We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Christmas lunch”

Shield's Tavern-Colonial Williamsburg
Reserve with OpenTable
Shield's Tavern-Colonial Williamsburg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 393 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Memorable Christmas lunch”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family ate our Christmas lunch here. Top marks for atmosphere, food, entertainment and service. Worth every penny.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    360
    173
    58
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner at Shield's Tavern”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I had reservations for Christmas Dinner at Shield's Tavern. It was a bit pricy at $60.95 per person but as it was a special occasion we didn't mind.

I had the turkey, he had the prime rib. We both had an excellent sweet potato & carrot bisque as an appetizer. The desserts were also very good, particularly the caramel apple pie.

The ambience was pleasant, candles on each table and more traditional colonial seating (the chairs are much lower to the ground than modern chairs). A few entertainers came around, a balladeer and a colonial patron who came to wish us a happy Christmas.

Overall impression: good food with a nice atmosphere, but the food and especially the drinks were a little expensive for what you got.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwiggin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lunch while visiting”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had no wait even though it was the Friday and Saturday before Christmas. The food was delicious, my daughters ate all of their Jefferson Macaroni and Cheese and loved the Beef Patsie. Our service was better on the second day, but it wasn't bad either day. A bit pricey, but we were on holiday and enjoyed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Over priced for the quality of food but you are paying for the atmosphere more than anything. Enjoyed the costumes, the musical entertainment.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Historic Tavern Dining”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

During a visit to Colonial Williamsburg, we decided to play the tourist role to the hilt and opted to take dinner one night at one of the historic taverns located in the village. The furnishings were typical of those commonly found in 18th century public houses (e.g. - the chairs have you sitting somewhat lower than those of the 21st century), the staff dressed in period costume, and the menu featured many dishes popular in the mid-to-late 1700's. There was a musician who wandered around the dining areas playing instruments and music of the era. The food was very good with most of the entrees being in the low to upper $20 range. I found it to be a unique and enjoyable dining experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shield's Tavern-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing