We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service worse than you'de expect”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Service worse than you'de expect”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

things go wrong, and lots was going wrong this weekend- the waterpark breaks, the lobby show doesn’t work, rooms aren’t ready, credit card machines don’t work… and all of this would had been fine, had the staff tried to communicate and address the issue, not hide from problems. My impression is that Great Wolf Lodge is run by teenagers with little adult leadership, which might be fine at a $19 waterpark, but not when our room cost more than $400 for the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,506
    1,313
    779
    341
    242
See reviews for
3,596
46
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked GWL in Virginia at the spur of the moment trip between DC and NC. We got a great deal online and booked for the middle of the week, 3rd week of May. It was incredibly quiet and was, we were told, the quiet season. NO waiting in line for any of the water slides, not overly crowded, no trouble finding a table or chairs at the waterpark.

We arrived early and had no issues getting into our room and beginning our time at the waterpark. The room was average for a hotel. 2 beds, pull out sofa, table and chairs and balcony. Large counter for supplies plus fridge and microwave. Lots of toiletries for the kids which was fun. I was surprised they didn't have special hangers or even an extra spot to hand wet swim gear (either in the bathroom or outside). I found it to be fairly clean and we did often travel from the waterpark to the room in barefeet. This is acceptable, I am told, except in the restaurant. We did see housekeeping staff cleaning all of the railings and banisters, etc. in the public spaces 2 times during our stay which was nice to see.

My son (age 8) loved the magiquest game. I booked the birthday special online which included the game, wand, topper, belt, iice creame voucher and a birthday sign for the door. He loved every minute of it and I found that to be a better deal than buying it all separate as the individual prices might have made me re-consider. It is pricey but worth it for the kids that enjoy adventure. Some of the quests and adventures are hard so adult help or even staff assistance might be needed. Magiquest is shut down promptly at 9pm and comes back on at 8:30am. Nice that you don't have to fight with your kid to play the adventure at 11pm when they can't sleep!

I always find pools to be too cold and was pleasantly surprised by the water here. The wave pool is very chilly but the rest was quite nice. Family hot tub is a lower temp than the adult tub as well. The outdoor area was opening the following weekend so it would have been nice to enjoy that too but, maybe next time. Lifeguards all seemed to be friendly bu focused on the job at hand - keeping everyone safe.

Pizza Hut express has closed and been replaced with Dunkin Donuts. We enjoyed a decent breakfast there and had dinner at the IHOP down the street. we did have fudge and ice cream at the shop downstairs which was quite yummy.

We loved that we didn't need to carry room cards or credit cards/cash with us - the wrist bands that you can use to open your door or charge to the room (and the kids can have ones that do not charge to the room BTW).

There is fridge and microwave so bring bottles of water and snacks for in the room if on a budget. You can't take any food or beverage in the waterpark but its nice to have stuff in your room when the day is done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I take our kids here every year. Great wolf lodge has so much to do and its all indoors which is great so you don't have to worry about the weather. There is a super Wal-Mart next door which is a 2 min drive where you can get all your snacks for your stay. The waterpark is great, my kids love the magic quest. There is so much to do here your kids will have a ball.

Helpful?
1 Thank KWimbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the Memorial Day weekend and really enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the Grizzly Bear Suit that easily accommodated our five children and two adults. The suite also included a pull-out sofa that can sleep two as well, but the pull-out sofa mattress is wrapped in plastic. The room was clean but could use some renovations. The wallpaper is well outdated and torn. Also, be forewarned: quiet-hours are from 11pm-7am. We thought the occupants above us were going to fall through the ceiling and into our room. The 9pm wrestling and racket that came from the room above prompted numerous calls to the front desk. The front desk staff were very professional and apologetic, but after the third call we were told there was nothing they could do but send security to ask the occupants to tone it down but if it was after 11pm the occupants would be asked to leave. Until then we would have to be patient but that is challenging when others rudeness impact your opportunity for rest. All in all we had a great time but Great Wolf Lodge should rethink their quiet-hours policy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillard, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We checked in on Sunday June 1st. We were with our Daughter, Son-In-Law and grand kids. We had requested specific room location but it wasn't ready when we checked in at 4pm. We asked about getting the room we had requested but were told no other rooms of the type we wanted were clean. It was 4 in the afternoon, check in time, I would have expected all the rooms should have been clean by that time. The young lady checking us in was very plesant but really didn't offer us anything else. The room we got truned out to be a alright in the long run. It was on the 4th floor so there was very little noise. There was a negative aspect to this room was the AC could not keep up with the heat generated during the day. We were given two box fans to move the air around. The maintenance crew was very prompt in getting the fans but the AC sould have worked better. The listed ammenities were there and in working order, but the expensive was very high. I equate this hotel to a curise ship, where you have to be very careful with your money. You can find yourself broke in a hurry. The water park was huge and never really filled up even though the hotel was almost filled. We tried the hotel restruant the first night but decided to go to the local places becuase they were a far better value. Also since the main resturant was a buffet children were able to reach a lot of the items. My Son-In-Law saw a couple kids having a field day with the desserts. They were putting their hands on everything in reach. The staff did nothing to stop them. The sweets and pizza weren't gormet but pretty good. The biggest disappointment was the room staff, they didn't seem to be up to the task of keeping all those rooms clean. Also the room furniture should have been thrown out years ago. Everything but the beds were very uncomfortable. It was like sitting on planks of wood. The beds were very nice and very comfotable . Also they had plenty of pillows. All and all wasn't bad. It was a good family hotel, definatly not the top of the line. My wife and I wouldn't go there again unless it was with our grand childern.

Room Tip: Not sure how to crack this nut. We had a specific room request but it wasn't ready a check in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our second visit to a Great Wolf Lodge and this time at the Williamsburg, VA location which had more amenities than the Ohio location. We stayed a Monday night for my son's 5th birthday. Kids are 9, 5, and 2. Property was about 50% occupied so we were able to get the best room available and the water park was wide open. My children had an absolute great time in the water park. The weather was nice so the doors to the outside were open as well. Nice outdoor pool too.

We were able to check in and get our room at 1pm which was great. We had no issues with the room, (Kid Cabin) 1 Queen Bed, a bunk bed and another kid twin type, also pull out couch. All were comfy no issues. Staff was overall very good. The only negatives were room above us kids were jumping off the beds onto the floor until 11pm or so. Also was able to do a late check out of 2pm without paying the additional $55. Besides that the price per night is very high for what you get but this is now a Publicly Traded Company so it's all about the stock price. Look for special rates/codes via internet search to bring price down and try to avoid the weekend crowds. Will make for a much more positive experience than many of the prior reviews I feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My family and I have been to Great Wolf 3 times in the past year. My kids are not school age though and we have taken advantage of going at off peak times. This is obviously the best time to go. We have always had good experiences.

Rooms - The rooms are not stellar. The beds are average and they have been replacing the old tv's with flat screens. We had a flat screen during our last visit. The furniture is dated but why people get wound up over the condition of furniture when you spend little time in your room, is beyond me. However, I have always found the rooms to be clean. So some of the reviews complaining about dirty rooms surprised me.
We always get a family suite and there is a larger counter and refrigerator and a couch area. Perfect for a family of 4.

Waterpark - The waterpark is awesome, but even at low peak times there is hardly anywhere to sit. What is nice is that the wrisbands have the electronic chip. SO you can go down there with only your bathing suit. They provide towels but they are very thin and small. We usually bring a few of our own beach towels.

If you go in the winter over a weekend... prepare for it to be crowded. You may have to wait for tubes, that is just the way it is. But I would plan on getting up right at 9 AM to take advnatage of the early morning and then go from 7-9PM in the evening when it tapers off agian. Be smart and not a sheep. Don't follow the crowd everywhere. Its also Willimasburg, plenty of other activities to take advnatage of during the day.

Food - I do agree with most of the posts that the food is a rip off. Don't eat at the restaurant there. Way over priced. There is a restaurant ,Jungle Jims on teh same lot, that is reasonable and a ton of other stuff within a short drive. Since all the rooms have a min-fridge go to the walmart down the street and buy a gallon of milk and cereal. Eat and your room and save money. Also its VA, you can buy beer and wine in WalMart. Hubby and I buy a 6 pack and drink in our room after the kids are asleep. I will say that the hotel bar does have some happy hour specials that aren't bad. Last time they had $5 Mai Tais which was a nice treat. We have also bought stuff from teh snack bar in the waterpark that I think is reasonable enough, soft pretzels, etc.

Arcade and Shops - These are a rip off at any resort. Why does this suprise people ?

Spa - I have been to the spa 2 times and got the mini-escape pacakge - facial, massage, and pedicure. I think its a reasonable priced package and have always been pleased with the services.

Overall, we enjoy coming here and usually pair it with Busch Gardens. Just be smart about when you go. IN the winter expect the crowds. But hitting it off peak is glorious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courteliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
713 reviews
5.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 549 East Rochambeau Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2148
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are home to Virginia’s premier 79,000 square foot indoor entertainment area featuring our water park, bear track landing. The indoor water park features a 4-story, 12 level tree fort with 1000 gallons of water and dumps down every few minutes. The water park also features a gigantic indoor wave pool, eight water slides, including 3 tube slides, three kiddie slides and two body slides. In addition we have a zero-depth entry children’s pool, indoor pool, two oversized hot tubs, an endless lazy river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Williamsburg
Great Wolf Lodge Williamsburg Va
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing