We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great size condo for William and Mary graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Much better than renting a hotel room. We had a nice stay while attending college graduation. Kids swam in pool and played mini golf but our time was not really spent at resort. We had a 3 bedroom and had 8 people.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Resort Manager at Wyndham Governor's Green, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you, vacation22, for taking the time to share your nice comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to enjoy the resort's pools and miniature golf. Thank you again for your time and consideration. We hope you visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sean Griffith
sean.griffith@wyn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 401 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were staying with family that were RCI members and they seemed to be frustrated with the push to attend meetings or be charged a $60 fee. I don't think I would like to be faced with this pressure at every stay.

The beds were too soft for my liking, but I did like the layout of the bedrooms. Kitchen seemed to be well furnished. The LR furniture was obviously cheap as the foam cushions were too soft and it was difficult to get out of them.

I think I would try another location for the next visit.

Room Tip: Lower level--Noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

After a grueling 11 hour drive from new york city (seems like everyone on the east coast was on the road for spring break) We just wanted to get to the hotel... settle in... and relax
Being that traffic was horrendous.. we did not check in until almost 8pm. We called the front desk at various points during the car ride and they were very helpful and reassured us that the room that is reserved for us will still be there regardless of what time we arrive. Very pleasant!
We pulled up and was greeted by a very pleasant individual at the front gate who gave me the info i needed to find the main building.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful, and explained everything in great detail. We got to the room and it was a nice size 3 bedroom in building 14.. right out back was the putting green... golf bliss! the condo was nice and clean, only downpart was a few nails sticking out from the carpet where it met the kitchen tile. we hammered it down with a butt end of a knife and covered it in tape so the lil ones would not get hurt. Also on the sofa we noticed that it was in need of replacing as there were nails sticking out of it as well. the sofa we did not notice until the last day but we let the front desk know. they said it should be taken care of. I have confidence that it will be.
the grounds are immaculate.... i felt like i was in a resort in orlando... it had everything to keep the kids entertained.
attractions are all within a stones throw of the resort which was a huge plus... shopping, restaurants, theme park. all centralized... the last thing i need on vaca is to be in a car half the time.
my family had a fantastic time... and is looking forward to our next visit there. its top notch.
the only thing i was put off by was from one of the gals at the marketing desk where you get the parking pass. She asked for my name (i am of asian descent keep in mind) and she immediately commented on how "i must be related to the other xxx family here... cause you look like them" i was like... "uh... nope.. sorry..." but i didn't make a stink, and then the comment abt my accent...and "what is it?"... "uhhhh... new york..." i replied (mind you....if you nver saw me.. you would never think im asian... lets just put it that way..)

oh yea.. and one last thing... the beds are terrible... we stayed in a room with a king bed... and it was terribly sunken/overused... you can start out on the sides.. and you will automatically roll towards the middle.. thats how bad they were. not a dealbreaker tho....i was able to tolerate it

but we love the place and will definatley be back!!!

Room Tip: building 14 was convenient.... ample parking... putting green.. stones throw from the activity cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We just returned from our stay here. To be candid, the resort and facilities are very good. The activities staff was friendly and very, very helpful. I arrived on our morning of departure and the friendly young woman from isle of wight county helped me print off my boarding passes. Indoor pool was nice. billiards tables were fun. Units were well maintained and clean. liked that each unit had washer and dryer as well as full kitchens. location is ideal. Grounds were super fun and very walk friendly and kid friendly. Maintenance staff was fast and efficient. We had one of our kids lock both doors to the bathroom and they came and unlocked it within 2 minutes. The only gripe I have and it is a big one is with the high-pressure sales staff when you check-in. On check-in day, you go through the normal check-in process. Before you can get your parking tag you have to visit with the sales people. I have been through this before at other resorts many times. I knew the drill. You go tell them you are not interested and politely listen to them for a couple minutes then leave. Not here, they badger you about setting up an appointment for their sales meeting. When I refused politely the first 5 or 6 six times I finally bluntly told the haggard sales woman that I was not going to attend and that I would appreciate not hearing from them any more. She was aghast, it seemed hard for her to comprehend that I really just wanted to spend time with my family, not listen to her. It was pretty intense. She even followed me out of the building. This isn't it. A few days later, I was in the same building [it is connected to the activities building] the same woman approached me and started all over again. It was really frustrating and uncomfortable. Wyndham needs to back off the high-pressure stuff pretty quick or they will lose a lot of return customers to this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent two nights at the Wyndham Governor's Green as part of an exchange through RCI where my wife is an owner. We were well aware we weren't using the full week, the exchange didn't cost much in the way of points and it served our needs for two nights at Wiliamsburg with our teenage daughter. We are accustomed to avoiding the time share pitch and the "oh go get your welcome packet' ploy as we stay at Sheraton Vistana quite a bit where after you say no they leave you alone, and you go on your way. We've stayed at Island Links, the Manhattan Club, and the Villages at loon and have always been able to say "no thank you' to the welcome packet and go on our way. Not here. Here they include your PARKING PASS so you have to go to the timeshare desk inorder to get your parking pass... in other words, they hold it hostage. My wife went over for her pass and was given a form to fill out asking for our household income-which of course is completely unneccessary for a parking pass. she declined and declined until I finally went over and said "we are only here for 48 hours let's go" she finally grimly handed the parking pass over but not the "welcome packet" what a cold greeting.

the resort was nice and well kept, the rooms were clean and spaceious and well laid out . We were only there two days and it rained quite a bit so we didn't use the out door pool or the indoor pool (which seemed VERY small compared to the kind of pools we are used to in the RCI network). The security guards were honestly the friendliest people there. there weren't any real amenities like a little store or any restaurant although the resort is seconds from the millions of chains and independent restaurants in Williamsburg. it's a bit removed from Colonial Williamsburg itself but not inconvenient to get to.

the beds were like big marshmallows which swallowed us whole-- It was not conducive to a good nights sleep. the bathrooms were clean and spacious and our teenage daughter enjoyed the jacuzzi tub. The furniture though reosonably attractive was decidedly uncomfortable. If you're doing a timeshare exchange in the area I think you can do much better. it was fine for a few nights but I think we would have been bored for a week there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a 3 night stay in a three bedroom, two bathroom condo. We arrived at about 10.30pm after a long day driving from New York. Because we were so late, the Lady on the gate checked us in and issued a key with the proviso we got to reception by 11 am for a full check-in.

After reading some less than favourable reviews, I was rather apprehensive especially as we had a ground floor apartment. But it was excellent. Very spacious, well appointed and no noise. We had a great night's sleep and went to reception. I was vary wary of being forced to the sales 'breakfast' but they really weren't that pushy. They invited us to a lunch and then breakfast but didn't push at all after we declined.

We really liked Wyndham Governors Green - especially as we got a great price from FlipKey. If I really had to complain about something - there was a hole in the settee that the foam was coming out of - but it certainly didn't affect our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motherlilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have resided at Governor's Green twice back-to-back, in 2010, and 2011. We loved both experience, especially with our child. It is kids friendly, amenities are modern, and well kept. Our last vacation in 2011 wasn't without incident, because my wife had fallen at a neighboring resort, and had to visit the ER. The handicap bathroom became very useful at that point. That helped a great deal!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olubunmi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#23 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Patriots Place
Wyndham Patriots Place
#35 of 73 in Williamsburg
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $114 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing