We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Governor's Green
Nearby Hotels
$100
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Powhatan Resort(Williamsburg)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$132
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$109
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$119
$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmill Resort(Williamsburg)
$180
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Williamsburg)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Williamsburg Inn(Williamsburg)
$499
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveler rating
179
168
44
20
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
168
44
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree bedroombedroom unitmini golfbusch gardensindoor poolbilliard roomtime sharegreen resortcolonial williamsburgsales pitchparking passnice resortmovie nightwasher and dryersuper walmartjetted tubtop floor
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 427 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2007

I stayed at the Governor's Green in Williamsburg for a few days in June of 2007 with my extended family as part of my aunt's timeshare week. I've stayed at dozens of timeshare resorts over the past twenty years, and I'd rank this one in the top third.

Recently acquired by Wyndham from the Fairfield company, it was noticeable that they have switched almost none of their information beyond the front sign to reflect this change. The welcome letter in the informational binder was written in 2004, from a company that no longer owns it and with several outdated pieces of information. I was also disappointed by the antiquated and small TVs with poor cable reception, as well as a generally stale and dated feel to our three-bedroom unit. The carpet and furniture really ought to be replaced.

With these few disappointments aside, the rest of our experience at Governor's Green was solid. The layout of the unit was very spacious, with plenty of seating and room for my 12-month-old niece to crawl around. The kitchen was large, with lots of counter space (though the dishwasher was ridiculously loud). The bedrooms were nice, and the master bedroom had a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub.

We could walk out the sliding glass patio door onto a sidewalk that led to the main activity center. The sidewalk curved around the perimeter of several beautiful ponds, and it only took three or four minutes to get to the main building. There was an indoor pool with a hot tub, an outdoor family pool with a hot tub, and an outdoor adults-only pool (which was further away and we never investigated). They had two pool tables, as well as a free miniature golf course. There were about six computers available with internet access for free, which was very convenient.

Overall, it was a nice place to stay. It was certainly less spectacular than many other resorts that we've visited, having aged somewhat without a huge array of amenities. But it had plenty of things to do, plenty of space to live, and close proximity to all of the Williamsburg sites. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank clo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed at the Fairfield at Governors Green for the last week in June. Our 3 bedroom villa was very clean, spacious and well equipped. The kitchen had everything you needed, the washer and dryer were nice to have, and the jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom was awesome! Our kids took baths in it nightly! The grounds were well kept, and the pools were very nice and large enough for the resort. We also enjoyed the free on-site mini-golf but it was often too hot for that until later in the evening. Playgrounds (2 of them) were also a nice feature. We liked the balconies, and our room was on the first floor, so we could sit out and watch them ride the scooters they brought on the pathways. The resort was close and convenient to everything. We visited Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Busch Gardens and Water Country. Many restaurants and stores also nearby.

The only downside to the property is that the man-made ponds attract tons of Canadian geese and ducks. While the kids enjoyed watching them, they make messes everywhere on the walkways and grassy areas. To the resorts credit, the staff was often seen throughout the day cleaning up the walkways.

Overall, a wonderful vacation and nice place to stay. We would definitely stay there again if travelling to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thriftytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

The accomodations are spacious and clean, but dated. Bedspread needed replacing and pillows were foam, which were awful. Feather pillows were not available. We had noisy neighbors and complained, but nothing was done about it. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank JuneSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

What a great time we had over this past weekend. The resort is very large and very pretty! The beds are alittle soft and if you like your own pillow you should bring it with you. There is plenty of room for your whole family to stay. We had a LARGE 2 bedroom 2 bath condo with a very large kitchen. My husband and I loved the Very large bedroom with our own private jacuzzi tub in our room. Along side of that tub there is a Large shower and a potty with a sliding door. The kids ( 8, 6, and 3) stayed in the other bedroom with their very own bathroom and 2 sinks. Each room has a tv. The living room has a TV, VCR and DVD player. Our deck looked out over a pond with two fountains that lite up at night. There were ducks all around to look at and watch. The whole condo itself is very clean and very big. Very close to Bush Gardens and shopping.

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank RachelBigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Had Problems 1st of all with Expedia & our confirmation which was orginally with Kingsgate Resort. Finally got that all straightened away after hours of phone calls between Expedia & The Resort. Then got a call from Governors Green that they will upgrade us to their hotel which is newer & plusher. I was told that the 2 bedroom condo had (1) king size bed, & (2) queen size beds in the 2nd room & then a (1) queen sofa. Got to the resort & it looked beautiful. Checked in & everyone was friendly. Unpacked our car & got up to our unit & walked in to a big disappointment. The condo was still filthy. It still was not cleaned. Plus the spare room had 2 beds but they were not queen, they were 2 doublebeds. Not good for (2) couples staying. Went backdown to check in & they apologized & they did take care of us. After that It was very nice. We ended up with a 3 bedroom condo which was clean & beautiful. The dryer needed to be fixed, had something rattling in it & the master bath the toilet made loud sounds when flushing. We just overlooked those problems, they were minor after the other problems we had with the reservations. I would go back. We didn't get a chance to use the other facilities, but walked around them when we were checking out & everything looked clean & well taken care of. The activity person was very helpful with getting us directions from the internet when we asked him for help. All in all the vacation was great. WIlliamsburg is a Great place to Vacation. Sometimes you have a couple little hiccups.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jncfowler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews