We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the kids, A little pricey if you dont max out your rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for the kids, A little pricey if you dont max out your rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed from 3-5th of July. Check in was fast since we arrived around 7PM ( rooms available at 4PM) and we only had an hour or so until the water park closed at 9PM. me and my son had no issues riding down the tube rides it felt like not that many people were in the water park! We stayed in the kid cabin suite that had more than enough space for the 3 of us. My son had his own set of bunks and his own T.V all the rooms had balconies essential to dry off your clothes to use for the next day.
Pros: Great for kids. no sun screen needed unless you decide to go outside in the swimming pool. Water park have toddler areas and individual tube rides that you or 2 people can ride. Have family rides that can accommodate 4 people. There is a wave pool and surfing attraction. When your done with the water do the Magi Quest its adventurous and keeps the kids going the rest of the night. The hotel has a "quiet hour" which was great. The hotel has arcades, fitness center, restaurant and dunkin donuts. You can even celebrate your kids party's here. Magic Quest its an adventure if your knees and feet are up to climbing stairs..

Cons: The price! but if you max out the number of guest in your room its kind of worth it. you get a hotel and a water park price in one. so don't get a king bear suite that has 2 floors for an arm and a leg for 2 people. Restaurant is great. ( we didn't eat here this time) But the price isn't but its convenient. Its buffet and adults are 20 dollars kids 11 under are 5 dollars. We ate all our food outside the lodge to save some money,

Would stay again if the price is right. Usually during off season. We had a fun time. We ate breakfast at IHOP which is less than 5 minutes down the road. There are restaurants nearby within a 10 minute drive if you wish to eat out.

Room Tip: If you decide to play Magic Quest ( I would do break up the water park) stay in the 3rd or 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAMERV20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    1,207
    705
    319
    219
See reviews for
3,205
43
1
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My family visited this property for the second time in June 2013. The check-in process was very smooth and were allowed to enter our room earlier than 4 pm. Last summer, two of the slides were not working and the total experience was lacking. This summer was much better...all of the attractions were open! our daughters built GWL characters and bought outfits for them. We visited the arcade both days after the water park closed. There are eateries located within the lodge, but if you wish to dine outside the lodge there are restaurants nearby. We stayed in a Loft suite with a balcony view that overlooked the outdoor pools and attractions. Our stay was super!

Helpful?
Thank MsPearl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went with another family and stayed in one of their two bedroom suites for one night. There was plenty of room for the 8 of us! The two older girls (both 10) were free to roam the inside water park and we hardly saw them! The other two girls (2.5 years, and 9 months) also enjoyed our stay, and took advantage of the kiddie pool and small water features. Basically everything except for the water park was extra, but the girls were satisfied with the park (they didn't even ask to do any of the other activities). We took advantage of the fact that we could use the waterpark the day of check in and check out; it was a decent amount of time, I could see them staying interested for maybe one additional day, but not much more than that. Great for a weekend getaway with the kids!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mixie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Pros: This is a nice place to take the pre-teen kids because of the water park. The most popular section of it is indoors so it's great to not worry about the weather or putting on sunscreen all day. It's large enough that we didn't experience overcrowding. It was very busy but not so much as to be a hassle. Our kids spent hours in the water and slept well each night. The food is descent but a little pricey. The restaurant next door, Jungle Jims, is part of GWL and is a pretty descent themed eatery. The lifeguards are very vigilant and plentiful. I never worried about pool safety. GWL is located close to other restaurants so families have a decent choice of restaurants outside the lodge area. It was quiet at night, the GWL has posted quiet hours which really helps.

Cons: Traffic in the parking lot is dangerous. I observed cars speeding in the parking lot four times over a three day period and one appeared to be an employee. These cars were going way too fast to be able to stop if a child or parent walked out from between the cars. Management needs to install speeds bumps as soon as possible. The resort is well used but not dirty. A refurbishment would do wonders for the atmosphere. We had a king royal room. It was fairly large and comfy but a little dated. Our room was clean but the area outside our balcony was not picked up. There were a couple kids bathing suits and shorts lying in the yard during our stay. It didn't bother us enough to complain, but the lack of attention to detail was noticeable. The staff was generally friendly but I could tell they weren't very motivated. I heard bad language a few times to include the f-bomb. It wasn't directed at any guests, just staff talking to each other in the hallway.

Overall we had a good stay. Nothing was bad enough to say I'd never go back, but we'll limit our stay to two nights. That's about all the time we need for the kids to enjoy the water park.

Room Tip: Our room was 1013 which is about as far away from the indoor water park as you can get. We saw a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LokiR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is kids paradise! My son loved it from the moment we pulled up and he saw the giant wolf statues in front of the lodge. I loved the fact that there is a Wal-Mart close by in case you forget something at home. The water park was great fun for adults and kids. There's a Starbucks and Duncan Donuts inside the water park and also a pizza place. My suggestion is to bring enough snacks and items to make sandwiches to save money. Our light went out in the bathroom, maintenance replaced the bulb within a few hours. Overall this was well worth the 3 hour trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geach80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great concept and a well planned facility in a great part of the country ... the family suite was nice and cozy with the exception of really small toilets ... the water park was really great and we had a lot of fun ... but somewhere the experience really falls apart ...
I do not remember the last time when we went to a hotel and felt so unwanted ... everything about the property was purely mechanical ... while it is true that we did not really have any specific complaint but just felt there was no warmth ... we did not find a single staff member acknowledging our presence in the 2 nights we were there leave alone wish or smile ... I wish the people who run this place realize that it is always the people who make a property great and not the other way around ... we left extremely disappointed but there was really no reason why it should have been this way ... especially with the kind of great concept and property that is there .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, LA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The only reason we stayed was our granddaughter. Although it is a bit from Williamsburg, even so our granddaughter loved it. We very seldom saw her. (She is 15 yrs. old) She had a blast. I even saw younger children running around the place without parental supervision. Even with this our rooms were very quite.The staff was very sweet an always seemed to enjoy their job. The life guards would not stand still, they were very observant. Now on that note, if it was just me and my husband we wouldn't stay there. We are older and would enjoy to stay inside of Colonial Williamsburg. Erica at the front desk was the best. Hope she is rewarded well within her company for her service.

Room Tip: This is mostly for younger adults with children. Also not very close to Colonial Williamsburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
5.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
5.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 549 East Rochambeau Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2148
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are home to Virginia’s premier 79,000 square foot indoor entertainment area featuring our water park, bear track landing. The indoor water park features a 4-story, 12 level tree fort with 1000 gallons of water and dumps down every few minutes. The water park also features a gigantic indoor wave pool, eight water slides, including 3 tube slides, three kiddie slides and two body slides. In addition we have a zero-depth entry children’s pool, indoor pool, two oversized hot tubs, an endless lazy river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Williamsburg
Great Wolf Lodge Williamsburg Va
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing