We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Governor's Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Governor's Green to your Saves list
Wyndham Governor's Green
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Crisfield, Maryland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 4 adults and 2 kids (8 and 4) stayed here for a week over July 4th. This is our 7th year in a row staying in Williamsburg over July 4th and our first time staying at Governor's Green. We had a two bedroom deluxe and it was very nice. Very spacious, clean, and overall a good room. Only downfall to our room was that it was about as far away from the pool as you can get. We requested to be closer, but the resort was at max capacity and could not move us. Good location for Williamsburg, just outside of downtown away from most of the congestion. I definitely would return and will call in advance to our arrival for requesting a room close to the pool.

Room Tip: Check in told us to call 2-3 weeks prior to your stay to request a room. Third floor is probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    128
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
199
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas city MO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

stayed 1 week -7 adults, 1 teen. Had two ,two bedrooms adjoining. Layout is pretty spacious.Had lots of pantry space which I think could have been used for the washer/dryer instead of having it the unit in the master bathroom. Grounds are spotless! spent a lot of time in the indoor pool. Bingo is twice a week . Lots of fun and a chance to meet some of the other guests. Kitchen well stocked . Beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows, which is pretty much a must for me-(makes the vacation) A few minor issues with the room. No hot water early one morning (the maintenance man took the time to explain the reason why). Staff was friendly and nice. The ladies were really good about explaining pool towel returns,computer use etc. Stayed on 2nd floor which meant you could hear footsteps from the 3rd floor unit (good thing they were not night owls!) Probably the only negative is -no trees which means no escape from the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rekabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family of 2 adults, 1 senior and 2 kids stayed here for a week. We had a very nice 3 bedroom condo on the 3rd (top) floor. It was great to have so much space. There was a Master, a king bedroom and the kids shared a room with 2 queens.We had 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen with a breakfast bar. It was a great convenience to have the washer and dryer. We had 4 TVs but only used the one in the living room. Our balcony overlooked the tennis court.

The building we were in was located very close to the community hall. They have a nice outdoor pool with a zero entry, though the water was cold. It warmed up towards the end of the week – but I would still say it was “refreshing”. We took our own beach towels to the pool to avoid having to sign pool towels in and out.

The resort is in a good location. It is close to the Outlets, Kmart, the new Super Walmart and many restuarant. The best place we dined all week was the Sunday Brunch at St Demetrio's just down the road from the condo. I highly recommend it.

Although Kingsgate has a slightly better location, I thought Governor’s Green was nicer.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in a spacious two bedroom, two bath unit with a washer and dryer. The unit was bright and pleasant. The living room overlooked a nice pond with ducks and a fountain. The unit was nicely refurbished. We requested a unit on the third floor about two weeks before we arrived. Our request was granted and our unit was waiting for us when we arrived in the mid afternoon.

We had a maintenance issue with the dryer. The man came to fix it within about 15 minutes of our call in the evening. The problem was fixed later that evening.

You will need a rental car to visit area attractions. We flew into Richmond Airport and rented a car there. The attractions and restaurants are all within about 15 minutes to 1/2 hour or so.

We purchased Bounce passes on-line prior to our trip. The Bounce Passes included admission to Busch Gardens, Water Country and Colonial Williamsburg and parking.

We took a side trip to Washington DC with Oleta Tours (recommended). Please see review for details.

Our family enjoyed the main outdoor pool, but did not care for the indoor pool. My husband said that the the adult pool was very nice.

The kids borrowed some board games and rented a DVD.

This was a nice property. I would return and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: 3rd floor 2 bedroom end unit was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

So family of 4 with a 4 and 6 yr, so we try to stay in timeshares for room. As with all Wyndham brands clean and well kept units. 3 pools on indoor one out and one just for adults. Free putt putt corse and plenty of other activities. Check in was a breeze. We did the update an they stayed true to the 45mins. If coming to Williamsburg stay here hands down great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I see all the great reviews this place has gotten and I'm feeling a little bad. But here is my perspective. We reserved three apartments--two two-bedroom and one three-bedroom--and the space is adequate and laid out well. The entire family is here. The decor, despite the granite, is dated and depressing. There are two huge pantries in the kitchen, which I wish I could have at my house, but they're just wasted space here. I've been under the weather and have spent two days in the unit. All of today has been taken up by a huge elderly lawn mower-- first in front and now out back. It is spewing gas fumes--did not pass inspection?--and it's making me sicker. Sitting on the balcony is nauseating. The rail hasn't been cleaned in many years. There's a half inch gap right at my sight line and it's filthy. The rest of it is studded with old and new spider webs with inse cts both living and dead (in case you get bored) and of course all sizes of spider busy at work. The worst part of this place is the Internet. The free connection is only two bars of connectivity--took all day to read email. So, not having a great time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddlNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This property is beautiful. Stayed in a 3bd Deluxe unit, granite countertops, nice view, excellent layout, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly at check-in. Thought the security at the front gate was also a plus. Best part was that this resort was convenient to everything! HIghly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.0 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#23 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Patriots Place
Wyndham Patriots Place
#31 of 78 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Property: Wyndham Governor's Green
Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing