We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Your Own Pillow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bring Your Own Pillow”
Reviewed June 2, 2007

The accomodations are spacious and clean, but dated. Bedspread needed replacing and pillows were foam, which were awful. Feather pillows were not available. We had noisy neighbors and complained, but nothing was done about it. Would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    159
    41
    19
    12
See reviews for
233
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

What a great time we had over this past weekend. The resort is very large and very pretty! The beds are alittle soft and if you like your own pillow you should bring it with you. There is plenty of room for your whole family to stay. We had a LARGE 2 bedroom 2 bath condo with a very large kitchen. My husband and I loved the Very large bedroom with our own private jacuzzi tub in our room. Along side of that tub there is a Large shower and a potty with a sliding door. The kids ( 8, 6, and 3) stayed in the other bedroom with their very own bathroom and 2 sinks. Each room has a tv. The living room has a TV, VCR and DVD player. Our deck looked out over a pond with two fountains that lite up at night. There were ducks all around to look at and watch. The whole condo itself is very clean and very big. Very close to Bush Gardens and shopping.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank RachelBigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedgefield, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Had Problems 1st of all with Expedia & our confirmation which was orginally with Kingsgate Resort. Finally got that all straightened away after hours of phone calls between Expedia & The Resort. Then got a call from Governors Green that they will upgrade us to their hotel which is newer & plusher. I was told that the 2 bedroom condo had (1) king size bed, & (2) queen size beds in the 2nd room & then a (1) queen sofa. Got to the resort & it looked beautiful. Checked in & everyone was friendly. Unpacked our car & got up to our unit & walked in to a big disappointment. The condo was still filthy. It still was not cleaned. Plus the spare room had 2 beds but they were not queen, they were 2 doublebeds. Not good for (2) couples staying. Went backdown to check in & they apologized & they did take care of us. After that It was very nice. We ended up with a 3 bedroom condo which was clean & beautiful. The dryer needed to be fixed, had something rattling in it & the master bath the toilet made loud sounds when flushing. We just overlooked those problems, they were minor after the other problems we had with the reservations. I would go back. We didn't get a chance to use the other facilities, but walked around them when we were checking out & everything looked clean & well taken care of. The activity person was very helpful with getting us directions from the internet when we asked him for help. All in all the vacation was great. WIlliamsburg is a Great place to Vacation. Sometimes you have a couple little hiccups.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — pictures on the internet did not match rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — confirm your reservations with the hotel after you make them from expedia
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jncfowler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

We absolutely loved our stay here. The unit (a 2B, 2BA) was huge, nicely decorated, spotless, comfortable and had everything we needed. The master suite had a jacuzzi tub, the kitchen was nice and big, there's a washer and dryer in the unit (and they include 3 boxes of laundry soap, which is handy). Our balcony faced a little pond with a fountain in the middle.

In between trips to Colonial Williamsburg (5 minutes away), Jamestown (about 10 minutes), Yorktown (20 minutes) and Busch Gardens (20 minutes) we played mini-golf, used the indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and the kids rode the scooters they had brought all up and down the pathways. There is no internet access in the unit, but you can sign up for computers in the main activity building (free), or use the free wireless anywhere in the building. There are also tennis courts, pool tables and an adult-only pool. Down the street a ways (3 minute drive), at the Fairfield Kingsgate, they have an awesome video game parlor (all the coolest machines) that's free for guests (at our hotel they said it would cost us $4/unit/day, but they let us in free when we got there). The kids LOVED it.

There's no restaurant, but it's not far from a bunch of restaurants up the street. There's a KMart nearby, and a nice grocery store about 5-10 minutes away (Ukrop, but it's not open on Sundays).

We used my sister's time-share week, so as far as they were concerned we were already owners. They did try to sign us up for some talk about how to upgrade or something (I guess), and were a little pushy, but when I said no firmly they let it go.

I would stay here again in a minute. It was great.

  • Liked — Size of unit, variety of on-site activities, proximity to historical sites, video game parlor at partner resort
  • Disliked — no internet in room
  • Tips/Secrets — Bldg. 15 was quiet and had a view of the pond.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank blooberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus,Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We are a family of four; 2 adults, 2 children ages 12 and 5. Our stay at Governors Green was wonderful! The resort was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. We took full advantage of the pools (indoors and outside). I was even able to have some alone time at the adults only pool which was very relaxing. My husband loved the hot tubs which were available by the indoor pool and by the outside adults only pool.
Our 3 bedroom timeshare we stayed in was extemely spacious and well stocked with towels, shampoo, soap and lotions. The fully stocked kitchen was complete with everything you would need to make a full meal if you are inclined to do so. Our balcony overlooked the putting green and one of the two ponds with fountains on the property.
Williamsburg is very family friendly with lots to do for everyone of any age. We toured The Jamestowne Settlement and Colonial Williamsburg. The tours were very interesting and in some cases hands on participation was encouraged to the children. We also drove one hour to Virginia Beach which was fabulous. At night between 17th and 24th ave there is Beach Street USA with many street performers with acts such as bands, juggleing, magicians and singing. We were able to see the fireworks display over the ocean at 10:15 p.m. from the boarwalk at 24th street .
Overall I strongly recomend the Willimsburg experience to family and friends with a stat at Fairfield Williamsburg at Governors Green

  • Liked — cleanliness and spaciousness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank VernaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed at the Fairfield Williamsburg at Governor's Green from Aug 12-19, 2006. This was our first time staying at a timeshare, we rented our week from an owner and would do so again, somewhere different though, only because we don't like to go to the same place twice, we like to see different places and experience different areas. We usually stay at 4-5 star all inclusive resorts down south, so this trip was a bit different, more work involved on our part with shopping for groceries, cooking our meals and doing our own laundry. We are a family of 3; 2 adults and 1 male teenager (18). There was lots to do for everyone; 18 hole mini putt, fairly new tennis court; chipping and putting green; billards; internet access; indoor/outdoor pools, plus a quiet adults only pool with a hot tub. I liked the resort, this would be a good spot with young families to let the kids roam around a bit, it felt very safe. The units were very clean. There was a dishwasher, which saves a lot of time...they even provided the dishwasher tabs. There was a washer/dryer, with a few boxes of Tide. We brought our own dryer sheets. I ran out of Tide and called housekeeping and they brought me more. There was dishwashing soap, paper towels, and toilet tissue. I was surprised at how well stocked the units were. There were lots of towels, a few small bars of soap for handwashing and showering, a few small bottles of shampoo and conditioner. You have to reserve the computers for internet use, 30 mins per family, per day. Although the resort map shows 3 tennis courts, there is only 1, which was disappointing. The tennis courts were popular, we brought our own racquets/balls, but they also provided the racquets/balls. Mini putt was popular, as it's for all ages. On more than 1 day, I witnessed kids chasing the geese and ducks, with the parents watching, even my son was upset. I wish I had reported this to security, but didn't think of it. So PLEASE DO NOT let your kids chase and torture the ducks/geese. This is a nice resort, clean and organized. Front desk and other resort staff were polite and helpful. We were asked a few times about the 'timeshare tour' but we declined each time they asked, we were not interested, they finally gave up asking :) They were persistent though. There are security at the front gate, just keeping an eye on who's coming and going, usually a smile and a quick wave coming and going from the resort. Williamsburg is a very pretty area, lots to see and do for all ages. Prime Outlets is just a few mins away, awesome shopping, something for everyone. We didn't go to Colonial Wiliamsburg, we weren't sure if it was something for us, but we did go to the Jamestown Settlement, more interactive with guided tours, seeing the forts and ships etc was interesting. We drove to VA beach one afternoon, easy drive. There is a nice long boardwalk along the beach, great for walking, biking and rollerblading. They have nice sand too! There is a naval base in the area, SS Oceana, and the planes fly overhead (F14 Tomcats + F18 Hornets). We drove to the naval base area, and parked alongside the road and just watched the planes above our heads, it was so sweet seeing them so close! We golfed 3 days there too; Colonial Golf Course, Golden Horseshoe Green Course and Williamsburg National Golf Course; all nice courses. It was a busy week . We are picky travellers, picky about our resorts, fussy about cleanliness and this resort was a good pick, we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and variety of activities, good location
  • Disliked — Children chasing ducks and geese
  • Tips/Secrets — Book on-site activities early, they are popular and book quickly
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank SOTB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Seven of our family members vacationed in Williamsburg and stayed at Fairfield's Governor's Green in Williamsburg! This is an absolutely gorgeous resort. We stayed in a two-bedroom unit that contained a king-size bed in the master bedroom and two double beds in the second bedroom and a queen-size pull-out sofa bed.

The furniture in our room was gorgeous! It had the colonial feel and was decorated beautifully. The master bedroom was large, and the very large two-room bathroom unit was connected. One part of the bathroom contained a shower/regular bath and the other contained the whirlpool bath. There were two separate sinks in each section with plenty of mirror space. My husband and I loved it!

The second bathroom was also large and had a door that locked off the stall and shower/tub so others could use the sink/dressing area at the same time.

The unit had alot of storage space. This is important as we do like to unpack our clothes when we stay a week or so. There were drawers and dressers for everyone's clothing.

The resort also contains a big, beautiful pool with an outside bar/grill when you get the munchies or get thirsty. You must try their stuffed peppers! They are fabulous! There is also a putt-putt golf course at the resort.

The location was very convenient to Jamestown, Yorktown, Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and the water park, and President's Park.

The resort also has a great concierge service that books day trips via a charter bus to Washington DC. This is well worth the time if you want to see Washington. They can also arrange tickets for you at discounts.

Overall - a wonderful experience! I can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank mmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#22 of 73 in Williamsburg
967 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Property: Wyndham Governor's Green
Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing