We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,442)
Filter reviews
5,442 results
Traveler rating
1,996
1,614
1,013
485
334
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,996
1,614
1,013
485
334
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkwave poolmagic questlife guardsindoor waterparkdunkin donutsloose moosemagiquest gameropes coursegrizzly bear suitebunk bedsgreat family funfamily suitebowling alleyolder kidskids lovelazy river
Filter
Updating list...
4,695 - 4,700 of 5,442 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We went for our second time in 3 years this past March. The waterpark is pretty good, food vastly overpriced (there is a Trader Joe's 7 min away) and the facilities are in need of an upgrade. On our trip 2 years ago things were much newer and impressive. This time there was dirty worn carpet (drenched in commercial Fabreez) The Magi Quest still held the interest of my 10 year old but the game had not been changed much at all in 2 years.

Rooms are fine but for high-end prices charged need new carpets and new paint. There were many water 'displays' that were broken. This place was almost magical when it was new, now it is moving toward an average hotel with a nice water park and dusty animatronics.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for the review, I appreciate the feedback.

Your comments have been noted and shared my team. We will take this into consideration when we make future updates to our lodge.

Best Wishes,
Angie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We usually go to Concord,NC GWL. But only extra 1/2 hour to go to Williamsburg GWL so figured we try. Liked idea of wave rider, was really fun and the lazy river (kinda small in reality). Concord is bigger waterpark by wavepool, more slides and less cramped feeling.

The thing that gets me is how expenisve it is at GWL. We usually stay for just one night (get there early on check-in day and stay late next day so 2 days in waterpark). But between room, magicquest, meals (the buffet was like $80 for 1 adult 3 kids), ice cream, the "one night/two days" costly almost $400-500. And i just saw spring break 2012 rate were $400-$500 JUST FOR THE ROOM.

Hotel is really cool and lots to do (arcade, bowling, spa if you wanted for a sneaky high price). Regular Room is huge (sleep six and not jammed) mini-fridge and microwave. Bed is okay, rooms pretty clean, though wear and tear of kids running around, wet bathingsuits, kids spilling things does show some in most of the GWL rooms I've stayed in.

Park was moderately full, about 10-15 min waits for big rides, but thinner earlier and later in day (a plus is that the slides that go outside (the fully enclosed) are darker a night adding a little more "excitement". Despite being only moderate crowd the wave pool and regular pool seemed quite crowded, and hard to find lounge chairs.

We'll go back, probably to Concord Location though, but I always try to look for off times for cost and to avoid lines.

Thank cd1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The park isn't the biggest indoor I have been too. 2 non raft slides that are average. 2 single or 2 person slides that are avetage to above average. 2 big raft slides that are very good. One is the cone you end up in and the other has lights and music. Small 5ft wave poll, 2 hot tubs, nice size water basketball, little kids are, rope/balance course, and dump bucket pall fort. Enough activities to keep busy. Surf attraction too. All well maintained and easy to get around. Put put golf at extra cost, price a little high. Arcade and for younger kids a magic quest game / scavenger hunt that is very popular. Wolf den and kids camp rooms are nice. No big deal other than bunk beds but, no direct air gets in there. So if warm crank room unit to cool down. Enjoyed stay, cabana rental was great. Locker, chairs, towels, drinks 12 supplied, and tv. Would stay again, just realize big thrill seekers not here. Food prices on par to a little high. Nice staff with clean modest rooms.

    • Value
Thank clpjr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We went for Easter weekend. The good - the kids had a great time, and there's certainly enough to keep them entertained (but rarely for free, with the exception of the clock show and the Easter Egg hunt).

The bad - while the waterpark is advertised at being maintained at 84 degrees (air temperature) year round, it is decidedly colder near the pools for the smaller children (which is where we spent most of our time since our kids are 2 and 4) - we had to bundle up the kids immediately after getting out of the pool because they were freezing. By the end of the weekend, both had colds.

The food is terrible and really expensive - there are a few restaurants close by that are good (the bbq at Pierces was fantastic!), but you really need to do your research and plan ahead for meals. We ended up hitting the nearby walmart for cereal and yogurt for breakfasts and the makings for pbj sandwiches.

Also, oddly, our bed was short-sheeted all three nights of our stay. So I was kept awake by the very disgusting thought of all the germs being passed on by everyone else's dirty feet. Of course, as the mother of two small children, I forgot to have this fixed until bed time, at which point it was too late since the last thing I wanted was to wake the kids up so housekeeping could fix the issue.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanstipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for your honest review. I am sorry to hear that your Easter trip did not exceed your expectations.

Your comments have been noted and shared our Director of Aquatics, Director of Food and Beverage and our Director of Housekeeping.

I hope that you and your family will return so that we can show you a true Great Wolf experience.

Best Wishes,
Angie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We went to Great Wolf Lodge at the beginning of March, with more than a little trepidation. Reviews are mixed, trashing the overall cleanliness and hospitality of the hotel.

I am please to report that the facility met or exceeded our expectations.

Our room was ready in time for our early check-in. It was spacious, if a bit threadbare. The carpet was worn, the bathroom not the newest, but everything functioned properly and seemed clean (although the carpet did have a faded stain.)

On the Sesame Place--Disney World spectrum of children's resorts, I was expecting the experience to be a lot closer to the Sesame Place end of things. Don't get me wrong, ithe folks in Orlando have nothing to worry about, but this place could have sucked a lot harder.

The water park was a blast; our five year old daughter had a wonderful time, and we did, too. The magician in the evening was fun, although the animatronic story that followed was horrfyingly bad (although my daughter enjoyed it- go figure.) A nice arcade, an arts and crafts place for kids to draw...we spent one night there but there was enough to do for two.

Food in the water park was expensive, but not ridiculously so, and the quality was decent.

The buffet for dinner was pricey and underwhelming, but not actively bad. Actually, it suffered a bit from trying to be more than it was; the very basic foods were fine, but there were a lot of attempts at more exotic dishes, and it just didn't work. Don't know if it was the chefs or the ingredients, but they should have stuck to simpler fare.

Overall, with sufficiently low expectations Great Wolf Lodge was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews