We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time For a Good Steak”
Review of Aberdeen Barn

Aberdeen Barn
Ranked #52 of 394 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Time For a Good Steak”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Hubby and I had been to the Aberdeen Barn with friends during the Williamsburg Scottish Games several years ago, and when we finished with a cold day touring the historic area, we both were thinking "steak."
This is an old fashioned steak place with attentive wait staff, good wines and of course, wonderful steak. The meal starts off with one of my favorites, a large pot of soft cheese to spread on the crackers provided. I had to have Hubby move this away from me as I could really fill up on that. Salads to start, mine with house-made blue cheese dressing and warm rolls. We opted to split the Porterhouse steak and were glad we did. This thing looked like the Tuscan steaks brought to the table in Florence. We had a wonderful Virginia cab franc from Breaux Vineyards.
Our server had been working for the Aberdeen Barn for 21 years and we had a fun time with him and the rest of the staff. I was amused at the comment from another reviewer about being stalked. Maybe they should stick with McDonald's. Attentive service is the mark of a fine dining establishment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SidelineObservant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    162
    104
    51
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackstone, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, but OVER THE TOP waiter”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have eaten here a few times and I must say that this time was my least favorite. The food is good, a bit overpriced for the quality, but it is good (I always get the Seafood Trio). However, our waiter was OVER THE TOP with being TOO ATTENTIVE. I have waited on tables for years as a young adult and if it had been up to me, this gentleman needed to be talked to by management. He was stalking the table so much that you couldn't even finish something on your plate without it being taken away. He actually told me to put my glasses away after I was done with the menu. There was not a fork, spoon, napkin, or other item out of place the entire evening because of his hovering. It really was too much!!!! I don't even know how to rate service below b/c Hovering Stalker isn't one of the choices. It's also a very old restaurant and altho' it has been maintained well and is clean, it is dark and has that "old feel".

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Holy cow”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We had an appetizer of bacon wrapped shrimp and scallops, not impressed at all. The Prime Rib was bland and tasteless, my son had the Top Sirloin which was also tasteless. The wife enjoyed the pork chops while the daughter-in-law went safe with a salad and baked potato. Also, they need a new bartender, the Long Island Ice Tea was as bad as the beef products. Service was good but doesn't make up for the quality of the meal. The prices were way to high for the quality of the meal. Over all, a failure!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Didn't eat here, got seated, saw the menu and left.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Sorry, I can't comment on the food, good or bad, but the atmosphere was dark and dreary, prices were high and nothing about this place said, "Casual" or "Moderately priced" or "family". I hate having to use the flashlight on my phone to read the menu! We had been looking for a good steak all day and decided this would be it. Nope! Not when the cheapest thing on the menu is over $20! I hope I don't sound cheap, because I love to eat good food and had some fantastic meals on this trip (see other reviews) but I was not willing to invest that much on a place that looked that dreary. Wound up getting an excellent meal across the road at Chilis! And enjoyed the atmosphere much better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FLYBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Really disappointing experience”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This restaurant really turned us off. Even though there were not that many customers we were put at a table where half our party was staring at a wall, backs to the rest of the restaurant. Our food was not great, the shrimp was overdone and the scallops were under-done and the mahi mahi was tasteless. I had to send my scallops back but when they returned they were not much better and the so-called wine sauce had disappeared. I had to ask for some seafood sauce just to eat some of it. We definitely will not go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Feds294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aberdeen Barn also viewed

 

Been to Aberdeen Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing