We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You never go wrong with Wyndham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You never go wrong with Wyndham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have been very lucky to trade timeshares for Wyndham properties. No disappointment this trip either. The facilities and landscaping were beautiful and our 2-bedroom unit was awesome. It was a very hot week this week and it was great relaxing in the unit with AC. The furnishings were comfortable and somewhat new. The carriage house that hosts all the activities had wonderful staff and directed us with things to do. Everything we needed for comfort was supplied for us.

This Wyndham is in a great location from Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown and the surrounding areas. Great restaurants are a short distance away! This is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAM_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    151
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
221
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
379 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The air conditioned 3 bedroom unit was already set at 71 degrees when we strolled into unit 1423 on 7/13/13 after a 10 hour drive in the Buick van in the 90 degree weather. Every day was in the 90's and humid, so the shower was my best friend many times throughout the week. The pools (open 7:30am-10pm) were fun, and a bit warmer than what may be considered refreshing, but wet was good and how can you cool down a pool? The miniature golf course was in excellent shape, and we've learned to bring our own putters and 5 different colored balls, so we never have to go sign out the equipment way over at the main office, and used the course twice during the week. We used the billiard room, played community BINGO and never won a game. The exercise room was well used, a bit crowded at times, bigger would be better. One tennis court was all they had, but not very busy because it was so hot. Our week included a trip on the Free Ferry to Surry out of Jamestown, shopping the outlets, Busch Gardens (twice), Water Country USA, Yorktown, Williamsburg, and a day trip to Virginia Beach to see (and hear) the fighter jets taking off every few minutes and enjoy the large waves.
As Wyndham Owners, we attended a welcome breakfast and (for once) a low pressure 'update' meeting for less than an hour in exchange for an $80 American Express prepaid credit card on the first morning of our stay.
I would enjoy cooler weather for a future trip to enjoy the Historical Sites more, but for a summer trip with kids, the heat didn't deflate their balloons (mine just would get a bit soft after extended periods out of A/C or water.)
We shopped Walmart (where EVERYONE is on Saturday night-a 40 minute checkout line wait) and cooked in our unit quite a bit. The restaurants we enjoyed were Jungle Jim's over at the Great Wolf Lodge, Annas Italian (in Surry via the free ferry ride with the van), The Log Cabin (at Virginia Beach), UNO's for a take out pizza, Baskin Robbins in Williamsburg late one evening strolling in town, and the Busch Gardens food at their park and Water Country USA. We bought tickets for the whole week to BOTH parks for $80/person before we left home, and just had to pay $15 parking on the days we went.
When we strolled the grounds on the first morning before the heat arrived, we encountered many geese and their droppings along the beautiful walkways on the property. This was the only maintenance issue needing addressing. Some buildings could be washed and faded shutters replaced, but nice layout and in good shape.

Room Tip: People above you make noticeable noise, but you'd need a Presidential Suite to be on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5inavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a great place to go. They have 2 pools (one is adults only). That's really nice. We had a great room looking onto the man made lake with fountains. It's near everything. We would definitely go there again even if just to relax.

Room Tip: We had the building as you pull up to the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield, Maryland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 4 adults and 2 kids (8 and 4) stayed here for a week over July 4th. This is our 7th year in a row staying in Williamsburg over July 4th and our first time staying at Governor's Green. We had a two bedroom deluxe and it was very nice. Very spacious, clean, and overall a good room. Only downfall to our room was that it was about as far away from the pool as you can get. We requested to be closer, but the resort was at max capacity and could not move us. Good location for Williamsburg, just outside of downtown away from most of the congestion. I definitely would return and will call in advance to our arrival for requesting a room close to the pool.

Room Tip: Check in told us to call 2-3 weeks prior to your stay to request a room. Third floor is probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city MO
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

stayed 1 week -7 adults, 1 teen. Had two ,two bedrooms adjoining. Layout is pretty spacious.Had lots of pantry space which I think could have been used for the washer/dryer instead of having it the unit in the master bathroom. Grounds are spotless! spent a lot of time in the indoor pool. Bingo is twice a week . Lots of fun and a chance to meet some of the other guests. Kitchen well stocked . Beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows, which is pretty much a must for me-(makes the vacation) A few minor issues with the room. No hot water early one morning (the maintenance man took the time to explain the reason why). Staff was friendly and nice. The ladies were really good about explaining pool towel returns,computer use etc. Stayed on 2nd floor which meant you could hear footsteps from the 3rd floor unit (good thing they were not night owls!) Probably the only negative is -no trees which means no escape from the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rekabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family of 2 adults, 1 senior and 2 kids stayed here for a week. We had a very nice 3 bedroom condo on the 3rd (top) floor. It was great to have so much space. There was a Master, a king bedroom and the kids shared a room with 2 queens.We had 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen with a breakfast bar. It was a great convenience to have the washer and dryer. We had 4 TVs but only used the one in the living room. Our balcony overlooked the tennis court.

The building we were in was located very close to the community hall. They have a nice outdoor pool with a zero entry, though the water was cold. It warmed up towards the end of the week – but I would still say it was “refreshing”. We took our own beach towels to the pool to avoid having to sign pool towels in and out.

The resort is in a good location. It is close to the Outlets, Kmart, the new Super Walmart and many restuarant. The best place we dined all week was the Sunday Brunch at St Demetrio's just down the road from the condo. I highly recommend it.

Although Kingsgate has a slightly better location, I thought Governor’s Green was nicer.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in a spacious two bedroom, two bath unit with a washer and dryer. The unit was bright and pleasant. The living room overlooked a nice pond with ducks and a fountain. The unit was nicely refurbished. We requested a unit on the third floor about two weeks before we arrived. Our request was granted and our unit was waiting for us when we arrived in the mid afternoon.

We had a maintenance issue with the dryer. The man came to fix it within about 15 minutes of our call in the evening. The problem was fixed later that evening.

You will need a rental car to visit area attractions. We flew into Richmond Airport and rented a car there. The attractions and restaurants are all within about 15 minutes to 1/2 hour or so.

We purchased Bounce passes on-line prior to our trip. The Bounce Passes included admission to Busch Gardens, Water Country and Colonial Williamsburg and parking.

We took a side trip to Washington DC with Oleta Tours (recommended). Please see review for details.

Our family enjoyed the main outdoor pool, but did not care for the indoor pool. My husband said that the the adult pool was very nice.

The kids borrowed some board games and rented a DVD.

This was a nice property. I would return and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: 3rd floor 2 bedroom end unit was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#19 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Property: Wyndham Governor's Green
Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing