We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay in Williamsburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay in Williamsburg”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We decided on a long weekend to Williamsburg and Busch Gardens to take my teen son and his friend (4 of us) to have fun at that beautiful theme park. We don't like the chain hotels, so did a quick search on VRBO , read good things about Wyndham Governors Green, and cross checked against Trip Advisor reviews (our go to site). Got a good rate on a 2 BR, 2 bath (w Jacuzzi tub !) and took the plunge. Master BR w a nice King bed, other BR 2 queens. Also had a queen Sofa in LR. This place, Wyndham Gov Green exceeded our exectations. The landscaping is gorgeous, the outdoor pool big and well kept, the indoor pool heated, along with the indoor and outdoor hot tubs. Nice billiard room and Gym/weight room as well ! Easy check in at 9pm after a 7 hour drive from Northern NJ. A gentle reminder from the staff to attend their complimentary breakfast , and also a $70 Amex gift card to come pick up, but we declined both as we didn't want to spend even a minute hearing from Sales Reps. No pressure from the staff, so all was good. They even offered a free 4th night ,but we were planning on leaving Sunday morning no matter what. All the furnishings were clean and well kept, as well as the silverwear, sheets, blankets etc. All appliances worked great, the place looked fairly new overall. Only about a 10-15 minute drive to Busch Gardens along local Rte 60. Many restaurants only a few minutes a way, although we had our own breakfast at the condo. The boys loved the Busch Gardens Hallow Scream, both day and night. They also loved the mini golf and Swimming pools here at Wynd Gov Green. Next trip anywhere we will check VRBO again to see if there are any Wyndam sites nearby with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeAbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    160
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
238
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wendell, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great place to stay to take in the history of Willaimsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown. The rooms are well laid out with well kept grounds. Many amenities onsite, but no restaurant. However only a short drive to many restaurants and attractions. Indoor & outdoor pool with activities for those who don't want to keep getting the car and just relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLFriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay - very spacious rooms and a lovely environment. Perfect place to stay for easy reach of all the main attractions in the area - plus golf courses. On arriving, which was very late, as we had just travelled across the pond and then 3 hrs drive - we just wanted our key and relax, but we were approached regarding (timeshare) - we were just not interested. At least they didn't push the subject.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern US
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've been coming to Governor's Green yearly for about 7 years now and the property is showing it's age. We always stay in a 3-bedroom unit - this time in 1622. The sofa cushions were splitting at the seams. Coffee table was coming off one of it's legs. Mold (not much but there) behind the sink handle and tub door tracks. The wing chairs were visibly dirty. There were no kitchen trash bags and despite the fact that we mentioned this at the "owner's sales visit" they never appeared. Door was "sticky" and hard to open. When we got there it was stuffy and warm. The refrigerator and freezer were warm - it took about 14 hours to get to an appropriate temperature. Clearly the room had not been readied for guests. Also, the wireless in the apartment was extremely slow - there's no reason for that in this day and age. We'll be back because my friend is a Wyndham timeshare owner but I hope they don't get back on the ball.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you unload the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravyn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a 4 night stay at the Wyndham and loved the area. The hotel itself is clean and tidy and service was very good indeed.

Our issues were with the build quality of the hotel - we had a ground floor 2 bed apartment which pleased us on check in as we had lots of luggage. The first night there we needed to call reception who had to send security to the apartment directly above us as it sounded like they were having a party. In fact they had just fallen asleep with their TV still on. Each time they opened a drawer we could hear, if they talked we could hear, if they flushed the lavatory we also heard it.

We asked to move but as they were fully booked no other rooms were available. When checking out we again mentioned these issues and were told it is an issue they have with all of the buildings and a common complaint. They advised that if we stayed again they would put us on the top floor.

We wouldn't return but can honestly say the staff were very good and is simply not their fault.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewdayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Governor's Green, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel itself and the great service. We apologize for the noise issues you encountered due to your unit location, but we are glad to know that the staff was responsive to you providing them this information. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We rented two 2br condos through vrbo.com. We did not realize that it is a time share sales place so it was a little off-putting to be bombarded with sales pitches during the check in process. There were some mistake on our dates reserved but the resort wasn't able to help. We arrived at 6pm and our room was not ready. Odd. They gave us keys anyway and told us that there would be someone taking inventory in the room but that it would be quick. When we got there, housekeeping was busy at work dirty linens everywhere (we had to kick sheets and towels out of the way to get in the door). They were nowhere near done so we left and went to dinner. The walls were extremely thin and it sounded like we had a family of elephants staying above us. Also, our room smelled like cigarettes an when I stepped out on our patio I was bombarded by horrible smoke that immediately made our room stink even more. The balconies are very close to each other and our neighbors were heavy smokers. Yuck. The room was very clean and the beds extremely comfy. Loved having laundry in the room! Our room was not as nicely appointed as the room used by others in our group. They had granite (perhaps faux?) and a more updated kitchen. Some of the furnishings showed wear and tear. Would I stay here again? Yes. As a guest and not a potential time share customer. The activities and grounds are great...very family friendly. We loved the close proximity to dining and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first time staying @ a timeshare resort. The customer service and registration process was awesome. It was very nice to have a condo instead of just a room. Really liked the privacy and home-like feel. Very spacious, bed was not the best but that is to be expected when away from home. Very nice to be able to do laundry instead of taking lots of dirty clothes home with us. My main complaint was while attending the time share spill, we were told it would take 1 hour, boy were we fooled. We were there for 4 hours and 3 different salesmen trying to convince us to buy into the timeshare after we told them No. Definitely something I want to do my homework about, probably will buy into it at some point when I have all my info together. Very good location, close to all attractions and many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 440kimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#22 of 73 in Williamsburg
982 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Patriots Place
Wyndham Patriots Place
#33 of 73 in Williamsburg
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Property: Wyndham Governor's Green
Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing