's worth of fun for the small. Water Country and even King's Dominion's facilities are much more grandiose- though not covered as this one- which appears to be the draw. Beware to those with auditory defensiveness- this was absolutely painful for me- the yelling reverberates around the metal structures with a constant buzz....this however is loved by many repeat customers, with my own 10 year old child desiring to go back soon- ugh!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank travelingfoodiefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the resort. There are lots to do enjoyed the arcades and various activities there. It had restaurants and a walmart right around the corner. The water park was awesome and family really enjoyed the loft room that we had. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yours66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place used to be good, with friendly manners. Nowadays it is all about making sure rooms are all full (and yet not enough staff to clean the rooms on time). The staff just disses your questions with memorized excuses.

We are not coming back here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ugurbjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I was holding my breath a little due to the high price I paid when booking. I even made the mistake of booking on a busy holiday weekend. HOWEVER, I am so impressed with this stay. First of all, the water park is VERY accommodating. They let you in early the day of your arrival and let you in to the water park until close on the day of your departure. (Still have to check out of the room but there are plenty of restrooms to change. Just pack your changing clothes separately, and grab an extra bag for your wet clothes.).

They make everything so convenient. Your wrist band doubles as your room key. You add money to your account and they'll scan it for purchases. That was so convenient when we didn't want to pack personal belongings at the water park! There is just so much to do! At an extra cost they have a Magiquest scavenger hunt that the kids go around the hotel and do. They have free kids club events in the lobby. I know its a little thing, but they even have stools in the lobby bathrooms so the kids can use them when washing their hands. Little things like this get my attention.
Each staff member was pleasant. Yes, the rooms can use some updating, but I found everything clean and modern. Look forward to booking again! This is a great family facility.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Davijuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
594 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.5 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 549 East Rochambeau Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2148
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are home to Virginia’s premier 79,000 square foot indoor entertainment area featuring our water park, bear track landing. The indoor water park features a 4-story, 12 level tree fort with 1000 gallons of water and dumps down every few minutes. The water park also features a gigantic indoor wave pool, eight water slides, including 3 tube slides, three kiddie slides and two body slides. In addition we have a zero-depth entry children’s pool, indoor pool, two oversized hot tubs, an endless lazy river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Williamsburg
Great Wolf Lodge Williamsburg Va
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing